Do you keep looking?

I paid MUCH less than the current price!

I know a bunch of you are also online shoppers.   I’ve had good luck lately.  First, I scored the Talbot’s jacket I’d coveted from first sight at a tremendous discount, and stripes are still “in” this fall!

Around the same time, the “Pretty Woman” dots dress I talked myself out of the first time I saw it re-appeared during a big sale on another site.   (I hate it when I can’t link back to an item after it’s sold out…  Just take my word for it.  Looks like THIS dress…) 

Any suggestions on how to style it for fall?  On me, it’s tea-length. 

Bring on the rain!!

Then, just last week, I whined about the red trench that got away from Target.  Even looked for it, and found the black on sale.   When I went back to check out at home, there was my red trench!   I didn’t waffle for long.  Hopefully, the quality will be the same as the one I saw in a store last spring and one more item can be checked off of my wardrobe building list!

Why yes, I probably will wear it to funerals if I need a rain coat.  I’ll add a black umbrella… 

So, do you keep checking back if a website is out of your size, sold out, etc. of an item you really like?  I don’t as a rule, but I do frequently play shopping roulette, and as with Talbot’s, I’m rewarded often enough that I keep taking chances.

And yes, jackets are the addiction of the moment.  I’m still looking for one to wear with my PANK merino pencil skirt…  any suggestions?

How was your weekend?

This entry was posted in Fashion.

11 comments on “Do you keep looking?

  1. Nichole says:

    Depends how very much in love with said item I am. As a general rule, I don’t waste time checking back, but if I *really* must have, then I’ll check back, check ebay, etc.
    As for fall-ifying the dress, how about with a long sleeve tee layered under, along with a scarf, boots and tights? Of course, a good ‘ole cardi on top works as well… and Glamour mag has been running a “wear these items X number of ways” feature for awhile now… often with dresses, one look is to wear them more as as a skirt, after pairing a sweater or tunic over the top…

  2. Katherine says:

    My game of roulette is played with price. Since Amazon has added so much to their clothing offerings, and big discount links to many of the online retailers that I love, I check them first. When I can’t find a decent discount price, however, I will order something I really, really want from the first place I find it.

    For winter I go along with your idea Chan, jackets transform anything! I also love camisoles and/or shirts under standard or little cropped cardigans. Navy with your PANK would be smashing!!

  3. gmariesews says:

    No – I’m not much of an online shopper, so I don’t check back. The variation to that rule is shoes and purses.

    Okay – Fall into Spring for that Pretty Woman dress, a darker belt, same dark colored boots and a cardigan.

    I hope your coat is the same one you saw in the store. g

  4. Amy Darsie says:

    Red to a funeral. *snicker* As long as its just the jacket. But it might also depend on who’s funeral. :-)

    I rarely buy clothes that I see online, because I never have luck.

  5. Nancy says:

    No, I rarely check on the site again if a particular item is sold out: it hadn’t occurred to me until now. Duh!

  6. Sue says:

    Oh oh… you’ve caught my jacket addiction. Sorry about that.

    I learned to shop from my Grandmother and she was a great one for patiently waiting and watching. I do check back, though I’ll also check other places for better deals. It’s my late night hobby.

    Love that jacket by the way.

  7. Marjie says:

    Actually, to make a bold statement, pair that turquoise jacket with the PANK skirt, or with a brown skirt. Everyone will know you’re there.

    I buy clothes for everyone on line. The girls know what fits them from what store, so it makes birthdays and Christmas a breeze. Guys are not as fussy about their clothing fit, probably because they don’t have nearly as many difficult curves to fit. My biggest problem is pants length for Ryan and Jeff. You wouldn’t believe how few places have a 36″ inseam available! (Check that the next time you’re frustrated in finding things for yourself. It will make you feel better.)

  8. kathy b says:

    OH now don’t ask me. I’d say a black jacket with the pink skirt.

  9. Blond Duck says:

    I really like that blue blazer!

  10. Ruth says:

    Love the polka dot dress! Wow…I guess I check back sometimes, but not always. I think it depends on how badly I wanted the item to begin with….

  11. Mr. Puffy says:

    I LOVE your red raincoat!!!! I never buy cloths online – with the exception of my running shoes ~ because I find that sizes are so erratic.

Leave a Reply

