Early Fall?

DSC00299

Gg around 6 mos.

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday and Champagne Toast day!

Gretchen thanked everyone for her birthday wishes, and shared our family’s “treasure hunt” item over on their blog.   Does your pet have a VERY FAVORITE toy?  Is it one of a kind?  If not, do you have a spare?

So, tonight’s the League‘s Champagne Toast, where we welcome our newest members into the fold.   I have two dresses hanging on my bathroom door, and we’ll just have to see which feels most right this evening.  What I wear isn’t nearly as important as what we’re celebrating.   It’s the kick-off event for fifty some women’s League careers… or at least I hope so.  I hope that each and every one of them will get half as much from their League experience as I continue to get from mine.   I invite you to explore our website’s Who Are We? section and learn more about the organization that really is my passion, because chances are, we’ll (pleasantly I hope) surprise you.

But today’s post is about how we celebrated Gg’s birthday.  No, I didn’t make the cupcakes I mentioned yesterday, because the Knight got a little carried away.  There were peach cider donuts from Chiles Orchard, and then he picked up a half-dozen pumpkin muffins too.  Hem.  More than enough for our little four-pack to celebrate with, through, etc.

DSCN2484

Fur-girls in a fall Atlantic 11-29-09

I’m not a huge fan of peach, but the donuts were cake-style, moist and reminded me a lot of the apple cider donuts that will soon be a local staple.  And while I’m glad I’m not the only person who needs pumpkin year ’round, don’t ciders and pumpkins scream fall to you?  Ironically, it’s supposed to be in the mid-90s tomorrow, and here I am hoping for an early fall. 

I’m thankful for a husband as into our dogs as I am, for local produce and fantastic bakeries and such, but in case you can’t tell, I’m really grateful for the inspiring women already making a difference in our community through their work with the JLC, and for the new women, some of whom I’ll meet for the first time tonight, who chose the JLC as the non-profit where they’ll devote their time. 

Our community is RICH with non-profit opportunities.  We have many of the big names you’re sure to recognize, such as one of the JLC’s community partners, the Boys & Girls Club.  We also have some incredible local agencies, and while we share common goals, we’re also competing for the same volunteers.  It’s an honor to have 50+ women choose the Junior League of Charlottesville from all the rest, and I have great faith in our leadership’s ability to train them and guide them through a meaningful year that will assuredly change lives – both in the community and in our own membership.

Has a volunteer experience changed your life?

12 comments on “Early Fall?

  1. gmariesews says:

    Ah yes – pumpkin and cider scream Fall. I’m so glad the wee one had a fabulous birthday.

    Dog toys – oh yes, Abby has a blue soft squeeky ball that she chased last night – for one run into the kitchen. Yep – one. That was all. We don’t have a duplicate and it’s not replacable. It stays in the house. Beau loves anything. Lucy would only play with something that made noise and only a certain noise. Dudley had a fleece bone that he loved. Lucy killed it – he was mad and then sad.

    Thankfuls – seeing the lovely flowers in the garden at the base of the oak tree. Hanging laundry outside. Driving a convertible and having 5 weeks with the top down. A wonderful vacation and the chance to reconnect with my husband. Building relationships with lovely women thanks to blogs and knowing that even though I’ve never met many of these women, I can lean on them if I need to.

    Charitable organizations? I was very involved with Girl Scouts back in the day.

    g

  2. Nancy says:

    Pumpkin pie is my all-time favorite dessert – year round. Yum!

    Today, I am thankful for allergy medications for without them my life would be miserable. Today’s wish: that the forest fires to the west would be extinguished so that my area would not be enveloped with smoke.

  3. Nichole says:

    O. M. G. PEACH cider donuts?!?! I don’t suppose they’re shipable? They sound DELISH… I love cider donuts… and I love peach… mmm…. and yes, they scream FALL, but we too will be in the – yuck – 90′s tomorrow.
    Have fun tonight! :)

  4. AlisonH says:

    Peach cider. Peach cider doughnuts. Still wrapping my head around that–and dying to try some.

  5. Katherine says:

    I’m not a pumpkin lover at all, but peach cider and apple cider donuts sound really good to me!! Glad Gg’s birthday was everything she deserves. I was just in the pet store because Macy and Max had to stay home today and I promised them I would bring toys when I come home. (Spoiled babies!) I looked for the Kong ball and they were out of everything but the regular old red Kong. I will keep looking for the PANK ball, and get a red one for Macy and Max if I find it.

  6. Marjie says:

    A special treat for Gg’s birthday was made even better by not having to wait for it to cook! I keep a stock of canned pumpkin in case I need it for something. I love pumpkin and apple anything! Looking forward to cider now that you’ve mentioned it…

  7. Sue says:

    I’m starting to get my annual hinger for apple pie and think I’ll make one this afternoon. We’re still stuck in summer with temps in the 90s, but we’re going to get a little hurricane action starting tonight. We’re looking forward to the rain and are hoping for cooler days.

    I was a volunteer at Planned Parenthood in Syracuse. The people there were very supportive to me at a time when I needed them and it was my way of giving back. It was a wonderful experience and made a big difference in my life.

  8. I enjoyed the “message from the President” immensly. :-) I volunteer at our local library and with the Pregnancy Support, both of which are quite rewarding in vastly different ways. However, the most life-changing volunteer situation for me has been going over-seas to act as support for missionaries….awe-inspiring folks with amazing stories and challenges….

  9. Khyra's Mom says:

    Hmmmm -

    You mean the experiences that have me knowing I81 like the back of my hand on alternate Sundays?

    Yes, it surely has!

    Oh the tales of tails I get to tell – but you know all about that!

  10. Amy says:

    I can’t wait for cooler days. I just want to leave the windows open all afternoon! Right now, I’m lucky if I can get away with a few hours in the morning.

    Cooley is a hound for hair ties – the ones with no metal. He’ll play fetch for hours with them and give me his cute little ‘cackle’ of wanting to play. Mavey, on the other hand, is quite happy with anything containing catnip.

    I volunteered for C-CAP a few years back, as well as for one of the day programs that is hosted by the Shenandoah Area For Aging. I enjoyed both, but honestly, working at C-CAP just made me angry most days. Not at the folks looking for help, but at some of the volunteers who would be very nasty to the Hispanic folks behind their backs (and some, sadly, to their faces.) This is why I stick with Warm Up Winchester.

  11. Very much looking forward to Fall. I’m thankful today that my little furry guy is curled up next to me and not in the hospital or worse. Thankful for 24 hour vets. And, finally, thankful for a day of rest after a very crazy weekend.

  12. kathy b says:

    Happy Belated Dear little four paws!!! I was in Yosemite with the bears and deer and coyotes and bats, so I had such limited cyber access. Know that Im sending you great little scratches behind the ears!

    VOlunteering at Spay neuter at the animal shelter has enriched my life with laughter, knowledge and so much joy. I LOVE my THursday mornings where my nursing skills are expanded to the operating arena and animal world. Fostering kittens and mom cats brought us BEATLES and much joy. I have no intention of stopping.

Leave a Reply

