Women in Politics

June 2010 007

Yankee Doggle Diva 2010

If you’re in the USA, I hope you’re voting or have already.  I know some feel your votes don’t count (hello, west coast friends), but my personal philosophy is I don’t care who you vote for, but if you don’t exercise your duty to vote, I won’t discuss politics with you.  If your opinions aren’t important enough for you to bother to vote, then I don’t need to hear them.

I love seeing women in politics.  Women’s leadership styles tend to be more collaborative than those of men.   I’ve linked to Tough Cookies repeatedly, but there are some great statistics in there about why having women in leadership – public, private, non-profit, whatever – benefits society as a whole.  

So be a good role model and a good citizen and go vote.   If you have children, consider taking them to vote with you, and share your voting logic with them.  Heck, this year, Uncle’s patient, calm reasoning behind his selections changed my mind on one candidate (a couple of weeks ago), while the Knight’s position on question #2 swayed me when I truly didn’t care one way or another and was (honestly) considering just shutting my eyes and pressing either button…

We’re all winners with high voter turnout.  Please vote!

This entry was posted in Sissy.

17 comments on “Women in Politics

  1. kathy says:

    I loved to go vote with my parents when I was a kid! They had a machine set up to show people how to vote. I always did that and voted for Martha Washington for First Lady. (The ballot was full of stuff like that, not the actual candidates and propositions.)

  2. gmariesews says:

    I voted and let the dog and the (non-voting, because he can’t) hubby sway my vote on one issue I was on the fence about. I wish they would do away with the negative ads, it really doesn’t sway me against your opponent, but rather against you for making it.

    And – wanna know what really irks me? Washington is 98% mail in only. Seriously, they have to have minimal polls for homeless, however, no I Voted stickers – I feel cheated :\

    g

  3. Nichole says:

    I voted this morning… there were quite a few folks there with young children in tow.

  4. AlisonH says:

    The New York Times has a chart with the probability of one single voter in this this this or these other states changing the election. Amazing power of the individual voter shown there.

  5. km says:

    My vote might not count for the national election…but my BFF is running for our city council. I’m ready to head out the door with the kiddos in tow to wave signs on the biggest intersection in downtown (our small town). :0) YEAH! I really hope to celebrate with her tonight at a local diner/bar where they’re having a party. That will all depend on the bedtime of my birthday boy. Today I have an 11 year old!!!

  6. Abby says:

    I always took at least one of my kids (or all four!) into the voting booth with me and now, as adults, they are all voters, just not exactly the way I’d like them to be!

  7. Nancy says:

    I cast my ballot about an hour ago. The election judges were efficient and knowledgeable and turn out appears to be heavy.

  8. Mary says:

    Voted. All my kids went with me to vote when they were young…sometimes we were a ‘crowd’ behind our curtain (no curtain where I vote now).

    I worked at my state legislature four years, so I know a thing or two about politics. Eye opening experience and not always in a good way, but then after 20+ years of working with refugees forced to flee their homeland due to persecution, I am not one to take the privilege of voting for granted.

  9. Marjie says:

    We just voted! It was a parade! Dan & Cass plus the 2 of us voted, and the little boys supervised. Our tiny little town is a very friendly place to vote; they even had ladies with trays of cookies and urns of coffee in the next room for everyone. I’m proud that Mark even remembered voting with me when he was in 4th grade. He studied my ballot carefully after I’d filled it out, and asked me if I thought the Libertarian or Greeny would have been good.

    Tonight, we’ll start watching the results around 9 or 10. No point to getting exorcised before then, right?

  10. Ruth says:

    All done voting for this cycle. Wishing the phone calls urging me to vote would cease already!

  11. Sue says:

    I went to vote with my Mom from the time I was born. It was just what you did.

    I love your statement that if your opinions aren’t important enough to vote, they aren’t important enough to discuss. I think I’ll adopt that.

  12. kathy b says:

    So happy to be in the US of A again today. Of course we voted!!!!
    We tried to early vote twice before we went to mexico and the waits were over an hour long. so we voted today at 11 with no wait.

  13. kathy b says:

    Saw a T shirt on a woman on the plane: Praise the Lard, with a pig on it!!

  14. Katherine says:

    One of our grandsons voted for the first time today and we are so proud of him!! I hounded all our children all day with texts saying, “Have you voted yet?” I kept sending them until they answered “YES!!!” Now I can sleep. LOL

  15. Kari says:

    gRRRRR I WROTE A LONG COMMENT, and then something went wrong and it errored out.
    I hate all the political talk, I just wish each person would vote and shut it! I keep my political views very personal. I just want more and more people to vote every year and ill be happy!

Leave a Reply

