Cal-agenda?

Today’s analysis paralysis topic is … tracking appointments.

How do you do it? 

Lilly P of course!

See…  I’m about the most plugged-in girl in the world, but for some reason, I prefer a good ol’ fashioned agenda.   I’ve tried Google Calendar on my i-stuff, but my computer at work is an antique and doesn’t always sync with the rest of my G and/or i-stuff, and then I’m suddenly panicked when I remember putting an appointment in and it isn’t showing up on whatever i-thing I have in my hands.

So, while the League has a master calendar and I am the Calendar Queen, I’m thinking I need this purdy Lilly P agenda, even though it will mean putting some dates on as many as three calendars… 

I still take notes in a “blank book” too.  I tried using Pen-ulitmate on my iPad, but I scribble (read: I have rotten penmanship) and I was disappointed that it doesn’t transcribe my scrawl into a text document, but instead, sends a scribbled image when I email my notes.  Hrmph.

Of course, my agenda won’t whistle at me at the pre-determined time before said appointments the way my i-stuff does…

 

 

13 comments on “Cal-agenda?

  1. gmariesews says:

    I have birthdays in my gmail calendar and I love that. But for other appointments I use my paper calendar – hair appointment – written down. However that almost failed me when I hadn’t checked, thankfull they called. g

  2. AlisonH says:

    My Iphone, my paper calendar at home.

  3. Katherine says:

    I love the Lily P agenda and I understand your need for it! I use 3 calendars, plus my iPhone to track appointments, meetings, birthdays, anniversaries, holidays, dog meds and vet appointments. Whew, I think I need a fourth one!! You really can’t use just one agenda/journal/calendar. There are different needs for different formats.

  4. StarSpry says:

    That’s such a pretty agenda book! I use my Calendar and Reminders on my iPhone/Mac for all appointments, but I really love paper calendars/agenda books :)

  5. Nancy says:

    I use several calendars to record appointments and important dates: one on my computer that sends me alerts, one in the kitchen by the phone, and one in my bathroom that I can check last thing at night and first thing in the morning. These three calendars keep me organized.

  6. Kathy says:

    I like an old-fashioned agenda of some sort. I used to use Filofax but it became harder and harder to find the calendars each year. Now I use a Moleskine book like this one, Peanuts edition.

    http://www.moleskineus.com/mb513wlp-moleskine-2013-peanuts-pocket-weekly-planner.html

    I supposed my phone would be more efficient, but I think that is so un-romantic. I like to keep the calendars and look at them at the end of the year and see what I did (or didn’t do) that year.

  7. Sue says:

    I’ve tried various devices and programs but now I use a special program that alerts me to birthdays about a week ahead, and everything else gets hand written on a calendar.

  8. Nichole says:

    I’m with you… I’m very plugged in, but I MUST still carry a little agenda book! Actually, up til 2012, I carried a much thicker Kate Spade organize book – with monthly calendar, daily caledar, address book, notes, etc, etc. I slimmed down to a simple Agenda (calendar only) book for 2012…

  9. Marjie says:

    Another book user here. Plus, for doctor/dentist appointments, I take the little cards they give out and put them on the side of the fridge with a magnet, stacked in order so only the next one shows. Then I only have to remember Mark’s orthodontist appointment on the 18th, and I’ll worry about the next thing after that’s over. So, by all means, get that purdy Lilly P book! Maybe you need one for Gretchen, too, unless you hide it really well…

  10. Kathy b says:

    3 calendars keep me on track……alll pen and paper
    1 For work
    1 For the family
    1 just for my purse

  11. Amy D says:

    I’ve tried so hard to convert to an all tech agenda,but I just can’t do it. I have a pocket calender, a small notebook, and a calender on the wall in the kitchen. I really should convert my ‘on the go’ stuff to one place. I’ve been giving thought to buying a Day Planner, so that I can customize it to what I need (like a monthly and weekly calender, but not a contacts list – something I rarely use when I’m out and about.)

  12. Pen-ultimate? Hrm….must check that out. As for me and the hubs, we have synced calendars through iCal. We just put the appointments in on our phones and they show up on our iPads, phones, and macs. One of the things that will probably keep me a mac customer forever. lol

  13. I have iCal for most things (colour-coded) and then a school agenda to keep track of my readings and assignments. But major school assignments are also entered into iCal. I don’t have a smartphone, so I like that iCal works on my iTouch. I also tell it to open whenever I boot up my laptop, and I’m on it so often that it’s handy. When I was in high school (sans laptop) I used a colour-coded agenda for everything, but I had less obligations then too.

Leave a Reply

