Christchurch Quake

Only a few of you know I have many cousins in New Zealand.   Even fewer know that several of them live in Christchurch.   While it’s a terrible situation, my family is alive and accounted for, even if I did have to stay up past midnight to get the confirmation.

Gotta’ love technology.  One darlin’ cousin had both internet AND power after the quake, and she was dear enough to head straight to Facebook and begin posting updates as she heard from our relations.  There were broken household items and windows, but all the people were okay and had somewhere safe to hang a hat.   Not all of Christchurch can say that, and there are still likely to be aftershocks, right?

February 2011 006

Sorry... couldn't get a better photo for all of the help!

Luckily, I have a happy parcel to blog from Friday.  Many of you know and love Piddleloop bags, I’m delighted that one of the sisters behind the seams is a good friend.  When I started the basset hound group on Ravelry, it wasn’t long before I needed technical support, and Jen immediately came to my rescue.  Over the years, she’s become a treasured friend, so when she suggested a little swap for something I had and wasn’t using and some Piddleloop loot, I jumped!

February 2011 001

In addition to some sweet new bags, I also scored my first Jennie the Potter item!  Honestly, Jennie is the vendor reason I’d go to Maryland Sheep & Wool.  Big festivals don’t hold much attraction for me, but that’s the only event even remotely in driving distance that she attends.

February 2011 002I’d give two of these mugs as gifts, so I squeed when I unwrapped it.  Thanks SO MUCH, Jen!   I’d gone back to my local Starbucks looking for one for me, but they were sold out.   Don’t you love it when a friend finds something she didn’t even know you had been looking for?

February 2011 005Then there were cute, handstamped cards.  Yes, I stamp.  No, I haven’t in forever and a day, but I’m inspired.  I love the simplicity.  I have a tendency to over-think things, so I might have to do some fresh, clean cards for spring!

There was also mint tea (yum!), peanut M&Ms (a weakness of mine… I’m grateful for the Knight’s help in making them disappear a little faster), and this most awesome pencil.  It’s made from recycled newspapers and is incredibly fragrant.  I’ve had to store it far away from Sissy’s reach.

February 2011 004

Thanks so very, very much, Jen!  I love it all.  There was much, much more too, but my camera battery went dead, and this post is long enough.

24 comments on “Christchurch Quake

  1. Glad you’ve heard from your family in NZ, and that they, at least, are ok. Nice little bit of goodies there, though I am frustrated for not know the scent of your new pencil…you’re such a tease!

  2. Thanks for the link to the Potter, she has some beautiful things including her bluebird sauce bowl, I love bluebirds!!

    I adore my Starbucks mug and always hoped I could find another, now you give me hope that maybe someday I will!!!

  3. Sue says:

    What a nice package. It’s a big lift to a dull day when something special arrives in the mail.

    Glad the NZ branch of the family is OK. Mother Nature is on a rampage this winter.

  4. Nichole says:

    What a GREAT swap package!!! That pottery is beautiful… and I just drank some delish hot cocoa from that Starbucks mug last night!

    We have a friend who lives in Christchurch, and according to a mutual friend who spoke with him last night, he & his family are all OK. My cousin has been traveling over there for the past month or two and has reported in <>

  5. Nichole says:

    I guess the reported in part didn’t post… hmmm. I’ll try again with what he said –

    It’s bizarre. I have 20 pics or so of buildings, statues, etc and none of those places are standing, including the first hotel we stayed at, right downtown. There are 350k people …there, so about half the size of Boston (tho it feels much smaller than that.) Most roads n buildings hadn’t been repaired from last year’s quake. But downtown was still very busy. Loads of tourists and students. Word is the death toll is gonna skyrocket. Nichole, keep in touch with your friend. It’s 4am in Aus, 2am in NZ and I’m still hearing about aftershocks…

  6. Kristyn says:

    Glad to hear your family is ok. What did we do before things like Twitter & Facebook?

  7. Marjie says:

    What a wonderful swap package! I hope you can keep your pencil away from Sissy. (That’s one thing I miss about computers – using pencils and pens. Am I weird?)

    Glad to hear your family is OK.

  8. Amy says:

    I didn’t know that you had family in NZ. I’m glad to hear that everyone is okay!

  9. AlisonH says:

    Oh, those are cool!

    I’m so glad to hear your family’s okay!

  10. Barbara S. says:

    I’m glad you heard from your family. The Anglican Cathedral there is where our friend and current Rector was the dean for several years; connections once again show us how small the world has become.
    My Jennie The Potter mug I got from a dear friend is one of my all time favorites! (Fortunately I get to see her stuff at an annual craft fair in The Big Cities.)

  11. Kristin says:

    Thank goodness your family is ok!!

  12. gMarie says:

    First – so very, very glad that your relations are okay. How scary.

    Second – I have one of the knitted mugs that VDK sent me and I lurves it!

    Third – it’s snowing here!! The Princess has sent Winter to Washington. g

  13. StarSpry says:

    I’m glad your family in New Zealand is alright!!

    What a fun package you received! Isn’t Jen great!? She always sends such wonderful things :)

  14. Mary. says:

    Good news that your relations in NZ are okay. Earthquakes are frightening events…have only experienced relatively minor rumbles when in CA. but feeling my bed move around the room isn’t something I want to try again. Must keep NZ in thoughts and prayers.

  15. jen says:

    i SO did not know you needed that mug chan! YAY!
    i am glad it found it’s way to the right owner as i hope you liked the two books..for some reason amazon thought i needed two of everything one order! So because they said keep ‘em i hope they too found good homes. :D
    i am glad to hear your family is all ok. That would give me such a scare. (((hugs)))

  16. Walden121 says:

    Love the sheep bowl!

  17. kathy b says:

    Wonderful news on the relative front…Thank GOD.

    Must go over
    to piddlepoop,,….I have never!!! What a haul….happy for YOU!

  18. Blond Duck says:

    I’m glad your family is ok!

  19. Louise says:

    Thank goodness everyone is okay, Chan. Nice little swap you have going on there. I love the notion that the pencil is “smelly.”

    Do me a favor will ya? Wish the girls a Happy National Dog Biscuit Day for me!

  20. Barbara says:

    Glad to hear your family in NZ is safe. It was a terrible disaster. They were fortunate!

    Super package…lovely prizes. (Gourmet scented pencils??)

  21. Dianne says:

    So glad your family is safe. Praying for those who have lost loved ones…

  22. Bubblesknits says:

    Wow! I didn’t know you had family there. So very happy that they’re safe. What I’ve seen on the news is just awful.

    Love the swap goodies!

  23. Kathy says:

    Good to hear your family members are ok.

    The swap goodies are eye candy for sure. Enjoy!

  24. Anita says:

    I would LOVE to visit New Zealand some day… I’m glad everyone in your family is ok.

    Cute goodies!

Leave a Reply

