Camp much?

Somehow, I missed the bus to Camp Loopy.  

It’s all good though, because any of you who know me in real life know that I don’t camp.

It’s funny… as a Girl Scout and into my late teens, I loved to tent camp and even backpacked and slept under the stars – seriously.  However, with the back problems and my post-career firefighter personality, I joke that my idea of camping is a hotel that doesn’t have room service.  (I don’t laugh when I say though, in case you’re wondering.)

At least Sheri has a hotel for those of us… like me.  I’m still not prissy; I mean, I walk a few miles down a country road with ticks, snakes… all kinds of flora and fauna, every single day of my life now that Sissy demands it.  (She only has one eye, remember?  Because believe me, the Knight will remind me if I point out it’s raining, I have a headache, it’s almost dark, etc.)

Are you doing Camp Loopy?  The very first project is a little off-putting for me, because again, those of you who know me best know I don’t like anything that falls into the categories of stranded knitting, colorwork, etc.  If you are, what pattern are you doing?  Is it simple enough I could do it and enjoy it?  What yarn are you using?

And for those of you who missed the first bus to camp and thus, missed Camp Store Week, Sheri is allowing for loopy-holes so we can still participate.

14 comments on “Camp much?

  1. There are so many two color shawls you can do that do not require stranding or color work, I am going to restart my prism shawl for this event, but any stockinette body with lace edging would work like Holden, Or Ishbel, or even Annis to name a few off the top of my head. Multanoma, 198 yds of heaven, or any of my designs would work for this. I love the look of a green and black togerher, brown and pink, or turquoise varigated with a solid yellow border. Don’t be put off, you will love your finished product. I am in the hotel at Camp Loopy–good things these old bones need a Serta or better!!!

  2. Nichole says:

    I thought about it… but then realized having MUST DO knitting would NOT help to get my mojo back flowing once again…….. I can’t deal with the deadlines. :)

  3. AlisonHyde says:

    It’s a master stroke of sharing the knitting enthusiasm and great fun. Let me just finish my forty-leven things in the queue first…

  4. I saw lots of lovely non-stranded choices. Why not go to camp and stay at the Hotel? I’ll be passing this time, as I already has two (yes two!) KAL’s running and don’t want to kill myself with anything else.

  5. Barbara S. says:

    Yes, I am. I even ordered yarn for it, though I already had yarn almost exactly like it already. I am going to make a scarf for my friend, seeing as I have knit a shawl for his wife and a hat plus a baptismal shawl for his son. I figure it is his turn (just hoping he will get a chance to use it, if you remember the family). I think Baby L has outgrown his newborn hat, so I can always make him a new one with the yarn I already have.
    My pattern is kind of a “read a couple of patterns, mess around a bit, and come up with what you are going to do” kind of thing, but it is #8 in the queue, if that is any help. Purdue Saints will be its name.

  6. Sue says:

    I don’t work well in groups I guess. Maybe I just automatically rebel against any authority. Anyway, I don’t usually join in these KALs and group knits. I have to go off on my own. Also, if I’m going to make a shawl, I want a big roomy shawl that I can wrap up in. No little shoulder duster for me.

    Sorry!
    Sue

  7. Marjie says:

    I do believe you adopted my line: “My idea of camping is a hotel without room service.” My parents were big on tent camping. On the good trips, I got bronchitis. On the bad trips, I got pneumonia. Clearly I was valued.

  8. Kathy says:

    I’m going to camp! I got excited by the idea. I have had the Whippoorwill shawl pattern for a long time now. This is the perfect time to cast on! Well, I can’t till tomorrow per the guidelines, so I will do it during lunch then. Here’s a link to my personal yarn:
    http://www.ravelry.com/discuss/loopy-groupies/1689768/1726-1750#1727

    It will be a challenge to finish before the next section of camp, but I’m going to try.

  9. gMarie says:

    Please tell me more I do not know of what you speak. :) g

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    What would I do without you to keep me informed of current events? LOL Loopy Camp sounds super fun and if I’d seen it earlier I would have joined in. Instead, last weekend I weakened and joined a sock club (Hedgehog Fibers) and I have 6 skeins of sock yarn coming. That’s a lot of knitting over 3 months ;)

  11. StarSpry says:

    I hadn’t heard of this before; sounds interesting!

  12. Blond Duck says:

    I loved day camp, hated over night camp.

  13. Kathy says:

    I’m with you on camping. I used to love to camp but as you know medical issues have interfered :/. Do like a hotel though ;).

    Shawls: I like fair isle so not much help from me. But I’m with the above poster who wants a shawl to wrap around. Think that’s what will be on my needles next. Just as soon as I finish a project or two.

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    Ever since we got our Tempur-Pedic mattress, my idea of camping now includes any hotel that has spring mattresses. lol How sad is that? When we went down to the beach, the mattresses that we used to think were incredibly comfortable now feel awful. Can I room with you at Hotel Loopy? You can start the coffee or tea when you wake up and I’ll finish off whatever’s left when I finally roll out of bed. ;) I’m planning on joining second project, too. I’m not big on multi-colors right now.

Leave a Reply

