No Paw-caso

Happy Thorsday, little friday, Thankful Thursday and first official Board meeting for the Junior League of Charlottesville.   Today’s post is basically a show and tell.  The girls have a cute post today too. 

You might have noticed that on most of the social media type sites, I’ve changed my profile photo.   Monday, I arrived at work to find a very large object at my desk.   See, the Knight’s aunt is a gifted artist.   I knew he’d sent a photo book I made home with Uncle several weeks ago, but it was returned and …  I didn’t notice that it had disappeared again.

July 2012 017

I just love it.  If you could see it in person, you’d even see that Sissy’s lovely caramel-colored eye lashes are there!  She apologized for the fire hydrant in the background, but wanted some contrast.  It’s perfect!!  Our living room is done in denim, tan and splashes of red-orange, so…  Never mind that the Knight and I are/were both firefighters and yet I won’t “allow” fire-related art in the living room…  This is totally dog art, right?!  ;)

And for the record, I don’t ALWAYS hate surprises.  This one took my breath away in the best way.

What truly personal, special art graces your walls?

 

 

15 comments on “No Paw-caso

  1. gmariesews says:

    That is stunning and the fire hydrant is perfect. It doesn’t make it firefighter art, but is truly dog art and is so personalized and amazing. What a fantastic surprise.

    I have a wonderful pencil drawing of Dudley & Abby. I love it. g

  2. Nancy says:

    The Fur Girls’ portrait is wonderful, and I know you will cherish it.

    I have several needlework pieces on my walls. Some I made; some, by others.

  3. love our portrait,

    tom made a fantastic dragon right on one wall and a pheonix on the other, we also have a metal cut dragon and a canvas art photo of the entire family from the wedding and special framed picture of the bride and groom, our stair way leading into the Living room has many of Tom’s paintings and a large amount of tattoo art

  4. Kathy b says:

    That is one amazing image!!!!
    I have the painting of Huck and rozzy in our family room

  5. AlisonH says:

    Wow! Love it, love that she did that for you!

    My sister took art lessons at the Corcoran Gallery in Washington DC, then majored in fine arts; we have a few of her works. There’s a watercolor of where we were married. Love it.

  6. Sue says:

    We were happy when we found this house because it had so much wall space. Rob is an artist and I sketch and do needle art and of course we both collect art pieces that we like. You’ve seen a lot of my dog paintings and there are many more. I’ll be doing another post on it soon.

  7. Blond Duck says:

    That’s so sweet!!!!

  8. StarSpry says:

    I did notice your new profile photo; it looks great! What a wonderful surprise :)

  9. Marjie says:

    It’s very appropriate. I seem to remember a fire hydrant possibly gracing your yard?

  10. Katherine says:

    Oh that painting is stunning! So perfect. I love the expression on Gretchen’s face and I want to hug Sissy. That is a real treasure!

    I have a painting over our couch that I could never part with. It is of an English garden. I bought it when the Air Force made us world travelers. We were never allowed to stay in one place for more than 8 months and always lived in base quarters with no outdoor space. I wanted a garden but couldn’t make it happen so I bought one. It is a reminder of a time that was both happy and difficult, but one that shaped us as husband and wife. It taught us to make do with what we have!

  11. Nichole says:

    I did see that on FB… it is absolutely beautiful and such a special piece… congrats! The Lapdogs got their Daddy a beautiful stretched canvas print of themselves for Daddy’s Day this year and we really need to get that up on the wall!

  12. What a beautiful, special, gift. Love (1,000). I have lots of the kids’ artwork hanging. It changes as they create/give me something new. ;)

  13. HoundDogMom says:

    That is a beautiful picture. We have a wood carving picture of Cleo that our best blogging friend sent to us from Lousiana (The Cheesehounds). It looks so much like her and I am so glad to have her prescence with me all the time. Have a graet day! Sherri

  14. Dianne says:

    Love, love, love it!!!!!

  15. So lovely! And very fitting =D

Leave a Reply

