We are athletes too!

January 2011 021

Gretchen in training, 2011

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday.  Like lots of households around the globe, the Olympics are on at our house almost around the clock.  It’s what I leave on for the fur-girls when we go to work, and while the Knight claims not to watch sports, he’s suddenly an Olympic medal-counter, and an expert on swimming, volleyball and more.

However, before I talk about our sports of choice, I’d be remiss if I failed to note that Sissy is so worked up this week she composed her own post.  I’ve had busy weeks before, but for some reason, she’s knotted up over my meeting schedule this week.  Crazy dog…

So, what sports would we compete in? 

Well, the humans are easy.  The Knight is a remarkable marksman, and a natural in the weight room, so we’ll go with shooting, weightlifting… or table tennis.  He’s evil with a paddle and I refuse to play against him.

I played tennis and basketball and both sprinted and ran cross country in school, but these days, race walking is about all I could really do.

DSC01454

Sparring, 2009

But the furgirls are another story. 

Sissy would like to do boxing or wrestling.  Sure, she logs almost as many miles as I do in a week, but that’s just her training program.

Gretchen would like to do handball and hurdles, and says she’d like to do racewalking with me too.

I always get interesting in fencing during the Olympics too.  What are your favorite sports to watch?  To play?

Thankful…  I know you’re probably tired of hearing it, but I am ever-thankful for the remarkably talented, inspiring women in the League.   We had our new member interest social last night, and every single woman I spoke with was awesome!   It’s also pure delight to work with highly competent women who collaborate and support each other.  I know the whole year isn’t going to flow smoothly, so I truly treasure these moments where I am proud of our leaders and inspired by their passion and ideas…

I’m also thankful for my husband and the other very supportive significant others in our leaders’ lives.  One friend’s husband stopped by last night and was sweet enough to share some Prosecco with me.  I happen to know he brews his own beer, but he was a good sport and had bubbly with us!  When I finally got home, the Knight had a fabulous salad waiting for me…

What are you grateful for today?

12 comments on “We are athletes too!

  1. gMarie says:

    ER vets. My husband. Friends. tears. g

  2. Katherine says:

    I was a swimmer through high school and college so I get a kick out of “swimming along” with the Olympians. I’m grateful that swimming can be continued with age because I couldn’t run if my life depended on it!

  3. AlisonH says:

    Go team go! And I love it when you ask that question–it’s a good reminder.

    I’m grateful for having time with my daughter and nephew living at our house this summer, and that she finally got a job, starting next week.

  4. Sue says:

    I prefer the winter sports, but Rob is fascinated with women’s beach volleyball as is every man I’ve met so far. Could it have anything to do with the uniforms?

  5. Kathy says:

    I’m most interested in the marathon. As a marathoner myself, I have a (slight) idea of how they feel. The Olympic trials were held here in January and I went to watch so I have seen our American qualifiers in person, thus I’m very interested in seeing them run in London. By tradition the marathon is the last event of the Olympics so I will be waiting a while longer to see it.

    I watched fencing on Saturday and now I’m really interested. It’s funny how we get interested in these semi-obscure sports for a few days every four years.

  6. Marjie says:

    I haven’t watched one minute of the Olympics; I just don’t care. Of course, since I don’t like sports in general – I’m the girl who keeps bugging Mark to tell me when they get home runs in the football game (and I’m not that clueless, but it’s a great act) – so that shouldn’t be a surprise. Happy Thorsday!

  7. kathy b says:

    I can barely get the equestrian events at a decent hour….I LOVE the horsey events. I also like Girls gymnastics, swimming for awhile and shot-put for some reason!
    Im grateful for my doctors’ nursing staff. They are awesome. IM grateful for
    Fireman taking me out for late lunch early dinner…at Bob Chinns Fish house..mmmmm
    Im grateful for Grouper

  8. Louise says:

    I’m with Marjie on this one, almost:) I just haven’t had the time to watch any kind of TV these days and to tell you the truth, Channon, I don’t even miss it. I got such a kick out of you saying you were leaving the TV on for the girls, that’s too cute:)

    At this moment I’m thankful that you are thankful for your wonderful husband. I’ve often said “Hold onto that man” and now that I know he is so physically fit, all the better. The days of me watching the Olympics with my husband are but a beautiful memory:) (skating was my favorite:)

    Thanks for sharing, Channon. I’m off to see what all the fuss is with Sissy…

  9. Ruth says:

    Well..you know I’m a basketball fan, though I haven’t seen any coverage on tv from the Olympics yet…as for playing, I used to play volleyball, and would love to do so again. Thankful for a week at camp starting Saturday!

  10. Barbara says:

    I get so angry with NBC. The interviews with non-Olympic people are a waste of time when there is so much we could be watching. Love equestrian, shooting, fencing, diving; looking forward to synchronized swimming…..hah! they probably will show a minute or so of it.

  11. Nichole says:

    Great post – cute! We are indeed watching the games and enjoying all sorts of sports we’d NEVER otherwise sit down to watch, much less actually get INTO the game…

  12. bubblesknits says:

    Goodness…I’m thankful for my health and my Mom’s health today. A friend/coworker lost her mother to brain cancer early yesterday morning. Cancer sucks. From what I’ve heard, yesterday was a bad day for loss. On the upside, another friend gave birth to her baby boy, so there was some joy there, too.

Leave a Reply

