Dog Days Defined

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday and whatever else you’re celebrating today.  We’re celebrating some little wins in Gretchen’s life, which translates into small milestones for our pack. 

Courtesy of Wikipedia

Since we’ve been walking at dawn in the heat, there are no new and exciting photos, so today’s post is about the history behind the “dog days of summer.”  The name comes from the Dog Star, which Harry Potter and satellite radio fans will know is also called Sirius or the brightest star in Canis Major.

Wikipedia has a great explanation behind the history of the phrase, but at least for “my neck of the woods” it fits; we are generally at our hottest from the end of July through the first of September. 

July 2011 002How do you battle the dog days of summer?  We just stay in the AC as much as possible, walk at dawn and dusk, and stay hydrated.

Today I’m thankful for that AC.  Being without it for a few hours Monday was enough for me.  I’m also thankful for Sissy’s morning snuggles; she’s very demanding about it, and will literally try to pin me down if she feels I’m getting up prematurely.  Sweet girl.   I just wish she didn’t insist upon getting a BIG drink of water before she comes for her morning cuddle!

15 comments on “Dog Days Defined

  1. Nichole says:

    We get very lazy when the dog days of summer arrive… and we hope for fall to come soon!

  2. gmariesews says:

    Yea for Wee GG making milestones. I know you are tickled. And yes – I protest loudly when the dogs think I’m a towel to wipe their faces on. Those jowels just leak water for freakin’ evah!!

    Dog days – well lately we’ve been hanging inside and we do the same walk early and late and play in the house. g

  3. Nancy says:

    This year, the “dog days of summer” most likely will be from late April until nearly September. Temperatures have been HOT that long this year, but normally the hot temps don’t arrive until July.

    Your description of Sissy’s morning cuddle made me laugh.

  4. Katherine says:

    I am very familiar with the wet mouth snuggle because I am frequently on the receiving end of it! Does Sissy do the same thing to your hubby? Macy only shares her wet mouth with me. I’m so lucky!!

    Brava Gretchen for small victories! Hope your dog days of summer soon become cool days for long walks (for all of us).

  5. sue says:

    I’m getting used to having wet dogs in my lap. They love to jump in the pool, then come cuddle.

  6. Kathy says:

    Dribbly cuddles, huh? Maybe you should keep a box of Kleenex by the side of the bed for such occasions.

    I’m with you on the A/C! That’s the only way to survive the dog days of summer.

  7. kathy b says:

    Dog days….well yesterday we simply couldn’t go out in IT for more than a few moments. THen ran back into a/c. It was still 97 degrees at 9 pm. UGh. Today beatles and I are already on the porch…much more pleasant today. I have to put Bea’s harness on today, Im trying to train him to walk on a leash…silly cat mom that i am

  8. Susan says:

    A basset believes in “wet sloppy” kisses!!! The wetter the better. It is like a puppy with needle teeth, believes in love BITES!!!!

  9. Natalie Rush says:

    Awe! slobbery morning snuggles sound like the best! :)

  10. Wet snuggles still beat no snuggles, yes? I can somewhat sympathize with that, as my “bearded” doggies give wet hugs, too. Today, I am thankful for good counsel, and those who offer it when needed.

  11. km says:

    LOL…that big slobber. I know how slobbery Holly is after a drink. Out here summer doesn’t hit full temps until August…and then the HOT lasts through October. I remember it was 103 on my wedding day (Oct 9th). We enjoy lots of salads and popsicles when it’s hot.

  12. Amy says:

    I’m thankful for my central AC. Seriously … the best thing since sock yarn. :-)

  13. Blond Duck says:

    I’m thankful for my creative life.

  14. AlisonH says:

    We left 99 degree weather (no I did not wear my dyed-for-the-dress shawl at that wedding, there was no way) Came home to where’s-my-sweater with the sun going down.

  15. My biggest thing is the humidity. Add that to the heat and I wilt faster than anything. Unfortunately, we’ve had lots of both here lately. Even the pool water is warm. Blech. AC is my closest friend this time of year. lol

Leave a Reply

