Casual Friday

photo.JPGIt’s been one of those weeks where if I could work from home in my pajamas, I would have today.  But I can’t, so I did the next best thing; I pulled on the floaty, comfy maxi Ruth gave me for my birthday, a tee, comfy sandals, slapped on my trusty Lilly P belt (I own it in a natural and a navy version) and called it done. 

No, my belt isn’t off-kilter.  I’m standing at an odd angle that isn’t evident in the photo…  My belt and my necklace are in perfect alignment “in real life”.  And why is purple so obnoxious in a photo?  It’s actually a reddish purple, not the rather blue-purple that it appears to be on my monitor.  I also swear that very purple IS in the print… you can maybe, kinda’ see it…

I need at least a grey, fall-weight, knit maxi in my closet STAT.   If this maxi trend holds, my trusty jeans might lose their go-to crown.   I am well aware that it isn’t the absolutely most figure-flattering look for me.  I’m a short, top-heavy hourglass, and I know it.  But for casual comfort and dressing ease?  Hello maxi! 

Do you maxi?  Is it an exclusively casual/weekend look?  Do you plan to carry it into fall?

Speaking of weekends, anything exciting on your agenda?

 

This entry was posted in Fashion.

17 comments on “Casual Friday

  1. gmariesews says:

    Ummm seriously? are we being our own worst enemy here? I thought – Wow! She looks tall and thin in that photo! I can kinda see the purple in the print.

    My weekend – dog walking and more dog walking. poker. cooking. jam making. sewing. possibly some shopping.

    g

  2. Susan says:

    You look MAHVALOUS!!!

    I used to have a long flannel broomstick skirt. It really was like working in my jammies!!!!

  3. Nichole says:

    Great comfy, yet still chic outfit! :) I’ve yet to maxi… never thought my 5’2″ frame could pull it off, but I know we’re similar in height and you look fab, so…….. maybe….

  4. Katherine says:

    Great outfit!! I love the maxi skirt on you. Maxi, Maxi, Maxi, that’s my middle name!! If the style is out for winter I will be OUT of style because I will not stop wearing them. For comfort the Maxi is the best!

    For the weekend, I plan to knit and OD on Netflix movies. I’m so steamed that there has been nothing worth watching on TV all summer. Now I’m hooked on movies.

  5. Sue says:

    Welcome to the comfortable world of the maxi. I love them year round. They’re especially nice at holiday parties, make me feel like someone from A Christmas Carol. Funny your purple shirt looks totally different on my two computer screens. One looks blue and the other actually looks purple.

  6. AlisonH says:

    You look great!

    I’m wearing a maxi as I type. Or maybe I’m just short, but, for me with my balance, I need something that will keep me graceful (as if!) when I tumble. Which I tend to sometimes do.

  7. I’ve always tried to maxi, but ended up looking frumpy instead. Maybe it’s that I wasn’t tucking in my shirt and accenting my waist with a belt like you’re doing? Hrm….

  8. Natalie says:

    I want to wear more skirts but my office is SOOOOOO cold! It sucks to be so cold with a skirt on. :) You look great!

  9. km says:

    Maxi should be my middle name. But today is a knee length skirt and a tank because it’s so hot and I’m headed to swim lessons. I do maxi in the winter…with tights and sometimes boots.

    And if you see the photo in flickr then you see the purple in the skirt.

  10. Mary says:

    No maxi for me. I wore them in the 60s-70s. And that leads to one of my clothing rules: if I wore something when it was popular in the 60s, 70s or 80s, I don’t wear it again. Leave it to the younguns, like you. Besides, I have shrunk 1 1/2″ (height only, naturally) in my march to seniorhood, so the proportions just don’t work for me.

    And I suggest, as a short person, you look for a 3/4 length petite coat for fall/winter to wear with maxi outfits. That way you aren’t overwhelmed with too much clothing. Although I will say, that back in early 70s I had a beautiful, fitted suede maxi coat. I gave it to my very slim, petite DIL last year (was I ever that small??)–still in mint condition.

    As my mother used to say, nothing new under sun when it comes to fashion.

  11. Nancy says:

    Your “casual” looks dressy to me. I love finding maxi-length dresses and skirts: I am 5′ 8″ so they tend to hit me mid-calf, which is the length I prefer.

    I’m going to the mountains tomorrow with three friends. It will be my first outing on a four-wheeler – wish me luck.

  12. Kathy says:

    You look really cute! And if it’s so comfortable, that’s even better!

    My weekend will be devoted to watching football. And cleaning house. My mom is coming for a visit and that motivates me.

  13. kathy b says:

    I think you look marvelous. Truly.

    Im a shorty too…it makes it difficult I think.

  14. Marjie says:

    Who gives a hoot what anyone else thinks? You need comfortable, and you have it there, with the added bonus of a longer skirt to keep your legs draft free (and eliminate the need for stockings to hide the pasty white color you probably sport almost as much as I do). I love the colors on you. You’re built like me, and the belt really is what you need to accent the hourglass in your shape. I’ll bet your Knight is loving those curves!

    Weekend? Starting to organize years’ worth of photos. I have a feeling this won’t be pretty, folks.

  15. Barbara S. says:

    I agree with everyone else, you look fantastic!
    My weekend is busy, it is our Outreach Craft Fair/Fall BBQ Kickoff on Sunday. Thus, tomorrow is setting tables and crafts up, making sure everything has the proper tags, checking in more donations, etc. Sunday is of course the big day of it all. We have some pretty donations again this year!

  16. Yeah…What Gmarie said. Grin. I never even thought of purple when I was looking for shirt to go with that skirt. You hit it right on. Saw lots of lovely fall maxis in the online shops earlier today. You already know my weekend plans…:-)

  17. Barbara says:

    That does look cute, Chan. I love the colors. I also know the computer doesn’t always translate color accurately, so I understand exactly what you’re talking about.

Leave a Reply

