My body, my friend

Photo from gMarie

I really hate to talk about my body, about aging, etc., but that’s where we’re going today.  If you’re here for the dogs, pop over to Kari‘s and gMarie‘s and read about the loss of a darling girl, Lucy.   It’s the hardest part of being a pet owner, saying good-bye…

Elton John’s Candle in the Wind seems about right.  We’re sorry we never got to meet you, you beautiful redhead you.  

So, back to my musings for today.  I like to pretend it’s all good and I don’t have any body issues, and generally speaking, that’s true enough.  There’s just this one, big problem that I’ve mentioned in passing before and it’s getting me in big, hairy, stinky trouble.

I’m competitive to a fault, especially when it comes to the physical.  When we did the 50 yard dash in grade school, I didn’t want to be the fastest girl; I wanted to beat the boys too.   Doesn’t help any at all that petite me ended up in the fire service, where I abused my body and pushed it to its limits regularly.

photo.JPG

Have no idea why I took this photo, but the ankle in question is the one on the left (my right ankle, ironically), toes forward

Luckily, I have a husband who has my number and a doctor who has been my doctor and a friend for most of my adult life.   The Knight insisted that I ask the doc to look at my ankle, since I’ve turned it yet again.   So…  I did.  And because she’s known me for ages, in her sweet, not-judgemental way, she reminded me that I’d had a VERY serious injury to that ankle years ago, and nothing is ever 100% after something like that. 

So.  No more trying to walk faster than I used to run as a teenager doing cross-country.  No more “pushing through” just because I have a high pain threshold and it isn’t miserable.   I’m prouder than I should be that I don’t look my age, but that SHOULD make me all the more willing to honor this body that has served me well, through unrealistic demands AND multiple, significant injuries.

So from here on out, at least until I need another reminder, I’m going to treat my body like the BFF it is.  I’m going to pamper it when it isn’t up to par, I’m going to be nice to it, and I’m definitely going to thank it for all the years it has put up with my abuse and unrealistic expectations.  

Is your body your friend?  If so, do you always treat her as kindly as you treat your OTHER friends?

(What’s highly ironic is there just are no photos of my and my body-friend.  Hmmm…  I think it just means I’m generally the one taking the photos?!)

15 comments on “My body, my friend

  1. AlisonH says:

    We should all be so nice to our bodies.(Stifling a snigger at mine–I could taunt it that it’s not particularly nice to me, the little stinker.)

  2. Nancy says:

    In the last year, I began to treat my body as a friend, yet in the past I was abusive and fueled it with junk and overloaded it with large portions. I’m slowly learning how to treat it more kindly and hope I am rewarded with a longer life with more time for knitting, reading, and sewing.

  3. gmariesews says:

    Okay – one more time.

    Thanks for the lovely photo of Miss Lucy. I posted my favorites this morning. She was the best redhead I ever knew.

    And no, I do not treat my body with the respect that it deserves. In fact, I just had this same convo with Local Y last week – that she needs to be as nice and nuturing to herself as she would be to her daughter or her best friend. It’s so much easier to say than do.

    g

  4. Katherine says:

    I spent too many of my younger years abusing my body and decided that if I want to look and feel 40 when I’m 70 I should turn that around really fast! It is tough, but so worth the effort. My big problem is eliminating stress! I keep trying.

  5. Bubblesknits says:

    I think I’m a little too kind to my body. As in I don’t push it hard enough. Maybe when this stinking humidity goes away I’ll be more motivated. : )

  6. Marjie says:

    I wrote about Lucy today, too; I’m so sad for GMarie. I like your yellow shoes. BTW, thanks for the makeup analysis yesterday!

  7. km says:

    Yeah for Yellow Shoes! After my back pain…I’ve been careful to treat my body well.

    You might need something like this. http://www.betterbraces.com/donjoy-elastic-ankle-support Talk to your Dr. Ty earned himself something like that for basketball.

  8. Natalie says:

    I agree with your doctor! You don’t have to slow down but you do have to take care of your body!! Take care and get some rest before the ankle gets worse! :)

  9. Blond Duck says:

    I’m so sorry for the loss of Lucy.

    I’ve been a lot kinder to my body, and it’s been loving me. Peanut butter cures all. Seriously.

    You took that picture because those shoes are adorable!

    Have you tried MSM for joints?

  10. kathy b says:

    Poor Gmarie…..THEY just don’t live long enough…..Our dogs our cats, they are so loved.

    Well, just found out my cholesterol is not too high, but getting higher …..
    so long hormone protection….here comes a new way to eat.
    Ive been trying to be a vegetarian (fish and milk allowed) for a few weeks and I feel so much better. Bye bye BUttah for the most part…..

    I need to eliminate stress too like Katherine….
    and I need to pretend Huck is walking with me…and get oFF THE COUCH.

  11. I really do try to take good care of me, or so I thought…but it seems that there is more to it than eating right and getting some exercise…so, lately I’ve been trying harder…still not fond of the bod, but trying to get on better terms. :-)

  12. Kristyn says:

    I have not been good to my body for the last few years. I finally went to the doctor last week and now things are heading in the right direction.

  13. Amy D says:

    I sometimes wonder if working night shift – even for just five years – is already taking its toll on me. It is so hard on the body; sleep patterns are disrupted, diet suffers, etc. I already feel better in many ways working on daylight, but it is hard to tell truly because of the pregnancy.

    I’m trying to take better care of body now that I’m just about to enter my 30s. You only live once, right? :-)

  14. Mary says:

    No, not treating my body right at all. Not enough exercise, not enough sleep, to much commuting time (took 2 hrs 10 min to get home last night) pushing through pain…yada, yada, yada. Knowing what one should do and actually doing it seem to be at odds right now. Hoping to change that soon…after I move all the rest of my children this next week…assuming I can stand upright afterwards.

    So sorry to hear about Lucy.

  15. Sue says:

    When I was younger I never gave a thought to the abuse I was giving my body, especially my hands and feet. Now I’m paying the price. I’ve had three surgeries on my hands and wrists, broken my wrist twice and have tendonitis permanently. My feet have their own special problems and let me know about it. I guess we all have to learn the hard way, but I’m trying to be kinder to my body parts these days.

Leave a Reply

