Remembering When

Earworm alert…  Remember When

dscn0518

1997 – Fred, me, Mugsy

Today is one of those super-significant days in my life.  In family history – mine and the inlaws combined – there are a couple of wedding anniversaries, a human death, another birthday later this weekend…  Then in our home specifically, today was Mugsy’s birthday and five years ago on another Friday the 5th, we said good-bye to Fred.

Sorry for the photo of a photo of one of the shots from my brial portraits.   Oh I loved those boys!!

But as the words of the song suggest, the boys wouldn’t want me to be sad.  Look at those happy faces!  I am so very glad for all the time we had, and I’m glad for the fur-girls, but I still miss you every single day.

What’s on your weekend agenda?  Anything to be glad about?

14 comments on “Remembering When

  1. Katherine says:

    Best wishes and happy, happy for the pleasant anniversaries, and thoughts of love going out to you for the sad anniversaries!! I think it is nice when the happy days overlap the sad days and give us a reason for joy within the pain.

    This is a working weekend for me again, but I am happy that it is ALL over for the year after this. I can think about Thanksgiving and Christmas, and the promise of winter.

  2. Natalie says:

    Awe…love the picture!!! Look at those boys! They would want you to be happy!

  3. Nichole says:

    Fabulous photo… love those boys! :) Weekend agenda? racing, racing… and hopefully some birthday celebration somewhere in there. Ah well, at least I’ll be with our racing family!

  4. Marjie says:

    That’s a nice bridal portrait. And I know the boys loved you so, and want you to remember them with joy. I’m pretty sure they invade the fur-girls’ dreams periodically to warn them to keep you happy or else! Hope you have a nice, relaxing weekend, free from the stress of work, JL, etc. Just some walkies, knitting, books, movies or whatever!

  5. Nancy says:

    The photo is so beautiful and unique with smiles all around. Aren’t you grateful to have such an expressive photo?

    Weekend plans here involve cleaning, sewing, knitting, and reading – in that order.

  6. kathy says:

    I love that your very special boys were included in a portrait from a very special time in your life!

  7. km says:

    Tonight was full of remembering here too. I took my 3 to Homecoming at my high school. My dad taught there…so memories of games always included him….

  8. Amy says:

    That’s a fantastic photo!

    Zoe has her first photo shoot today, and then later we have friends coming over for dinner. Tomorrow I’m probably painting for my Mom – her bedroom is dire need of a new color, and her shoulder won’t let her paint on her own without pain. I told her that it was Activity Points so it was all good. :-) And with Monday being a holiday, John is off so we can clean up the yarn and shed.

  9. Sue says:

    Strange how some dates have both happy and sad memories. Rob and I met on January 15, then twelve years later my Mom died on the same date.

    This weekend is turning out better than expected. Samba is eating well and I think is feeling better. Sky isn’t any better yet, but we’re hoping that changes soon.

  10. AlisonH says:

    What a beautiful picture! And wow–that’s a lot for one day.

  11. gmariesews says:

    Sorry for the sad memories. I had a lovely weekend and I’m back home and unpacked already. :) Hope you got some time to relax this weekend. g

  12. goldengracie says:

    I love that you had bridal photos with your pups. It was so great to see you in Chicago!

  13. Blond Duck says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I think it’s adorable your dogs were in your bridal portraits!

  14. Barbara says:

    I understand completely. What a cute photo you have to remind you of how much love there was.

Leave a Reply

