Belabored Argosy

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday and firehouse meetings night…

October 2012 003The girls blogged about this project today too.  The photos are the same, but the story is different.   The Yellow Argosy Baby Blanket began at the very end of December, 2010.  Long-time readers might recall that was just a few days after Sissy’s double-glaucoma diagnosis, after she went blind in her left eye on Christmas Eve.  Pardon the pun, but it was a very dark time in the woods.  Sissy was in pain – because we were unable to manage the glaucoma in the left eye – and I’m not sure why I thought casting on for a baby blanket was a good idea.

Anyway, you can go to the girls’ post to read more about the history of said blanket/project.  Below is the finished object report.

Project:  Yellow Argosy.  

October 2012 004Pattern:  Argosy Baby Blanket.  This is my third Argosy.  The shawl was one of the first shawls/lace projects I did, and I really enjoyed the scarf too.   As I’ve gifted all three Argosy projects to date, I am pondering the wrap for me! 

The pattern is easy enough to memorize and keep track of, but I still made a few mistakes.  Baby E and her mom seem quite pleased with it as-is though, so shhhh…

My only modification was the twice-around, single crochet trim.  I had only intended to go around once, but the Knight announced more PANK was needed, so…

Yarn:  Plymouth Encore, for both the body and the trim.  Lovely yarn.  Great wool blend that makes it easy-care too.

October 2012 001

Needles:  US #7 extra-extra-long circular needle.  Actually, I used my Knitpick Options and sized up and down on cord length as needed.  The blanket is actually knitted from that one lone square, increased on both sides to its widest point, then decreased both sides back to one square. 

I also used a “H” crochet hook for the PANK trim.

October 2012 002Verdict:  I’m proud of it, the recipients love it, and if you can’t tell, there will be more Argosy in my future.

Thankful?  I’m thankful that my handknits find loving homes.  I’m thankful for the friends who stocked up my cupboard with baby socks and baby sweaters, so that I can knit a hat or a blanket or a toy or… just pull something out and gift it with love from all over.

I’m also thankful for friends who know that knitted with dog hair means more love too.

What are you thankful for today?

14 comments on “Belabored Argosy

  1. Nancy says:

    The PANK border is perfect for this darling blanket. I agree that Encore is the best yarn for baby items.

    I’m thankful for my Knit Picks Options: I knit multiple projects with this one set of points and the various cord lengths – all at the same time.

  2. gmariesews says:

    I’m thankful that argosy blanket didn’t suck you love of knitting from you completely. I think it and the circumstances tried. I’m thankful that the recipients love it and will use it. I thankful that hubby comes home tonight – maybe I’ll sleep. I’m thankful that only have 2 things to do this weekend – small things on different days. I’m thankful for an impending dinner party and vacation. And honestly – now that I’m *mostly* over fretting about – I’m thankful for 49 because honestly the alternative isn’t what I’d want. g

  3. km says:

    I LOVE it. I’m just finishing up the border of my Girasole. It’s an early November wedding gift. And there are SO MANY black dog hairs in the cream wool. Oops. I don’t think I can get them out. Holly has sharp? hairs. I once stepped on one and it went into my toe like a splinter. OUCH!

    I LOVE that this blanket will mean as much to the new family as it has to yours.

  4. AlisonH says:

    That afghan is a great delight, and seeing Gretchen with it even more so.

    I get to see my grandson tomorrow!

  5. very pretty! I am thankful for knitting commissions!!!

  6. Katherine says:

    Beautiful baby blanket!! You are so right, dog hair is a must for any knitted object. After seeing the photos of the blanket I believe that one knitted for each of the fur-girls is a must!

  7. kathy says:

    Very nice blanket! All my stuff has pet hair (both dog and cat). I’d much rather have a few stray hairs than not have my beautiful girls.

  8. Marjie says:

    It’s a pretty baby blanket, and the pank trim is just right! I made a baby blanket a couple of weeks back for a friend of Patrick, and I know I took a picture, but I’ll be hanged if I can find it anywhere!!!! I like your blanket models, and I’m sure the baby’s Mommy will be delighted to learn that it has been quality tested before she started using it.

  9. kathy b says:

    THat is a big beautiful blanket….it is much larger than the baby blankets I’ve made. LOVE the pank. Im thankful for the cable man who was so nice to Rozzy as she followed him around the house cat screaming…she’s a bit senile…..

  10. Kristyn says:

    The blanket is beautiful. I love Encore as well.

  11. Sue says:

    Very pretty blanket. The pink border really sets it off. The recipient will love it.

  12. Amy says:

    What a neat baby blanket! I love how it isn’t a ‘typical’ pattern.

  13. Nichole says:

    LOVE it – esp the pank trim!

  14. Ruth says:

    late, obviously…but thankful for a wonderful time away, and for being back home with dogs and Dearest.

Leave a Reply

