Palm, Prayers and a Parcel

(Don’t you love alliteration?)

Actually, the prayer part comes first, as it should.  My dear pal Michelle has a friend – a whole family, actually – in crisis, and she’d like our help.  Please follow the link to read all about little Luke’s inoperable brain stem tumor.  Michelle is also collecting 8×8 squares in boy colors (again, follow the link), but she simply must have the squares by August 12th.  I’m putting everything else to the side to crank out a couple of squares in the next couple of days, and I hope you can too.  I can’t imagine trying to support a friend through something of the sort, and I hope I never have to… 

Heck, let’s just really mix this up.  Next, the parcel.

It’s The Loopy Ewe 2nd Anniversary Kit(ETA – They’re sold out.  I was evidently one of the lucky few.)  I’m becoming very fond of these tall mugs, not that I’m drinking anything hot these days.  The yarn reminds me a lot of my high school colors, but we’ll come back to that.  It’s a great pattern, with cute little transfer stickers (they call them tattoos, but I’m going to use them as rub-ons in a scrapbook at some point) anda lapel-type pin.   (Sissy was distraught that no peppermints came with it, but luckily, we have a big bin on hand…)

“Loopified” by Hand Maiden in Cabash.  If you follow the link above, it will explain why each color was selected.  This yarn is soft as can be.  It matches my old high school letterGIRLS jacket almost perfectly.  I look forward to knitting up these socks, andI can pretend I’m 17 (or younger) again.  Hmmm…  GREAT candidates for my clear jelly Skechers due on my front porch today. 

I’d heard It’s a Stitch had been sold, so I wandered in to check things out yesterday evening.  Not much at all has changed, as far as I could tell, but I did grab some great needles.  The Bryspun/Laurel Hill palm #9s are the needles I’ve been searching for.   This is the third andfinal pair of needles I’ve tried with the Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk.  They have just the right stickiness to grab the stitches, and yet the rest of the stitches still slide on up/down the needles without pushing and pulling.  The Bryspun circs were sticky enough, but the points didn’t quite suit me for this loosely-plied yarn, but more on that when I finally have an FO report.

I love the KA dpns, so I bought the two sizes of straights they had in the shop too, just on principle.  I’m sure they’ll come in handy at some point.

Not shown is the fall Vogue Knitting magazine.  (Link is to the summer edition, for some reason?)  I must be growing up as a knitter, because the last two issues of Vogue have really appealed to me.  (Some of y’all too, because you’ve either been Rav-stalking me or you spent some time last night marking all of your favorites from the magazine too.)

Now, to wait on our IT dude…  In the second paragraph, we lost our cable connection for about ten minutes.  Then came Computer Guy.  I think we finally have a new router, just in time for this afternoon’s thunderstorms.  It appears I have a connection again, so I’m going to hit send while I can!

15 comments on “Palm, Prayers and a Parcel

  1. insanknitty says:

    You’re the best chan, I simply can’t say it often enough!

  2. Anita says:

    I want your mail! You are always getting good stuff! :P

  3. Grace says:

    Please tell this dummy more about how you can get a Loopy Anniversary Kit, those are my school colors too and my childrens!!

    I am going off to knit squares for Michelle

  4. StarSpry says:

    What a fun package! I’m going to try and knit a square or 2 for Michelle.

  5. gaylen says:

    I wish I had read this before going to WW – I would have taken different knitting. I’ll be happy to knit a boy colored square and get it mailed off. Should I mail to you or Michelle?

    Love the needles – would also like to know about getting the anniversary package – it’s purty :) g

  6. Nancy says:

    I am between a few WIPs and Ravelympics. I will cast on for a blue square tonight. I LOVE the Loopy package..how did I miss that?
    I have Laurel Hill palmwoods in #6, got at a LYS going out of business sale last year. Wish I got others, but they only had #6. I really like them.
    Oh yeah..I Rav stalk you…you give me inspiration!

  7. nichole says:

    I’ve got to get in on the Loopy kits!

  8. AlisonH says:

    Ooh, Casbah…Nice stuff!

  9. MrPuffy says:

    Fun stuff to receive in the mail!

    Very sorry to hear of your friend’s situation.

  10. Kathy says:

    I love the yarn! Nice!
    I’m knitting squares……..gotta go….k1, p2, k1, p2

  11. crimsonpurl says:

    Just quickly lifted Luke up in prayer and the family for strength!!

    Love the Loopified color!

    And Yep! This will be 2 Vogue’s in a row for me getting!

    BTW I am sipping tea out one of my fav tall mugs right now! (sorority!)

    Have a good night over there Chan!

  12. alison says:

    I will pray for the family and that they get enough squares knitted up.
    Seems like you’ve been pretty busy as well. Hope the thunderstorms are too bad.

  13. AlisonH says:

    I can’t believe I forgot to say the important part. I came back to read to make sure I hadn’t, and now I’m smacking my head for it–my prayers for Luke and his family.

  14. anniebananie says:

    Now I’m envious. I really like the color of the yarn! And I have signed up to knit a square. I only have a few days, but I think I can get it done!

  15. Amanda says:

    Thanks for showing the new needles! I must get to a LYS to get some new bamboos.

Leave a Reply

