Buff and Flash

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday!   The girls survived all of the 4th celebrations, which is reason enough to give thanks.   I’m really blending everything all into one today, because I’m thankful that I found some awesome dog walking accessories that work fabulously for us.

Courtesy of Sierra Trading Post

After our great discussions about what you use to stay hydrated – and to keep your dogs hydrated – while you are out on the move, we stumbled upon the CamelBak FlashFlo Lumbar Pack.   It holds 50 ounces, so while we’re doing cool morning walks, that’s enough for all of us.  I just clip on a collapsible bowl and away we go. 

Interestingly enough, the lumbar version is far more comfortable for me and my bad back.  There’s more than enough room for my iPhone, lip balm and whatever else I might want to tote.

The other big find was also from Sierra Trading Post, but they are evidently sold out now, but Amazon has several Buff Insect Shield patterns to choose from. 

I just wad mine up and use them as a wide headband, but there are gobs of ways to wear them.  I know Insect Shield works, because the girls and I have worn the bandanas we were given two years ago with great success.  In a disgusting confession, I cannot say how well they really hold up to laundering, because I’ve never washed ours, and after two summers of use, they’ve finally peetered out.   (The originals were in bandana form; I cut one into half, then one half into half.  Sissy got the full half  and Gretchen and I each took a quarter.  I tied mine around my ponytail.)

I’m thankful for such technology.  Anything that keeps bugs and sweat out of my face makes me happy, and finding a hydration pack that works for me, and was on sale makes me REALLY happy!

What are you thankful for today?

14 comments on “Buff and Flash

  1. Natalie Rush says:

    That is interesting about the buff insect shield. I’ll have to check it out as bugs are terrible right now and I don’t like the sprays.

    Glad they survived the 4th!

  2. gmariesews says:

    ::sunshine::clear streams on walks for the dogs to drink from::low key holidays::the smoker::having a super long weekend::friend – velveteen and local::

    g

  3. Katherine says:

    Yes, I am also interested in the buff insect shield. I have my gardening routine down to a science with my rolling garden tool carrier, the long handle garden tools, and my Wellington boots. Add to that my organic mister and bugs are taken care of, at least in the garden. Since they are encouraged not to chew on the plant leaves, they have decided to chew on me instead! I must look for buff insect shield! Thanks for the tip.

  4. Nichole says:

    I might have to check out the buffs!

  5. kathy b says:

    Can you post a picture of the lumbar pack being worn? I don’t’ get it. I love Sierra T. P.
    I bought a new bag from LL bean. MY treat for Al’s leaving.. my cheer up treat…
    I’m thankful that she’s healthy and happy and in love. Im thankful that Fireman is driving her there. Im thankful for new shoes/Eastland’s. THey are billed as being as comfy as your sneakers….

  6. AlisonH says:

    Good neighbors and good family and faith in the Good.

  7. Nancy says:

    I’ve never heard of the buff with insect shield. I MUST check it out.

  8. Mary says:

    Air conditioning.

  9. I might have to look into the insect shields. I get eaten alive every time I go outside. T says it’s how much sugar I eat. (Notice, he didn’t say it’s how sweet I am. LOL)

  10. Kari says:

    LOL I use to have to carry a first aid kit when Fred was alive…I swear if a poisionous something was going to bite someone it would be Fred, that was just his luck lol. I have alot more room in my pack now.
    I like to clip my pepper spray onto the belt for easy access.

  11. Marjie says:

    I got bug bitten like nobody’s business last night while lighting fireworks. I feel like I need socks on my hands to stop me from itching! But it’s always a good thing to find an easy way to keep insects away without slathering yourself with spray and being sticky!

  12. Blond Duck says:

    I’ve been all about braids lately!

  13. Thankful for cool eveings and my whole house fan!

  14. Sue says:

    We’re all grateful for air conditioning. I think whoever invented it should have a holiday in his name. We’re going to try those buffs too. The bugs this year are ferocious.

Leave a Reply

