Thorsday Confessions

June 2012 008

My tender heart

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday.  Gretchen has a little post up with some doggy bloggy news for you.   That’s actually a great place to start the heart of my post.  See, Gg is a very sensitive, responsive dog.  You can’t slam down a book, TV remote, etc. with any emotion at all, or she gets upset.  You can’t yell at the TV during a sporting event.  You can’t tell an animated story until she’s safely in my arms, or outside where the ebb and flow of human emotions can’t bother her. 

Her only flaws are that she’s too timid sometimes, and on the flip side of her schizophrenic terrier-tude, she’s a fearless snake hunter.  Yikes.  I’m still trying to get her a new hobby!

Then, we have Sissy-missy, Princess of Joy.  She’s never known trediptation, or even caution.  In short, Sissy is the fur-kid version of the wild child I feared I would have.   What brought on this post was our walk yesterday.  We have another heatwave in the making.  Yesterday offered low humidity, but I don’t walk the dogs when it is over 85 degrees, regardless of the humidity.  So, around 6:45 pm, we headed out.

April 2012 008

The DIVA, deer watching at home

Problem was, the deer don’t have a mama reading the thermometer.  They followed their regular schedule.  And DIVA the Huntress loves her some deer.   Both girls go on high alert and get VERY vocal and otherwise excited when they see deer, even though we live in the woods and they see them up-close and personal EVERY flippin’ day. 

Now… if you don’t know hounds and their vocal range, you might not fully appreciate the rest of this story.  Anyway.  As I reached the turn-around point for our walk, at the bottom of a trail beside the horse field, the nice neighbor who lets us use the paths and keeps them maintained raced up in his SUV. 

Hem.  Seems his sweet wife heard Sissy hollarin’ at the deer and was sure one of us was hurt.  Hem.  Can you say beyond embarrassed in every language you know? 

So thankful… Yes, I’m quite thankful that we have wonderful, kind neighbors who care.   I’m also grateful our woods are not burning, but I’m without words to express my gratitude that there are selfless, brave men and women who are fighting the wildfires in the west.   As a life member of a fire company and a former paid firefighter, I’m here to tell you that it takes a REALLY special person to brave the elements and stare down the wrath of Mother Nature in the form of a wildfire.

Wild Fire Tees has several designs available for pre-order.   Proceeds go to the wildfire victims.

What are you thankful for today?

12 comments on “Thorsday Confessions

  1. Nichole says:

    LOL… with Sophie’s loud howl at EVERYTHING that moves in our yard and Lola’s just annoying bark to announce to the whole neighborhood she’s doing her business, I can fully relate… :)

  2. Katherine says:

    Dear Sissy and Gg were just keeping you safe from those vicious deer! Macy is not happy about raised voices or loud noises either. She gets up and leaves–goes to another room or under a bed. JRTs are good about letting you know what they like and don’t like! Macy’s least favorite thing is dogs on TV. She can’t see any reason why there should be a dog or cat on her TV while she is watching her favorite shows. BTW she loves the Disney show Good Luck Charlie! LOL.

  3. gmariesews says:

    I am thankful that I’m not the only one that my hound dogs embarrass.
    I’m thankful for being able to pull off a birthday surprise – ahead of the birthday for once!
    I’m thankful for a husband who left us alone for call talk last night, then played host with the most and brought out a huge selection of snacks.
    I’m thankful for a hounddog that curls up in my chair when I’m not in it – even though he knows he shouldn’t.
    I’m thankful for the brave men and women who fight fires, do search and rescue (‘we’ lost a S&R this week saving someone lost on Mt. Ranier), and for our military.
    I’m thankful that I drive a convertible on beautiful sunny days. :) g

  4. AlisonH says:

    You have wonderful neighbors! Wow!

  5. Sue says:

    In the GRetchen category we have Noah and Tess. Then there is the fearless category which includes Samba, and Bailey. Finally Sky and Tess who announce to the world at large that they are coming thru the door to the great outdoors. It’s wonderful how different the personalities are.

  6. Kathy says:

    Guess my kitty is a bit like Gretchen. We were watching a recent basketball playoff and she was in my lap. Boyfriend made a sudden move and yelled when the Heat did something good. Kitty jumped off me so fast! I was wearing shorts and in the process she put two big gashes into my thigh. I then yelled at boyfriend. He told me to look at Lucy who was oblivious to the whole incident. Not much bothers that girl dog.

  7. Marjie says:

    Since I wasn’t the one embarrassed beyond all word and reason, this is a really funny story. It’s nice that your neighbor was concerned enough to come to your rescue. happy Thorsday!

  8. Nancy says:

    Good neighbors are priceless, and from your description, you have great neighbors.

  9. Blond Duck says:

    I’m thankful for my new direction in life.

  10. Amy says:

    It is amazing, the vocal range that animals have. Cooley, more than Mavey, for us. I know when he’s hungry, when he’s sleepy, and when he wants to play.

    And as many have said – good neighbors are a blessing and getting harder to find!

    Today I’m thankful that I don’t have gestational diabetes. I was a little worried, but the test came out fine and I can continue on my merry way. Only twelve weeks to go until Zoe is due! I can’t believe it.

    And I can’t wait to see you tomorrow afternoon! Maybe I should try to get some sleep, eh? :-)

  11. Louise says:

    I can’t help giggling at this story either, Channon but I do feel your pain, lol…I’m such a bad neighbor but I’d like to think I would check out those beckoning sounds too.

    I too am grateful our woods are not burning. I was talking to a few of our firefighters at a benefit the other night and their insight into those fires was frightful.

    Thank you so much for sharing…

  12. LOL That reminds me of the time that Micro started shrieking like a banshee when a couple of labs bounded up to him, scaring the crap out of him and me, both. Thad heard him from across the lake (inside the house, no less) and ran out to see what was going on. /blushes/ I can only imagine what the rest of the neighbors thought.

Leave a Reply

