Never Forget… 11 years later

DSC01065I’ve heard rumors that we are forgetting what happened 11 years ago today.  I must have friends of a different calibre, because in my world, EVERYONE still remembers. 

September 2010 003

Of course, most of you know the Knight is a fire chief, I am a former paid firefighter and we are both life members of our station, where both of our fathers also served as chief.

September 2010 001

343 flags for the members of FDNY 9-11-10

And both of our fathers served in the military as well.  Mine, as a Marine, my father inlaw, in the Navy.  So maybe my perspective is skewed… but I hope not. 

Freedom isn’t free.  Thank those who serve – military, fire, rescue and law enforcement – today and every day.

 

16 comments on “Never Forget… 11 years later

  1. gmariesews says:

    I love those photos of the giant flag flying. And I always thank anyone I see in a uniform. It’s a very tough job. I think Freedom isn’t Free is a hard lesson for many. g

  2. Nancy says:

    It’s remembered here with a parade and memorial service.

    God Bless all those who rush into danger when others are fleeing.

  3. Karen says:

    We shall never forget. I take the opportunity to thank those who serve on a regular basis. Today I want to say Thank You to you, the Knight, and your whole station. Thank you for all you do and continue to do.

    My son, is a rat at Virginia Military Institute and while I miss him something awful, I am so proud of the path he is choosing. God Bless all those in service and God Bless America!

  4. kathy b says:

    We will NEVER forget. I love the 300 plus flags in the lawn……

    God Bless America. God BLess all Police and Fire.

  5. Nichole says:

    Wonderful post… and I don’t know where these rumors are starting, but I don’t know a soul who will ever forget…………

  6. Sue says:

    I don’t know how anyone who saw it unfolding before our eyes could ever forget, not only the events, but the feelings. Seeing it again this morning on TV brought back those feelings of panic, sadness and anger.

  7. Mary says:

    As one who had just flown in from NYC the night before and who was working in DC on that day, 9/11/01 isn’t going to be a day I forget. I grew up overseas as a military brat and currently have two sons who were not only serving on 9/11, but are still in service (one recently returned from deployment). So I have some small idea about the price of freedom.

    My thoughts and prayers go out to all who were impacted in so many different ways that dreadful day.

  8. Marjie says:

    I will never forget, nor will my children. This is important.

  9. Forget? That would be like forgetting to breathe, or forgetting who you are…

  10. gypsyknits says:

    We will never forget. God Bless America!

  11. Katherine says:

    And pray for their safety, which I do everyday!! Firefighter son was a military firefighter at that time. He did search and rescue at Oklahoma City. After 9/11 I was scared everyday that he would be sent to New York and I would have been scared and proud if he had been!!

    There may be those who tend to forget, but I will never forget! I remember exactly where I was when the first reports came on the news. Thank you for sharing the wonderful photos. They touched my heart!

  12. Barbara says:

    I’ll certainly never forget! How can anyone? And everyone I spoke with yesterday talked about their memories.

  13. Natalie says:

    My wall was full of remembrance. I think it will be a LONG time before people forget.

  14. Beautiful post. I don’t know how anyone could forget, and I certainly hope they never do.

Leave a Reply

