Sissy’s Debut

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday, “homecoming” for the JLC and more!   Since today’s the first general membership meeting of our League year, why not feature Sunday’s Yappy Hours on Thorsday?

I blogged about this event last year, but if you’re curious, you’ll just have to search… no time for me to search and link for you.  The short version is, Gretchen Greer went last year and was terrified.  This year was Sissy’s year, and not only did she make new friends, but I was even more impressed with Keswick Vineyards than before.

We were part of their wine tasting event, but as I sat with good friends who were more aware than I was, our host was quickly told that I cannot drink red wines.  Rather than suggesting I might just like to venture inside for the open to the public tasting as I heard last year, this fellow quickly reduced my fee to half price and then still rounded up a third white for me to sample.   We bought a bottle, and I honestly can’t tell you which wine we purchased, because my friend’s husband chose for us.

Of course, it is Thorsday, so here’s a partial group photo.  Let’s just note that Sissy and Stirling got along FABULOUSLY and move along, okay?  There were actually about twice as many people and far more dogs earlier, but we’re still getting the hang of preserving digital memories.  Those of you whom have met me in person know that if anyone is counting on me to remember to pull out the camera, someone is going to be sadly disappointed.

And yes, that’s the Christopher & Banks sequin doggy tee I have on, and I’m not wringing my hands over Sissy’s improper moment; I’m merely cradling my tasty wine.

Thankfuls?  Oh, I could write for HOURS.  I’m incredibly thankful for the opportunity to travel and to spend time with some of the brightest, most talented women in the world.   I remember scoffing when I learned that a lot of big businesses will give their employees educational credit for attending Junior League conferences and training workshops, but several years and almost as many conferences later, I’m a believer.

I’m thankful for intuitive women whose compassion and desire to help outweighs their gift to perceive a need.  Yeah, that could apply to a lot of women in a lot of Leagues, but I’m actually speaking of the phenomenal AJLI staff and the impressive not-staff speakers they assemble for each conference.   Their experience and guidance makes being a League president almost easy.

But most of all, I’m grateful for my local gals.   They inspire me each and every day and their dedication and unexpected offers to help me has me bursting with hope as we move through this pivotal year.  Our league is changing and evolving, and it is truly an honor to be the woman running the meetings.

Heck, I’m not even REALLY doing that.  Because Leagues are all about training volunteers and developing the potential of women, I just have to modify the agendas and scripts from years past to reflect what we’re doing now.   There’s an energetic Meetings & Events committee that REALLY runs the logistics; I just get to worry the snot out of a few of you while I obsess about what to wear to said meeting.

March 2011 032

March 2011

And to end on a lighter note, I’m really thankful Sissy is a dog.  Could you imagine such a carefree, sassy human girl?!

What are you thankful for today?

12 comments on “Sissy’s Debut

  1. Katherine says:

    At first my stomach did a little flip-flop at the thought of Gretchen not getting to attend the Yappy Hour event. Then when I read that she went last year and was uncomfortable I felt better. Still, she gets a “poor baby” from me!!

    I love your glowing reports of JL events. Add to the company off so many bright, intelligent, women the fact that you all contribute to the community is such a significant way, and you are doubly blessed!!

  2. Sue says:

    It sounds like thongs are going well. I had to laugh at the thought of Sissy as a human child. Boy, would you ever have your hands full ! Isn’t it nice to have a sociable dog to attend human events with? I do have a few.
    Sue

  3. AlisonH says:

    I love that your friends looked out for you like that. It looks like you all had a fabulous time!

  4. gmariesews says:

    What a wonderful experience you had at the winery – and fabulous customer service! Thankful for that whenever I get it. Thankful for a blue sky today. A dog who has gotten remarkably clinging and thinks he needs to go to bed with me every night, but is very good when I tell him to go ‘his bed’. A husband who accomodates my desire to do a 5k every month and will occassionally get up early, drive us and entertain the dog while we race. a job – regardless of how I feel about it – I’m happy to have one that pays well and where I’m appreciated.

    Sissy would be a very funny human girl and you would definately have your hands full with a sassy daughter! Because 4-legged sas is more than enough! g

  5. Nichole says:

    Wonderful post! So glad you & Sissy had fun… Sissy apparently quite a lot of fun! ;) Very cool of the vineyard to take special care of your needs, and even cooler to be part of such a wonderful group of women you enjoy spending time with!

  6. Nancy says:

    Nothing like traveling to different areas and visiting with those who share a common interest. Try to remember to pull that camera out now and then because those special moments need to be captured before they are over.

  7. bonaircat says:

    Cheers to Sissy! I am glad you both had fun!!

  8. kathy b says:

    awwww, YOu look great in that group picture sChannon!!

    Im thankful Puddy and babka got adopted finally…..

  9. Marjie says:

    Are you sure Sissy isn’t a canine version of you as a teenager? I can kinda see the sass coming through….

    And as I posted today, “Friends are the cement which holds the world together.” Pretty much says it all.

  10. Anita says:

    Oh I just love that Sissy!!! :)
    You & Sissy both look awesme in the photo!!

  11. Carefree, sassy…sounds like Drama Llama! LOL

Leave a Reply

