Pitty Party PSA

More nearly cross-posting.  The fur-girls have already put their post up today honoring Corbin‘s birthday and pit bulls everywhere.   It’s my pleasure to do my part.  See…  until I started blogging, I had no idea pit bulls had a bad reputation.  I knew a couple, and their owners had made some weird comments I didn’t quite catch, but …  they are gentle, affectionate, well-behaved dogs, so I was shocked when the negative hype came to my attention. 

The first pittie I knew well is named Baby, and she’s just that.  I wish I had photos.  She’s just a big ol’ bucket of love.  Sure, even as a pup she was muscular and strong, but she only used her brute strength to force her way into a lap for snuggles, pets and love! 

The girls also shared stories about the three pit-related dogs on our road that we know to be gentle, nice dogs, so while you’re here, I’ll also mention that my dogs fail to live up to their breeds’ reputations too.

March 2011 004

Not your typical basset…

Ironically, good ol’ Wikipedia has a really accurate description of the basset hound, but a lot of people are under the impression that they’re lazy, unintelligent and/or stubborn.  The stubborn part can be accurate, but these dogs were bred to hunt and are built for endurance.  Sissy certainly convinced me they are NOT unintelligent, nor are they all food-motivated.  Sissy will perform in a class just for the sake of an adoring audience, and when I do continue her education, we’ll seek out a not-treat-oriented program.

December 2011 018

My demure wee one

Likewise, Gretchen Greer is often QUITE removed from the general impression that Jack Russell Terriers are wild and border on being out of control active.   I have warned off more than one person who sees her sweet, calm disposition and thinks perhaps they had JRTs all wrong.  Hem.  I don’t recommend either of these breeds for first-time dog owners because they are quite skilled at bending an inexperienced owner to their wills!

I could go on for days about my dogs.  I happen to think they’re very close to perfect, but they don’t like up perfectly with the popular notions about their breeds.  Do your dogs – or the dogs you’ve loved – march in lock step with their breeds reputations?

12 comments on “Pitty Party PSA

  1. km says:

    Hmm. I guess I should get a post up today.

  2. Nancy says:

    I haven’t been around dogs very much. I can only remember three or four dogs from my childhood: some were mutts; the others, collies and a sheep dog.

  3. AlisonH says:

    We had a woman around here who was walking her small dog and someone else was walking his two pit bulls–who suddenly attacked the little dog and then the woman trying to defend it. She ended up in the hospital. The man was all, my dogs never do that! Well, yes they did. I’m afraid I’m one of those who is not a fan of that breed, and much though I love dogs, I won’t go near one.

  4. Katherine says:

    After I married and left home my mom and dad bought a Pit Bull. Kim was a very atypical Pit in that she would lick you to death but wouldn’t attack a flea. It has been a rude awakening for me to realize that Pit Bulls have such a bad reputation!! I wonder if it doesn’t have a lot to do with how they are raised and trained!

    Macy…oh man is she a typical JRT!! She is sweet to a fault but resists training and can be a wild child at a moments notice. She has never stopped the turbo-powered running and jumping–even after 10 years, and if it moves she will bark at it. Nothing calm or controlled about her but I love her in an unbelievable way. She is the ultimate fur-baby!!

  5. Nichole says:

    With a pitty mix of my own, we’re all about pitty pride!

  6. Kathy says:

    Yup, my dog is a Lab exactly as advertised. She loves water and retrieving and people, in that order. She is currently getting good at “high five” which may be “shake” to other people.

    We have met a lot of nice pit bulls at the dog park.

  7. Sue says:

    Each of my Porties has a very distinct personality, but I’d say they’re all pretty true to the breed. Sky and Bailey don’t care much for water, but the others are like curly haired fish. All are vocal and active and silly.

    I don’t think there’s such a thing as a dangerous breed. Individuals can be made dangerous by improper handling, but most vets will tell you that they’ve been bitten more by toy breeds than the big guys.

  8. Barbara says:

    You know I love dogs, Chan, have had about 5 different breeds (including Bassett, beagle, st. Bernard, yorkie, several Heinz 57’s, labs and no doubt some I’ve forgotten ) but I woudn’t go anywhere near a pit bull. Ever. I know two people (one a child)who have been attacked by them, both owners swearing they were wonderful family dogs.
    Now…I can also tell you some tales about a truly nasty cat…….and you know who I mean. There should be a warning sign on the door: beware, attack cat.

  9. kathy b says:

    Channon, Very interesting post. The pits at the shelter are often the sweetest dogs there , don’t mind being restrained for shots etc…..They do get a bad rap.
    HUck was a golden GOLDEN, you know that!
    I think it is helpful to tell folks that some breeds are not best for first time dog havers…..keep up the good work> Your fur girls can run me over anytime……

  10. Amy says:

    I always hate it when I hear people bad mouth pit bulls. I don’t have one, but I hate how the media makes them sound so awful.

  11. gMarie says:

    I think most breeds have their day in the spotlight as being ‘bad.’ Currently it’s the pitties that are out of favor, but remember when it was dobermans? Or Rottweilers? Or even German Shephards? I would own a pittie in a heartbeat, but I would get it as a puppy, just because you never know what horrible things a human may have done to them before you. g

  12. Mary says:

    As the Mom to Abby the Doberman and Jake, a Staffie Bull Terrier (pit bull family), and living in MD, a state that has now declared pitbulls persona non grata, I have an opinion (ha! I can hear you laughing already, Chan).

    Dogs have been part of my life since early childhood. We’ve had a poodle, 3 yellow and 1 red Labrador, a German Shepherd, several Heinz 57, a Boxer, 3 Dobermans (1 Black and Tan, 2 Reds), a Daschund and the Staffie. Like humans, each had their own personality and behaviorial traits. The three labs were very different from each other (though one was the mother and the other two her sons), but in general, they were pretty mellow. Of course, they lived in a house with four children, a Doberman and a Daschund all at the same time…so maybe by comparison, they were mellow. The Dobermans were also different…the first B/T was a regal girl who was in total control of herself…a classic beauty inside and out; the first Red was a rescue with behaviorial issues that despite much help we weren’t able to save; our current Red is a nervous nelly (true to many Red Ds) but she is loving and loved by neighborhood children who respect her boundaries. The German Shepherd was a sweet small girl, never dangerous. The Daschund, a holy terror with much the temperament of a JT…he knew what he wanted and when he wanted it, but he was a fun, smart, silly dog who brough a lot of joy to our lives.

    Finally our Staffie, Jake (pit mix)…a rescue found by one of our sons chained to a pole outside a gas station, starving for attention and food. The question of who rescued who that day has been answered in the past 7 years; he saved our son who suffers from bipolar disorder. Without our Jake, I don’t think my son would be alive today. Ultimately, I drove 600 miles to bring them both home. Our son has moved on but Jake remains with us. A beautiful soul in the body of a strong dog. He didn’t bark for six months after we brought him home, but he has made sure we know he is grateful he was saved. He has loved us very well in the ensuing years. His Tigger jump greets children on his walk and they all love him and can’t wait to pet him. The only time he responded in an attack was when my husband was walking him and Abby on leash and another dog (unleashed) raced at them, snarling and barking to attack them. Jake defended my husband quickly and purposefully. How would that different from a human being protecting one of their own?

    As owners, we know and respect the strengths and weaknesses of our animals and we make sure that they and others are kept safe by taking necessary precautions. Our dogs are never off leash. They are not allowed to bark continually in house or out of it. We expect others to do the same. Sadly, they don’t.

    To say that the dogs as a group (i.e. pit bulls) are inherently bad/dangerous and therefore all should be banned, is to say that all the Irish are untrustworthy and should be jailed (I’m Irish). Common sense, people. Apply some common sense. (Sorry for the long response…).

Leave a Reply

