Almost Dressed

April 2012 002

I’m sure I have earrings on… ??

I somehow managed to leave the house and get just far enough that it didn’t make sense to turn around and go back before I realized I don’t have earrings in.  I am otherwise “done up” complete with two pairs of shoes (heels and flats), but no earrings.  I’m not terribly bothered by it, as with my long mop loose, it’s hard to see my ears anyway.

Ironically, my mother inlaw managed to leave the house without ANY of her jewelry today.

Do you feel undone when that happens?

17 comments on “Almost Dressed

  1. Nancy says:

    I don’t wear a lot of jewelry – only stud earrings which I leave it all the time.

    Great photo of you, by the way. I love how you layered the shawl with a cardigan.

  2. Susan says:

    My Grandmother could never get through a day with out her “ear bobs”!!! ;-)

    • chanknits says:

      Cute. I always wear earrings when I’m not sleeping or working out, so I don’t know what happened this morning.

  3. gmariesews says:

    I can go a day without earings, but I will fiddle with my ears all dang day. However – leaving the house without my wedding ring – I will go back no matter how far away or how late it will make me.

    g

  4. Kathy says:

    I almost feel naked without my earrings. But I rarely take them out so this isn’t usually a problem.

  5. Katherine says:

    I got the earrings in yesterday but was interrupted before I put on my watch. I didn’t know what time it was all day and it drove me crazy! I think it means we are moving too fast!!

    I love your outfit and especially the lace shawlette.

  6. AlisonH says:

    I want to see you wearing two pairs of shoes at once. I really do.

  7. km says:

    Lately my ears are having trouble with my earrings, but I sleep with my watch and wedding ring on. So I’m never without at least some jewelry.

  8. Sue says:

    Had to laugh at the thought of you wearing the extra pair of shoes on your ears. Anyway, I used to feel like something was missing if I forget my gems, but now I’m on a campaign to remember to wear earrings every day. I still can only wear my bracelets when I’m going out because the dogs are so attracted to them.

  9. Mary says:

    The only jewelry I wear that I don’t take off at all are my wedding/engagement rings and a sapphire ring given to me by my mother. But earrings are the only other jewelry I ever wear. And yes, totally hate to forget them (which I did one day last week) but going home from work to get them requires a 50 mile trip–one way. So nekked ears was the look for the day. I had my hair pulled back, in a ponytail so it was obvious.

  10. Marjie says:

    I never take off my rings, so I can’t forget them. And I rarely take off my pearls (the jeweler scolds me for that every time I bring them in to be restrung, and I tell him I’m helping support our little town). I can forget earrings, and I live with it if I do. But if I am traveling, I always put a spare pair in my purse, lest I leave the house without them. Wouldn’t want to be without for days, after all!

  11. Nichole says:

    Lately, I’ve been leaving the house without bothering to put on much jewelry, if any at all… but that is when I’m just running quick errands (like the post office today). I haven’t exactly had much of a “done up” summer…

  12. Kari says:

    I cant function without my pearl earings on. I have 3 pairs and I wear them every day. I do take them off sometimes but I am a freak if I dont have them on – I feel naked. I almost panic. I do wear my hair up alot because its so thick and hot as hell here in the summer time. I cant wear necklaces at all – they make me want to gag – I feel like im choking – yeah im weird like that. My wedding rings are being cleaned right now (3week turn around) and I cant stand being wtihout them. Now you should feel alot better after hearing all my issues?! ;)

  13. Blond Duck says:

    I freak out if I leave a ring or my watch–I’ve turned around to get them!

  14. I take off my ring and earrings each night, so I occaisionally get caught “without”…and yes, I definately do feel weird or naked all day until I can get back home and put them on. Love the shawlette/scarf…and am jealous that your weather alows for scarves and sweaters already.

  15. No matter, Chan… you look fabulous!

  16. Earrings, not so much, but it drives me bonkers when I forget my watch. : )

Leave a Reply

