Birds, Bugs and Books

Actually, it’s all about books and those awesome freebies from Kindle.  I’ve finished two good ones this week!

I started Wild Goose Chase based solely on the colorful cover art, and totally forgot that it was a quilting cozy mystery.   And honestly… I’m not sure it’s a true cozy.  There was a lot more sex in this one than in most cozies, but I liked it anyway!

(No friends, I’m not taking up quilting.   I don’t even have time to do much knitting these days.)

Luckily, the main character didn’t know squat about quilting either, so we learned together… or not.   I do love quilts and enjoy looking at them, but I can’t sew, and most certainly don’t see me quilting.  I don’t enjoy great big projects…  but the subject does make for a fun mystery.

The next book my fingers grabbed was Summer of Firefly Memories, also offered at some point at a Kindle freebie.    It’s still free through their Prime lending offer or only 99 cents for everyone else.   I selected it just because it seemed like a good title for a book I started on July 4th (and finished July 5th).

It’s what I’d call a beach read.  Four adult sisters, as different as four women can be, reunite at lakeside resort where they used to vacation with their parents.   There’s fighting, personal growth, secrets shared and of course, some summer lovin’.  There’s also a super-sweet labrador in there too.   It was a pleasant, easy read, but there was nothing deep about it.

I haven’t opened another book yet.  I have plenty waiting on my Nook and the iPad Kindle app…  I have exhausted my paper or “real” books to be read pile though. 

It’s supposed to be 104 here tomorrow, so I think more reading is ahead.  What do you read when it’s too hot to even think?

 

 

15 comments on “Birds, Bugs and Books

  1. AlisonH says:

    Ouch! You’ve got AC, though, right?

  2. kathy b says:

    Magazines…>I Just came from the library with 9 magazines to flip through today….I can’t concentrate for long, so THey are perfect for today.

  3. gMarie says:

    I’m with Kathy – I read through magazines, and patterns – knitting or sewing. Something that doesn’t take much brain power at all. While it’s not going to hit tripple digits here – it’s going to fast get too hot for things like walking the dogs. I know you walk yours when it’s around, what? 84? Well – that’s too hot for my tall hounds. So there will be fetch in the house and lots of sitting in the basement. g

  4. Marjie says:

    I just curl up in a corner and read whatever’s available. All of my magazines require brain power, so I hunt in the Kindle free book section (not that I need more, mind you), then just flip through the list and poke one at random. Or else I grab a real book off a shelf – not hard when you have thousands of books in your house – and start. I’m really happy to have central air and ceiling fans!

  5. Marjie says:

    And it turns out I have this book! Guess what I’ll be reading after I finish reading this book about the murder of an annoying French Chef in Austin?

  6. Sue says:

    Right now I’m reading Princes of Ireland by Edward Rutherfurd. I read it once before, but there’s a sequel now so I thought I’d reread it first.

    I read a whole series of quilting cozies last year though I don’t quilt either. I liked her character development and enjoyed the whole series.

    I hope to do more sewing this weekend.

  7. Nichole says:

    WOOT for FREE books for the Nook and/or Kindle – love that! I’ve been taking some out here and there from the state library for my Nook. I don’t read thru them in the short 2 weeks they give you, but I just re-request it and start up where I left off. I don’t read as much as I should… and of course I’d like to say it’s because I’m busy knitting, but there hasn’t been a heck of a lot of that going on lately in this heat either.

  8. Nancy says:

    My neighbor loaned me Back of Beyond by Wyoming author, C.J. Box. I loved all the other Box books, so I am looking forward to this one, which is his latest. What is better on a hot day than murder and mayhem in the wilderness?

  9. Katherine says:

    I love the free Kindle books and I have started reading a few magazines on my Kindle. I enjoy spending hot days sipping iced tea and reading recipes in Rachel Ray’s magazine and Real Simple. Yesterday the heat prompted me to buy a Cuisinart ice cream maker. There is a big container of lemon sorbet with pineapple chunks waiting for me tonight!

  10. kathy says:

    When it’s too hot to even think I usually end up at the movie theater. Last weekend we saw “Ted”. Too funny but so not politically correct in any way! Otherwise I just stay inside and watch HBO while consuming iced drinks. Made some watermelon spritzers that are very refreshing.

    We’ve had quite a few 100+ days so far so I feel for you.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    The cereal box. :)

  12. Barbara says:

    Love beach reads…just finished one…The Witness.
    Feeling for you, kiddo. It’s hot up there.

  13. Marjie says:

    I started Wild Goose Chase. Then my Kindle ran out of juice. Then it rained. So I’m sewing a dress i cut out a couple of weeks ago (not with a rotary cutter). And it’s only 71 here after the rain. Amazing, isn’t it?

  14. I’ve been reading the Samantha Moon books. Strong female main character, a bit of the supernatural thrown in, and mysteries. So far, I’ve been pleased. : )

  15. AlisonH says:

    The dial on my thermostat.

Leave a Reply

