Fall Comfort

Yesterday was the pre-cursor to some Indian Summer, but it was a perfect fall day.  It was brisk in the morning, warm in the afternoon, and I walked into The Local with my jacket across my handbag.  We dined in the upstairs kinda’ outdoors area, and it was a fine meal for catching up, diffusing and general girlfriend time.

I started with sparkling (hard) apple cider and their goat cheese salad, and we both had full portions of their truffle mac ‘n cheese, with generous take-home portions.  Oh my.  And since Alison already asked, I’ll go ahead and link to the menu.  I inaccurately told her it was a white cheddar, which I suppose Marmac is, but that’s about like calling Roquefort plain ol’ bleu cheese.

Courtesy of Cracker Barrel

When I got home, I had pumpkin custard.  Even more than 24 hours after it left Cracker Barrel, it was still outstanding.  The gingersnap was still chewy, not the soggy mess I’d feared.  

What are your favorite fall comfort foods?  I’m a mac ‘n cheese girl from way back, but if you haven’t had truffles and mac ‘n cheese, you must.  It elevates a childhood classic to foodie bliss.

maggie3

From her breeder 10-08

It’s a BIG week in the woods.  Yesterday was the birthday of a childhood friend and of gMarie, and today is the fourth anniversary of the day Gretchen Greer came to live with us.   Happy Gotcha Day, wee one!   You still have us all wrapped around your littlest toenail.

 

14 comments on “Fall Comfort

  1. Nancy says:

    My all-time favorite fall comfort food is baked rice pudding with raisins. It is wonderful warm and cold. I try to make it at least once a year.

    I love the “Happy Gotcha Day” idea – very clever. Happy Birthday to you friend and to gMarie.

  2. Nichole says:

    Happy Gotcha Day!
    Truffle mac ‘n cheese? Sounds delish! Mac ‘n cheese is one of my fave, go-to comfort foods… which strangely enough, was NOT as a child. I recall coming home to the stinkiest stank that was always Mom cooking mac ‘n cheese for my Dad – neither she or I would eat it. As I’ve grown, I’ve come to love it however! Soups and stews also top the list… a couple weeks ago I made a huge pot of chicken noodle soup and a crock pot of chili – both delish!

  3. Kari says:

    Sweet little Gretchen happy day to you!!!!!

    An ofcourse a HUGE happy birthday to Gmarie!

    Comfort food…. I would say mashed potatos with chicken fried steak and fried okra are my favorites for the winter/fall…which we are still sweating here in Texas so I havent had mine just yet!

    The mac n cheese sounds delish!

  4. Amy says:

    When it comes to Autumn comfort foods, I love Chicken and Dumplings. But what I’m really craving is my Grandma’s Veggie soup … to which I will never have again. We’ve tried to duplicate it, but it never comes out the same.

  5. Katherine says:

    YUM!! My cooler weather comfort is twice baked potatoes with ALL the fixin’s. I also love veggie soup simmering on the stove all day and the aroma it generates–especially with lots of garlic and herbs!!

    Happy Gotcha Day little Gretchen! I know how JRT’s love to have a fuss made over them so pass around a few extra hugs and kisses from me and Macy too!! Love ya girl!!!

  6. km says:

    Happy Gotcha Day! Your wee one shares this day…it’s Holly’s 1st Birthday today!

    We’ve had some cooler weather…but it’s warm here every October. It was 103 the day I got married. I don’t know why our fellow So Cal. residents don’t remember this from year to year. Why get angry with the weatherman…it’s been like this forever. In studying CA history with my 4th grader last year we learned that the explorers didn’t understand this HOT fall. Hmm…it seems most still don’t.

  7. AlisonH says:

    Happy Gotcha Day!

    Homemade apple butter. Pumpkin ice cream. Sausage crumbles cooked with tart peeled chopped apple, with a little grade b dark maple syrup poured over it after you’ve patted out all the grease you can with paper towels. A simple, very old, very New England dish I learned when we lived in New Hampshire.

  8. Aww…Happy Gotcha Day! Comfort food as of late has been anything cold and mild on my stomach. I’ve been sick with this head cold mess for over a week, although it’s finally getting better. Anything hot or warm just isn’t appetizing right now. : /

  9. Sue says:

    Rob is easy to feed. He would happily live on pizza, mac and cheese and meatloaf. I like soups and stews when the weather turns cool.

  10. gMarie says:

    I can’t believe it’s been 4 years since Wee One came to you. She’s growing up nicely. I had a lovely day and so far our trip is uneventful. Typing on my phone bites though. g

  11. Marjie says:

    The baby picture is just adorable, of course. I was pretty sure G;’s birthday was today, the day before mine, but I could be confused. Favorite fall foods? Pumpkin pie and nut breads. The girls made Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies last weekend when they were here, but I wasn’t a huge fan. Of course, I’m not a huge fan of chocolate chip cookies, so there you are.

  12. Susan says:

    Happy Gotcha Day, Baby Girl!!

    Aunt Sus

  13. kathy b says:

    Happy Gotcha day! my childhood favorite is gross;
    peanut butter and jelly with fritos in the sandwich too.
    (you asked!)
    Things I loved from then that I cannot eat anymore:
    Jiffy Pop popcorn
    raisenettes
    charleston chews
    and black cows

  14. That pup could melt a trolls heart…Happy Gotcha Day to you all. No kidding Mac and Cheese is comfort food…what was the first thing I made for myself after getting home from two weeks of cruise food? Yup….Gluten-free mac n cheese. It was perfect the first day, but sadly, the left-overs just don’t have the cheesy goodness….sigh.

Leave a Reply

