Don’t Panic

photo.JPG

At least they’re relaxed…

…  Or as the conversations begin, Sissy’s fine.

I had other stuff to post about today, but I don’t have time; Sissy’s local vet has left our practice, and she needs her regular six-week eye pressure exam this week.  

Two hours into this new awareness, I’m coping.  It also helps that Wondervet is texting with me.   Thank goodness for technology; a trusted vet becomes a friend and remains involved in her favorite patient’s care from half a country away…

But are you loyal to the person or the practice?  This post probably belongs on the girls’ blog, so maybe Thursday I’ll discuss there why just any ol’ vet with a good personality won’t do for us.

How was your weekend?  Was it a long one?

14 comments on “Don’t Panic

  1. Natalie says:

    I would stay you stay loyal to the person…that makes a huge difference! My co-worker’s dad is our vet and he’s amazing with the dogs and works with us. He owns the practice but when he retires…not sure what we’ll do!

  2. Nichole says:

    We are definitely loyal to our vet, who just happens to have worked her way up to Chief of Staff. However, in an emergency situation we will see another trusted vet at the practice if we have to.
    Hope they replace WonderVet with a just a good, personable vet!

  3. gmariesews says:

    My weekend was lovely. It was long, the wedding was fabulous. I felt pretty (how often had you heard me say that?) all dressed up for the event. We had a great BBQ with the neighbors and Monday I actually picked winners in the last two races coming out ahead for the day.

    Vet – I’m loyal to the practice. They have been fabulous. I used to believe that my dogs needed to be comfortable with any vet in our practice – they started with 2, grew to 4 (by hiring their own techs as they finished and passed vet school) and then decreased by 1. At this point in time, I’m uncomfortable with one of the vets, but they don’t take it personally and we love everyone else. Did that answer your question?

    So glad Sis is okay. g

  4. kathy b says:

    ANy old veterinarian will NOT do for us either. We have been going to our vet’s practice for 29 years now. First her dad took care of us, now she does. My sister is a university professor of Veterinary Med at U. of Minnesota so we are doubly picky. Triply: My brother in law is too

  5. km says:

    We ok with the vet we have now, but that was just for puppy shots and I’m not sure what we’ll do if we need to see the vet regularly. I’m kind of concerned that Holly might snarl and act inappropriately. If we lost our trainer because they just up and quit…well, then I’d be freaking out.

    Our weekend involved more bathroom stuff. I’m hopeful that I’ll be able to shower in the new bathroom for our anniversary. 10.9

  6. I would love to be able to keep the same great vet for a long period of time. The friend who is a vet has had too much upheaval in her life to be able to continue with us, and the great vet at the office we use (he used to own it) is now mostly retired…so we see the new gal…who is ok, but it is NOT the same!

  7. Marjie says:

    That’s a cute picture! I’m always smiling at how well the girls are color matched. I think you have to like the vet and have confidence in their abilities, especially if you have a special problem like Sissy’s. The last vet we had for Thor was an office full of (to use Jeff’s words) “chubby ladies” who all just adored him, and we liked them. They referred us to the place he had surgery for his cysts, which was an emergency care center, and was where we took him at the end. They were very special, too. The vet before the “chubby ladies” was a fat older guy who announced that Thor was fat. He never went back there. You can’t fault a guy’s physique when yours is questionable, after all, especially when done so rudely.

  8. Sue says:

    Oh, I think you know how I feel. My vet and I have a special relationship that I wouldn’t trade. I do get anxious whenever there’s a turnover in staff, but it usually works out and on the few occasions that it hasn’t , Dr B has asked my opinion. Then things worked out.

    Our vet in Maryland was a very competent woman, but she and I had a major personality clash. We stuck with her and did eventually work out our differences, but it’s so nice to have someone you can communicate with and open up to.

    I hope you can find someone caring that you trust. Is the vet that’s leaving going to practice in your area? Maybe Wondervet cam recommend someone.

  9. Blond Duck says:

    Luckily, I haven’t had this problem yet!

  10. We’re totally loyal to our vet and one other in the same practice. So, I understand your anxiety!

  11. Barbara says:

    So pleased wondervet is in touch with you! While you’ll have to find someone to take her place, you won’t feel as alone as you did.

  12. Katherine says:

    Macy’s doctor of 9 years retired at the first of this year. I was terrified at first because he gave her such good care and she is so very healthy, due in part to that care. At it turned out, his son took over the practice and is every bit as good as his Dad–maybe even a little more innovative! He was the one who told us about the tooth spray which has saved us many tooth brushing fights. We feel thankful!!

  13. [...] those of you not following my – Mama’s – blog, on Tuesday, I had quite a shock.  Roughly 15 months ago, our fabulous Wondervet and her family moved back to [...]

  14. I’d have to say the vet/doctor. Each one is going to have a slightly different philosophy on how to treat patients. Sometimes that slight difference is HUGE.

Leave a Reply

