A good day…

July 2012 002I’ve said since I learned that a local friend was due on July 17th that the 18th is a good day to be born.  See, my teen years BFF was born today… a few years ago.  (Hem.)  No, you don’t get a photo, because all of my photos for the last few years include her precious boy, and I don’t put kiddo photos on my blog.

Instead, you get a pretty photo of one of my birthday flowers. 

Now… what’s your go-to baby shower (or just welcome baby) gift?

15 comments on “A good day…

  1. gmariesews says:

    Welcome dear sweet baby JL. My go to gift is a fleece blankie. Need one? g

  2. Natalie Rush says:

    Now that I have had a baby…my goto baby shower gift are useful things. I like to knit one thing like booties or a hat, and then pack of size 1 diapers, wipes, my favorite baby wash, lansinol, and things like that. Congrats to your friend!

  3. Marjie says:

    Handmade blanket if it’s a close friend. Otherwise, tiny practical items (size dependent on size of baby). Natalie’s suggestion is really good, because it’s astonishing how fast those things go. Also, I like to include a little something just for the mom, be it some chocolate, a book, fancy tea or whatever. It doesn’t need to cost much, just something that’s just for her.

  4. If I have time to knit a blankie and a stuffie If its spur of the moment, receiving blankets

  5. Kathy b says:

    The napping house or
    Are You My Mother?
    Or
    bread and Jam for Frances

    Or the house that jack built
    Or
    Rikki timki tempo
    Or
    IT’S easy to See why. !!!!!

  6. StarSpry says:

    Beautiful flower! Congratulations to your friend! I’ve knit booties or hats as baby gifts.

  7. Nichole says:

    Congrats on the new little one to knit for! :) Hats are always necessary (and quick)! I need to start knitting more toys though…

  8. Blond Duck says:

    Diapers, butt cream and a cute denim Wrangler cover…

  9. gmariesews says:

    Oh – and lately, I’ve been knitting shawls for the momma. g

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    What a pretty photo! I usually knits toys but since I never hear anything once I’ve given them it’s hard to know if they were liked. Instead I’ll tell you the gift I know was well loved many years after it was given and that was a nightlight that lit up in the shape of Noah’s Ark. The children enjoyed that for many years and I heard years after how much the kids loved it.

  11. AlisonH says:

    Machine washable soft wool for baby and/or mama, depending on the time I have.

    Best wishes to your friend for a safe delivery, and to the new little one on the way.

  12. Barbara says:

    Well, I’m not a homemade talented person like you, so my gift is invariably a onesie. Or several of them. Every once in a while, for a really special friend, I send an outfit…. the kind most mothers don’t have time to wash and iron anymore. :)

  13. I usually do diapers and a Wal-Mart gift card. Or if they’re really special, a hand-knit something. :)

Leave a Reply

