Eighteen Wheels…

… but no dozen roses.  (Apologizes to Kathy Mattea.)

Really.  The Knight now has three vehicles, which makes four at our house, but his work truck has dual wheels, so (4×4) + 2 = 18.

That’s why I took off yesterday.  The Knight asked me to go with him to pick up the new command vehicle.  There it is, in all its glory.  It’s purdy, but trucks don’t do much for me, so I’m sure I’m not ooohing and ahhhing over it enough.

I don’t have any dance photos for you.  There are some taken by a friend, but none that I’ll share.  Instead, I’ll share a couple of the crew decorating.  The Knight is the one with the sunspot across his back.  The man ties balloons off surprisingly well.

Everyone kept saying how pretty it looked.  I really liked the backdrop behind the band.  I believe they were just disposable vinyl tablecloths from the dollar store.  It’s a good thing the other gals in the company are more creative than I am!

The dance went incredibly well.  We had just shy of 200 guests, and I think we actually turned a small profit.  The band is itching to come back, but since the Recruitment & Retention Committee put on this one, the Activities Committee or some other group is going to have to pick up the ball and run with it. 

There are no happy drunk Knight photos because a sense of responsibility kicked in and he didn’t really drink.  However, he had great fun calling early on Sunday morning and checking on some of his drunk friends…

Here ends another little Monday.  How was your weekend?  Was it a long one?

This entry was posted in ERVFC.

17 comments on “Eighteen Wheels…

  1. gaylen says:

    Your weekend doesn’t sound very interesting at all! I just looked and the mailman has picked up the package :)

  2. Barbara says:

    Did you get any reading in at all? Or knitting while going to get the truck? Which, for a truck is pretty good looking, not that I am really into vehicles much. As long as they get me from point A to point B safely and reliably, I am pretty happy (in my book/area safely does include 4/all wheel drive).
    My weekend involved a dog-hike, knitting, and cooking.

  3. Bubblesknits says:

    Hehehe…I wish I could have heard the phone conversation when the Knight called to check on his buddies. lol

    I like the truck. I’m still impressed that y’all get to have pretty green.

  4. Dawn says:

    “there’s just something women like about a pickup man!” (Joe Diffie)

    Hope ya got some knittin done on the ride! hugs

  5. Kathy says:

    Just showed the truck to the DH which prompted a low whistle from him. So it must be a “man” truck thing. LOL
    He even put on his glasses and leaned in to the monitor to take a second look. MEN!
    I went to a yarn store over the weekend. YAY!
    Did you get any knitting time in that fancy new ride?

  6. MrPuffy says:

    That’s a lot of vehicle there! Glad the dance was a success :)

  7. Anita says:

    Tell the Knight I said his new truck is very purdy!! :)

  8. Nancy says:

    I liked the title of this post. :-) Glad the dance was a success, and you had fun!

  9. Ah…indeed..”there were roses” in your life Saturday. We have that song sung by kathy M on a John Whelan album. Happy going-into Hump-day to you!

  10. Sue J. says:

    Glad you had such a good time at the dance. Kudos to the Knight. Yes, our weekend was a long one. DH gets bored to tears with these three day ones. In which case, he drives me nuts. Thank goodness, retirement in no where near.

  11. nichole says:

    Congrats to the Knight on his new wheels!

  12. Natalie says:

    Nice wheels!! and the dance looks like it would be fun!

  13. Miss Me says:

    the decorations for the dance look lovely… i’m glad that it was fun and that no one had to dig into their pockets to make up for any losses. profit is always better.

  14. Amanda says:

    Hi! Weekend was too short. Isn’t it always? And here it is – already Thursday.

    I love the package Anita sent to you – wow, she really spoiled you good!

    Hope you’re having a good week!

  15. [...] truck; he noted last night that the girls sure would be cute hanging out the back windows of the chiefmobile for the parade coming up this weekend.   (I think the temperatures will make this a non-option.  [...]

Leave a Reply

