Daddy Taught Me…

Happy Father’s Day to all the fathers out there!  Vera Bradley had a great post earlier this week, and it inspired me and the fur-girls.

DSCN1614

My father taught me to give of my time and talents, even to the point of sacrifice.  Like the Knight and my father inlaw, my father was a volunteer fire chief.  Both of my parents were Scout leaders too.

He taught me that dogs are part of the family.

He taught me to not just respect my elders, but to hold them in high esteem.

He taught me that skin color didn’t matter any more than the color of a person’s hair.

He taught me to believe in myself and helped instill in me a sense of self-worth.  Sadly, I am still learning that not everyone had such a strong cheerleader growing up, and many women and girls don’t value themselves or each other as much as they should.

Some of the things he taught me, I learned third-hand.  For instance, my father inlaw shared one of my father’s leadership “tricks” he aspired to follow…  Daddy used to pull a firefighter aside and say, “Let’s go for a ride.”  That’s when the confrontation or teaching moment happened, not in front of the group.   No need to speak softly or carry a stick at all when you treat those you’re leading with compassion and dignity.

While I could write for days, no tribute to what my father taught me would be complete without the line both he and Nana frequently tossed out instead of “Bye”…

Remember who you are and what you represent.

 

This entry was posted in Family.

15 comments on “Daddy Taught Me…

  1. gmariesews says:

    Darlin’ – I know this weekend is hard for you, so thank you for sharing a very moving post. It gave me goosebumps. Know that you were very lucky to have such a special father who taught you those wonderful life lessons that everyone should know and believe. I know as you lead the JLC this coming you that you will share those lessons with the women who need them.

    Also – have you considered working with older girl scouts (pre-teens) when you are done with JLC? I know – it’s not your favorite, but you have lots to give. g

  2. Nancy says:

    This post is a wonderful tribute!

  3. Amy says:

    What a wonderful post! It sounds like you had a wonderful father, someone who truly guided you to the person that you are today. It is so important for a daughter to have a good father. I’m thankful every day for my own dad, and I know that John is going to be a wonderful father to Zoe.

  4. [...] for more Father’s Day love, Chan has a great post up at her blog. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this. [...]

  5. Katherine says:

    You are truly blessed to have had such a loving Father who wanted you to appreciate yourself and your abilities as much as he did!! I had a chill down my back when you wrote his parting advice because every time I left for a date or went out with girlfriends my Dad would say, “Remember where you came from.” We will be celebrating a bunch of really great men tomorrow. I especially have to thank DH for his contribution to the instruction of our children. I get frequent compliments about how courteous, hard working, and caring our children are and we owe that to him!

  6. AlisonH says:

    My parents would say the same thing–and if they didn’t, my older siblings would.

    You had a great dad. If all of us could be so lucky–but I’m grateful for how much you grew up in his image. Ya done him proud, hon.

  7. Marjie says:

    Your father’s sentiment is well worth remembering. I know you adored him, and rightfully so. I know he’s smiling down upon you every day.

  8. Karen says:

    What a great post! I love the pic of you and your father, Chan – you are so beautiful!

  9. StarSpry says:

    This is a beautiful post! Your father sounds like he was a wonderful man!

  10. Mary says:

    I know Father’s Day is a tough day for you. Me, too. Saturday marked the 28th anniversary of my Dad’s death. It was a Saturday then, too, the day before Father’s Day. But it is good to remember their legacy of love, care, commitment and honor. Great post, Chan. Pax.

  11. Barbara says:

    Beautifully done, Chan!

  12. Nichole says:

    I’m not sure if cyberspace ate my first comment…. Beautiful post!

  13. Awe!! Great post! How lovely!

  14. kathy b says:

    How honorable..> LOve your love for you father…it shines through!

  15. Beautiful post, Chan. ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

