I’m still standing…

photo.JPGOur area was hit quite hard by storms this weekend, but we’re safe and sound.  This tree isn’t even on our property.   However, our state is experiencing its third-largest power outage ever, so many of our friends and relations are suffering through a heatwave with no power and no relief in sight. 

I’m a little busy relocating a League meeting – because our venue is operating on a generator and our room isn’t on the right circuit – but I wanted to check in and assure you we’re fine, although the Knight is a little short on sleep and our dog walks are very short and on a morning schedule to grab what few almost pleasant temperature minutes we have in a day…

How goes it where you are?

 

18 comments on “I’m still standing…

  1. Kari says:

    so glad that yall are ok, that is crazy what is going on. Its just HOT as hell here in Texas sigh… I seem to lack the motivation to ecercise , all i want to do is eat :)

  2. Katherine says:

    So glad you are hanging in there. Hope the Knight is able to get some sleep soon!! Nothing much happening here in Texas except, as Kari says, it’s hotter than….

    Good luck on your venue search and stay cool!!

  3. gmariesews says:

    Well I’m not in Texas and it isn’t hot here. But I’m tired and totally lack the motivation to exercise. At least I haven’t been eating everything in sight. :) Glad you are okay and the weekend went well. g

  4. Natalie Rush says:

    We just got over Tropical Storm Debby so I know what you mean…stay safe and hopefully there is relief for all soon!

  5. Nancy says:

    Glad to hear that you have power and are safe. It’s HOT here, but low humidity, so it’s less miserable.

    Hope you can find a new venue for your meeting.

  6. Amy says:

    While we were in Lexington on Sunday night for a wedding, we could see a lot of the damage, as well as hearing stories from local folks. The hotels are booked all the way up to the DC area, and so many people are still, today, without power. We’re lucky; where we live, we had mostly rain. But the surrounding counties were without power for a day or so. I’m glad to hear that you’re okay!

  7. Marjie says:

    It has not been insanely hot here – mid 80s – but it’s been around 100 in Philly, where the girls are. I think Jeff lost power in Pittsburgh. But we’re all safe and sound, and I’m glad to hear that you are, too. And I hope your Knight gets to catch up on his sleep soon, because a tired hubby is a cranky hubby.

  8. AlisonH says:

    Yow. Glad you’re okay!

  9. Kathy says:

    Glad you’re ok! It’s too hot here to do much more than watch movies so that’s what I’ve been doing. Since Thursday I’ve seen three from Red Box and one at the theater.

  10. kathy b says:

    All’s fine here. Hot and dry. IM so sorry you were hit by the storms. Im glad Allison hasn’t moved just yet….
    Stay cool. Keep the doggies happy!

  11. Mary says:

    Did without power till late last night…90+ degrees in the house. AC didn’t recover until later today. Have a small generator so fridge/ freezer was kept cold, if nothing else. No damage to property, just tree limbs and debris. My office in DC is still w/o power; now predicting it won’t be on till late Friday night. It would be a nice free vacation, but I have to submit a huge proposal to the feds in less than two weeks, so I am working from home and worrying. Just grateful we got our power back when so many others are without. But then I live in the country with septic and a well; no power, no water. I will leave the rest to your imagination.

  12. Sue says:

    I was going to email you to see if you had power, but it seemed silly. If you didn’t have power, you wouldn’t get the message. Glad to see you aren’t baking.
    Sue

  13. Kristyn says:

    Glad to hear you are all ok. It is pretty hot here – 98 degrees today. Little man is getting a bit of cabin fever since they are not getting outside much at pre-school.

  14. Walden121 says:

    I’m glad you guys are okay!

  15. Ruth says:

    We’re good out here…glad you’re still standing out there! Temps have been quite tolerable, in the low to mid 90′s , with cool nights. Gotta love that evening Delta Breeze.

  16. We’re good out here. Finally got some much needed rain. Other than that, just trying to stay cool. I’m ready for Fall!

  17. Barbara says:

    The storms are terrifying…glad you missed the worst of them. Hope you had a fabulous birthday and that the weather will be fine tomorrow for everyone.
    (BTW: blueberry Jello made me gag! Stick with blueberries for the blue part of things.)

  18. Louise says:

    Glad to hear alls well in your neck of the woods, Channon. Birthday??? Did I miss it??? Oh bad me! When?

Leave a Reply

