Chill in the air?

Okay, so 57 degrees isn’t exactly the brisk, crisp, cool of fall, but it’s a fabulous start.   NOW I’m ready to start thinking about my fall/winter wardrobe.  For the most part, it’s ready to go, but there are a couple of things I’m looking for to keep things fresh.  Before I launch into my fall shopping list though, I will mention that things went really well on Saturday with the woman we’ll now call Local Vet and Sissy’s eye pressure was spot-on.

First up… a pair of colored skinny jeans or ankle pants, and maybe those dot flats too.   I’m going to have to go try ‘em on though, and that always slows me down.  I want them to go with the striped jacket I purchased in round #1 of the Talbots super-sale.   I think I can “fall it up” over my red sheath, my navy sheath, jeans, brown ponte knit pants…  (Why yes, I might have a ponte knit problem.  But I don’t think it’s really a problem.  It suits my figure, my lifestyle… so where’s the problem?)

Then, I want more plaid.  I love plaid.  I blame it on my Scottish heritage, but who doesn’t love a little tartan?  Sweetie Pie Style has my number, and she was inspired by this Emma Stone ensemble, so now I want a cropped plaid jacket of some sort.  Let me know if you find something more like Emma’s in color, but the motorcycle style works for me too.

Those and the black flats I’ve already whined about…  I haven’t pulled the trigger on anything just yet there either, but I’m ready to retire the sandals and move on to flats and boots, so I need to get it together.

What’s on your fall radar?  I need cold-weather fitness attire too, but that’s another post for another day.

14 comments on “Chill in the air?

  1. gmariesews says:

    Yea for the good news about the eye check and that Local Vet is a winner!

    Your Fall shopping list looks great. I haven’t even thought about it. I’ve spent the summer in a bit of a downward spiral and Fall needs to see me doing something about changing my attitude and activity level. Both should feed off each other.

    g

  2. Mary says:

    Happy to hear Local Vet came through and even happier to hear about the good eye check for Sissy.

    I did some shopping a N-Rack yesterday in Annapolis and came away with a few items, including two very lightweight sweaters, one open front swing style in a lovely blue (bought one in black a few weeks ago), and another cowl neck tunic in very lightweight merino (need to wear a camisole under as cowl is verrry low) in an eggplant color. I firmly believe in layers for fall/winter. Also picked up a slightly flowy silk top in a muted black print with an interesting neckline. Each was less than $25. Also got a pair of closed-back B*rn clogs for under $60–in black, of course. So – a good haul.

    Will be purging wardrobe during the next week to make room for the new items because my philosophy is that for every item I buy, I have give away something else.

  3. Nichole says:

    Oh I’m excited about fall weather attire! I need to get my alpaca fingerless mitts completed (finally) as well as a couple new scarves…….. I may need to do a *little* shopping for some new fall tops and maybe some cute flats, if I can find a pair that fits right!

  4. AlisonH says:

    We need to compare Scottish names. Hey cousin!

  5. Katherine says:

    Yes I feel Fall coming too! I ordered Coldwater Creek’s Dream Cardigan in dark cypress yesterday. (What else do you do on a Sunday afternoon?) I love the plaid cropped jacket! The motorcycle jacket is cute too but slightly less practical than the cropped–for me anyway. Like Nichole, I am thinking about building up my collection of fingerless mitts with an elbow-length pair in Lion Brand’s Amazing. It’s so much fun to plan for cooler weather!!

  6. StarSpry says:

    Yay! Glad to hear Sissy’s eye pressure is nice and normal :) I love that stripped jacket! I’m really looking forward to fall…I’m getting tired of this hot weather!

  7. Nancy says:

    Love the plaid jacket!

    Temps are dropping consistently here, too, as are the leaves on my ash trees. Oh yeah, Fall is coming.

  8. Sue says:

    We actually have comfortable temperatures here today, though the 90s will be back later this week.

    When I was a kid I hated plaids, but now I’m quite fond of them. The only new fall purchases will be a couple pairs of jeans and maybe a new sweatshirt. The dogs don’t care if I wear the same things over and over.

  9. Marjie says:

    It was 49 here at 7AM, and only has gotten to 60 now, at 3:20. The temperature dropped 15 degrees in 30 minutes behind a thunderstorm Saturday, and hasn’t recovered. Warm shoes, here we come! (My dearly beloved just made Dan go downstairs and light the furnaces.)

  10. kathy b says:

    OH hooray for local vet and good pressures.

    ON the fall radar is LEATHER> GOing to visit zach in the leather capitol of Mexio in November. Purse, Belt, shoes…..all will be found!

  11. I want some fall dresses and skirts…but so far, none have come to me. I need things that are more casual, less dressy…help?

  12. Glad things with the vet went well!

  13. Natalie says:

    Glad sissy is doing well! I wish it was cooling down here…but it’s HOT…just still hot! It’s at least not melting hot anymore! Thankfully!

  14. cross-stitch says:

    Wonderful website you have here but I was wondering if you
    knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked
    about in this article? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get comments from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

