Wine Whine

This weekend was jammed full!  Over on the girls’ blog, we did manage to get a Blog the Change post up yesterday.   Yesterday was also National Ice Cream Day, and after our first Bloop experience Saturday night, we celebrated by having Bloop for dinner last night.

Why yes, I am serious.  We’re adults, and we had a late lunch, so when the Knight announced around 7pm that he wanted Bloop for dinner… we went. 

I was a little shocked that the Knight was an instant fan, but I think the super-fresh, sweet strawberries won him over.  Their blackberries are also some of the nicest I’ve ever had.  Doesn’t hurt that there’s real Godiva chocolate in their chocolate variety either.

Anyway.  About the title of this post…  Saturday, we met up with the Knight’s brother and his family and the cousin who grew up next door and his wife at the Horton Vineyards Pig Roast.   No pig visuals were involved… just ribs and pulled pork on the buffet. 

Full disclosure…  The Hortons are both friends and customers and we did receive VIP tickets, but this is my account of the event and their wines.  We did pay full event prices for everything purchased.

We were the last of our party to arrive (and yes, the ones living the closest to the winery), and the Knight’s cousin is such a great guy…  It wasn’t long before he slipped over to the nearest pouring table and came back with a chilled bottle of Niagra, one of my go-to favorites.  (All wines mentioned in this post found HERE.)  It’s a sweet, fruity white, but not a true FRUIT wine or a dessert wine per se.

After ribs, slaw, three-bean salad and more, we retreated to the cool comfort of the barrel room, where said cousin tasted reds.  I don’t do reds because of a tannin allergy, so we moved on upstairs to the gift shop and tasting rooms, where a bottle of their very sweet Blanco XOCO (white wine with chocolate essence) was had after some tastings.

Courtesy of Total Wine

While I do keep Blanco XOCO, Niagra and others on hand, this time, I required their Sparkling Viognier.   Those who know me “in real life” know I love me some bubbly, and being able to buy it from a friend makes it that much … happier.

One of the things we love best about the Hortons is their great sense of humor.  The complementary wine glasses for the pig roast each year give you some insight into their personalities, but my favorite part of the shopping experience is reading the little tag lines or nicknames for each variety. 

The sparkling viognier is Dom Virginion.  Isn’t that a hoot? 

I love that wine is STILL a growing Virginia enterprise.  Local lore has it that Thomas Jefferson was the first to play vintner in these parts. 

What did you do this weekend?

 

13 comments on “Wine Whine

  1. gmariesews says:

    Your weekend sounds lovely. I had a date with a friend; a trip to the vet; many tears and a bit of hysterics; ice cream; pizza; a 5k; and then finally made a new skirt and knit a few rows. g

  2. AlisonH says:

    Sounds like you had a great time!

  3. Kathy says:

    I guess I had a wine tasting event too…in the grocery store! I sampled both of the offerings.

    Otherwise, it was a movie weekend. Saw both “Magic Mike” and the new Spiderman.

  4. Nancy says:

    I read most of the weekend.

    Mmmm, I love wine tasting parties. It’s great fun to try wine that I would not normally drink. I am partial to a semi-sweet wine (red or white), and I cannot stand a dry wine – much too tart for my taste buds.

  5. Katherine says:

    I’ll have Rojo Xoco please!! If this week is anything like the last I’ll need some Viognier as well–like three, maybe four glasses!

  6. kathy b says:

    I am very glad you left us links as a way to find that stuff! YUM. Love me champagne…

    I bbq with HECKYs here in chicago. They are the best. I just order and pick it up. OR RUssell’s either are heavenly. Russells is the vinegar type, hecky’s is the red stuff.

    I worked. :)

  7. Nichole says:

    The pig roast / wine tasting sounds like a delightful way to spend a weekend! I think I would like all of the white choices you mentioned… yum!

  8. Marjie says:

    Sounds like a great weekend. And I love that you invoke the memory of old TJ all the time. (Did you see the WSJ article – I think it was WSJ – last week that said his brother Randolph was probably the father of Sally Hemmings’ child? Just an aside for no good reason). And I love frozen yogurt, too. You can make it instantly by putting frozen berries in your blender with vanilla yogurt, and sugar if desired. Love it!

  9. Amy D says:

    John and I have been meaning to check out Horton Vineyards for a year now. They have grapes from Doc Frank’s in NY, and I hear the wine is to die for. Maybe after the baby is born and is a little older, John and I may venture down that way to try the wine.

  10. I’ll have to see if our local wine shop can get some of those in. I can’t order and have it shipped to my home (silly AL law). That slightly fruity one sounded divine!

  11. Blond Duck says:

    Sounds like a great time! We went to Austin for Mom’s b-day!

  12. Barbara says:

    You had a busy weekend. Bloop? Never heard of it. I’ll keep my eyes open for it down here as it sounds delicious.

  13. Louise says:

    Such excitement in this post, Channon. It sure sounds like you had an interesting weekend. The Blanco XOCO sounds most intriguing. The only mentionable thing I did this weekend was miss National Ice Cream Day but that’s probably because I was out in the garden most of the weekend trying to rescue the plants from dying of thirst.

    Thanks for sharing…

Leave a Reply

