Wild!…

Loft cheetah-ish print I need to go try on

… about the animal prints right now.  I’m pretty sure I “hated” them the last time they were all the rage, but I already have four pieces in my wardrobe that immediately come to mind, and I am sure I need more.

Okay.  So much for being unable to care about fall fashion.  Inundate me with 278 email ads, Pinterest folks pinning, and add a grey morning, and I’m there.  Doesn’t hurt at all that the Loft has lumped dots in with their “spot on” campaign.  I also happen to already own three dotted items and might have ordered a fourth yesterday.  Hem.

Then, in a “my thoughts to mass market” moment, I was just internally griping yesterday because being ridiculously fair and yet outdoorsy, plus having sensitive skin and liking a faux “even” skin tone, I REALLY want a good, higher than 20 SPF tinted moisturizer.  I wouldn’t wear it every day… except when we’re at the beach…  Enter my inbox, Bobbi Brown.   I’ll be ordering some BB Cream SPF 35 just as soon as I figure out which shade I need. 

In other news, I’m on day #3 of the too good to be true Wake-up Makeup trial.  I went with the ivory powder foundation, because of course, podunk doesn’t seem to have the “new” liquid yet.  I’m pretty sure the formula doesn’t make a big difference in effect.  It has a cooling sensation as it leaves its powdery state and blends with the oils on my face.  But Marjie?  Skip it.  Not only does it fail to make me or my skin look or feel like we’re 18 again, the ivory is too dark for my never-sees sun forehead, and barely works on my sun-kissed cheeks and nose.  I’ll use it ’til my summer “tan” fades just because I’m thrifty like that, but it doesn’t have the real perk me up impact that Mary Kay’s Indulge Soothing Eye Gel has. 

For what it’s worth, I’ve been using THAT product for over 15 years, and maybe it’s why I don’t have significant crows feet.  I can also tell you it will fight a good fight against puffy eyes from a crying jag, allergies, lack of sleep, etc.   Sometimes, technology and cosmetics do have a good, successful, long-lasting marriage.  Doesn’t hurt any that I love the color too. 

What trends and/or gimmicks are you feeling right now?

PS – Go Sanya and Lolo!!  As a former sprinter, Sanya is the reason my eyes needed a double-dose of that eye gel this morning.  I had to stay up and watch.  See…  even with two of the best coaches to EVER grace high school track & field (seriously!), I wasn’t able to compete successfully in the 400M.  Pacing yourself and giving it all you have for a quarter mile… they’re mutually exclusive in my book.   … and I always wanted to be a hurdler, but my one attempt led to knee surgery, a bone chip still moving out from hiding once in a while in my wrist, so…

14 comments on “Wild!…

  1. gMarie says:

    hmmm – I’ve got nothing today. I’m sorry the make-up isn’t working the way you desired. Hope you look slightly rested. I have been staying up way too late watching Olympics too. I’ll check out your links later. I’m sure the clothing is fabulous – I’m a huge fan of polka spots. g

  2. Nancy says:

    I gave up wearing make-up because I was constantly breaking-out. Now, I wear a simple moisturizer and call it good.

  3. Katherine says:

    We have also been staying up late watching the Olympics! Swimming, running, gymnastics, they are all amazing. I promised myself I would not get into the Olympics this year and use the time to read instead. Not much reading being done here!!

    If the maxi dress is a gimmick then I have fallen hard. I’ve ordered two more and since I see them everywhere I go I don’t think I have to worry about the trend winding down soon. If it does, next year I will have a closet full of unwearable dresses. Don’t get me started on the shoes….

  4. km says:

    I do love that indulge eye gel, but my favorite MK eye product is the eye firming cream.

    These runners have me tempted to buy a bright yellow pair of running shoes. ;0)

    I decided I was brave enough to see what fit me in my closet for fall! It’s like I have 3 brand new pair of pants and some old favorites too. Now I’ll just need a few things to make practically NEW outfits. I’m looking for a long necklace. I think I found what I want, but it’s more than I want to spend. Have you heard of Jewel Kade?

  5. Nichole says:

    I’m still searching for the right pair of cute leopard or cheetah print flats…

  6. Mr. Puffy says:

    I’m lovin sundresses! I haven’t worn them since I was in my late teens but I’ve recently bought several on sale and I’m enjoying wearing them with the attitude with heck with age appropriate dressing. It helps that the temps have recently soared here. PS Like the new look to your blog ~

  7. kathy b says:

    Olympics are even better at 0400 in the break room at work! I hope to stay up a bit tonight and catch some more olympics. I got to see the JUMP Off in equestrian today when I woke up.
    Products??? Gimmecks: Im off to get margarine with plant sterols for lowing my cholesterol.

  8. Blond Duck says:

    I’m on a hunt (get it) for a leopard print dress, boots and bag. It will take all my restraint not to wear them at once. Did you see that poor track girl who pulled her hamstring on the starting line? My heart broke for her!

  9. Sue says:

    I bought a little leopard print hoodie last year and Rob hated it. Now I wear it to pick up dog poop in the back yard. Bummer.

  10. Karen says:

    I am watching the Olympics too. Having a medically fragile, special needs child, I am always sleep deprived. After years of this I now have puffy bags under my eyes more often than not. I am always looking for something that will take them away, but have been unsuccessful. I will have to try the Mary Kay since you have given it a thumbs up. By the way, do you wear Danskos? I just got the Funky Knit and can’t wait to wear them! Hmmm, now that I wrote this, I think you already talked about them. Am I right? Sigh. No sleep = bags and memory loss!

    • Karen says:

      Forgot to mention… I am not a fan of animal prints for me, but do admire when someone else wears it well. I do love the polka dots though :)

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    Glad to see your review on the make-up. I briefly considered it yesterday at the store, but didn’t have a coupon and hated to pay full price. Probably best I didn’t switch right when my skin is finally clearing up. ;)

  12. Amy D says:

    As far as recent trends/gimmicks, I’m amused to see all of the things that are out there for babies today. I mean … really? Some of these things make great sense, while others just baffle me. Did you know that there is a digital alarm that will let you input data, so you know when it is time to feed and change the baby? To me, that’s just silly.

  13. Barbara says:

    I stay up for the Olympics until about 11 or 11:30 and then give up. I wish they’d do less interviews and special stories and more Olympic events. Oh well. Same old story. Nice to hear about Mary Kay product you’ve been using for years and your success with it.

Leave a Reply

