Thorsday Double-post

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday!  Please forgive the double-post, but some things are worth repeating…  You can get a little more information on the fur-girls’ blog, but please consider supporting BROOD – Basset Rescue of the Old Dominion – and saving 25% off at Macy’s on Saturday.  (Good for online purchases too…)

As for the thankful part, I’m grateful for my friends, especially a couple of you who are seemingly more mindful of my pre-existing health issues than I am.  My very first allergy – as an infant – was to sulfa drugs.  According to Wikipedia, sulfite “sensitivities”  are in the top nine food allergies.   Unfortunately, the symptoms are basically the same for an allergy to tannins

Given that tea and raisins don’t seem to be a problem for me, the sulfites make more sense.  That opens a whole new can of worms though, because sulfites are virutally everywhere.  The good news is that with the possible exception of wine, I can control my exposure by simply avoiding foods with long shelf lives, which is probably a good idea anyway. 

Anyone out there with a sulfite “sensitivity”?  I guess I’m going to have to keep a food journal and see what causes the problems…

9 comments on “Thorsday Double-post

  1. km says:

    Well, I think rice cakes are the food with the longest shelf life in my cupboard these days.

    I have learned that when environmental allergies are up then my reaction to my food allergies will be stronger.

  2. Katherine says:

    Keeping a food journal has proven to be the most important factor in my weight loss. It’s interesting that as I track what I eat, I seem to be making healthier food choices. The result is fewer stomach upsets, no allergic reactions, and lost pounds. I have vowed to track what I eat for the rest of my life!!

  3. kathy b says:

    I may have to start to track like Katherine……
    Ive gone veggie for about a month now…
    Here’s hoping the Macys fundraiser brings in lots of cash for the pups!!!
    We spayed 4 female beagle/mix pups this morning at the shelter. Oh my they are talkers…..and had alot to say about their morning!

  4. Nichole says:

    Happy Thankful Thursday!

  5. Sue says:

    When I’m in headache season, November thru April, I’m most bothered by sulfites. Summers aren’t as bad for some reason. MSG has gotten worse. Last time we had Chinese, I was so dizzy that I had to stay in bed for 2 days. I can do without that. Tannins, I don’t know.

  6. AlisonH says:

    So not fun. Good luck. When you read labels, we’ve learned that you’re never done: just yesterday Michelle bought something that had always been safe out of the vending machine at work because she wasn’t sure the cafeteria at work was safe. Got the package. The manufacturer had added milk to a previously safe brand–of potato chips!

  7. I have another friend with sulfa allergies…as a result I know that they make sulfa-free wines. You might look around for some?

  8. I’ve never had a problem with wine, but sulpha based drugs play hardball with my tummy. Put it this way, it’s useless for me to take them because they don’t stay there for very long. >.< Maybe a food journal will help. It did for us when we were trying to figure out E's problems.

  9. Louise says:

    Sulfite free wine is definitely worth checking into Channon. I too have a low tolerance to sulfites in medicine and food. Although I still drink sulfite ridden wine, I always try to search out those with none. A difficult task in these parts:)

    I may be heading to Macy’s tomorrow. I was there for just a moment yesterday returning something, as usual, and I actually got excited about some of the new Fall styles. Maybe a first for me in a very, very, very, long time!!!

Leave a Reply

