Maidens’ Maiden Voyage

Happy Dogs on Thursday and little friday!  Sis has given a quick, happy status check on their blog, and before I launch into my post, there are two other doggy bloggies you have to see today.  Firstly, our pal Rudy and his mama kindly honored my request and honestly, you’ve never seen such cuteness.

DSCN2343

The fur girls and Rudy (and his humans) May 2009

Next, you have to check out this post today.   I am so taken with the potential for a similar local fundraiser that I’ve already emailed a friend…  What do you think?  Have you seen anything like it in your area?

IMG00004-20100819-0814.jpg

View from the driver's seat

Now, about the title of this post…  Today, the fur girls go their first ride in my new ride.  We’ve had it for three weeks now, and the light interior gave us the motivation to explore new doggy travel accessories.

IMG00001-20100819-0813.jpg

Sissy kinda' shows you the zip-up, tie to the grab handle side

We’d long considered a hammock-style cover for the back seat.   The Knight found this model on eBay, so I’m afraid I don’t have much information, but I like some of the unique design features. 

(Dear Flickr:  You have mess up my blogging zen.  This paragraph exists SOLELY because you changed your format and I can no longer drop photos where I want them.  I know I’m not just being a techno-novice, because several of my bloggy pals are singing similar songs.  Hope this allows the following photo and paragraph to appear kinda’ as I want them to, but if not, at least my readers will know why… )

IMG00002-20100819-0814.jpg

Better photo of the design

Each end zips on each corner, and that webbing loops over the grab handle or whatever you might call it above the back seat door.  It does make loading take longer, and while Sis just looked things over and leaped in, Gretch can’t make the big jump and can’t make her previous “loading technique” of jumping into the floor board, then into the back seat, work now.  She is NOT amused.

IMG00003-20100819-0814.jpg

Gretchen is trying to show you the pad

At the Knight’s suggestion, I grabbed the large, long crate pad we used in my previous car and dropped it in.  The fabric is slick inside, to repel stains, so he thought they’d appreciate something softer that would prevent sliding.  They seem happy enough, which translates to Sis settled down right away and Gretchen survived the trip and didn’t try to figure out how to escape.

The jury’s still out, but so far, so good.

Thankful Thursday?  I’m thankful we got some much-needed rain.  How ’bout you?

15 comments on “Maidens’ Maiden Voyage

  1. Sue says:

    We’re still waiting for rain. The temps dropped to the low 90s earlier in the week, but have climbed back up again.

    About those dog houses! We’ve been talking about building a dog house for a while. Rob thought he’d like one that had a raised garden on the roof. It would protect the flowers from the four footed gardeners. Then I saw just the one on Carol’s blog. We’re going to try to get the plans to build it in the back corner of the yard so they can have a new hiding place for their games.

  2. gMarie says:

    I don’t know about Gretchen – so doesn’t look any too happy in that last photo – but that could just be because you are taking photos instead of helping her out of the car. Can you zip the sides up after she gets in so she can still be independent? And we call that an “Oh Jesus!” bar. :) g

  3. Marjie says:

    Glad you finally found a car you like and a way to transport the girls! The fact that they can’t just race out of the car when you open the door is a really good thing. We got rain, too, a fair amount Friday and Sunday. My lawn isn’t tan any more!

  4. anniebananie says:

    I think that is a fabulous fundraising idea! And if you do decide to do it, let me know, because I would love to help with the planning and coordination.

  5. Nichole says:

    OMG – love those dog houses and what a great fundraiser!
    Glad you found a cargo solution. The “mat” I have for the Trailblazer is the same thing… its a slippery material, so I find we toss in some throw blankets.

  6. Robin in VA says:

    Awwww, the girls are just too cute! Awesome fundraiser!
    Thankful…yes, but now my yard is a jungle…it needs to stop now so I can mow!!

  7. Dogs at work!! A very good Litte Friday, indeed.

  8. Cat =^,^= says:

    auto? what new auto?

  9. Barbara S. says:

    What Cat said! You never told us about getting a new ride…..

  10. Maiden Voyage…

    [...] think that is a fabulous fundraising idea! And if you do decide to do it, let me know, because I wou [...]…

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    We finally got some rain, too. ‘Bout time.

    Glad the girls are doing okay in their “doggy hammock”. And no, Gretchen did not look amused. LOL

  12. Anita says:

    Even with the pictures I can’t figure it out… I’ll have to see how that thing works when I come visit. I think I like the idea though. :)

  13. Kathy says:

    They finally got to take a new ride :). Squeee!!!
    The dog hammock looks like it’s perfect and well received.
    We didn’t get any rain :( and it’s mighty dry and brown up here.

  14. Dianne says:

    Whoa, new car??? See what I miss when I am away from blogs for weeks… Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

