Dissing in the Dark

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful Thursday, Sustainer Luncheon and so much more!  I’m on my way out to said luncheon (sustainers are the life members of the Junior League), but I had to take a second to share the girls’ rant about the return to Standard Time and share my own. 

Because it is dark before 6pm now – or at least, too dark to walk along a wooded country road – the girls are getting shorter walks, and Tuesday, there wasn’t really a walk at all.  I felt badly, so we walked up the drive and along our property line… until Sissy scared the daylights out of me too many times.

photo.JPG

Daylight, nose up, aware…

For whatever reason, in the dark, the girl puts her nose to the ground and her ears shut and she forgets basic commands.  Both dogs know that when they are ordered “out of the road” they go QUICKLY and do not move until I release them.  Wrong.  Sissy “forgot” and really scared me twice, so there ended our walk, and my notions of working in short walks in the dark with all of us in reflective gear, with a flashlight clipped to Gg’s leash to add even more visual awareness…

Anyone else have a similar experience?

Thankfuls…  I’m thankful for a job where I can slip out for a few hours to attend to my duties as the head of a local non-profit.  I’m thankful for the 80 years of women who came before those of us currently in the JLC, especially for those still around, still “sustaining” those of us who are currently Active members.  I’m also thankful that I don’t have a fear of public speaking, but just the same, I think I’ll cut this short and collect my thoughts before I head across town…

10 comments on “Dissing in the Dark

  1. gmariesews says:

    I think in the dark the dogs think you can’t see them so they can do whatever they please. Sissy will learn or she won’t get walks. I’m sorry she scared you however, that’s no good.

    Thankfuls: the sun is shining, I can afford to put gas in my car. g

  2. km says:

    Holly is scared of the dark. Sure she’ll go out in the backyard and do her business or run around like a crazy lady (why does she do that every night at 9pm?!?). But, she won’t go for a walk with me in the dark. She’ll sit and not leave our driveway. She will however take a walk with M at night. There’s all her protectiveness of mamma displayed and yet she trusts M’s alpha.

  3. Nichole says:

    I think their doggy instincts just go up in the dark and yes, they do forget to “hear” or obey. With our dogs, I think it’s part of going into “protect my human” mode…

  4. Katherine says:

    I’ve thought for some time that Macy has selective hearing, both in the dark and light. We have recently found that she is getting hard of hearing! If we shout commands to her she will obey instantly. I guess it happens to all of us as we get older. LOL!!

    I’m thankful that for all my ravings about retirement I have held off and continue to work. A day at work certainly makes me more tired than it did 10 years ago, but it keeps my mind sharp and fills the days with satisfying accomplishments (and a few patience-trying problems).

  5. kathy b says:

    ugh oh. Sissy …what were you thinking or smelling???

    It is so dark here by 430 now! This means a big roaring fire either outside or in tonight.
    Probably inside and I’ll knit by the hearth. Im thankful for that.

  6. AlisonH says:

    Glad you all made it up home safely!

  7. AlisonH says:

    *made it home*–blame the flu there.

  8. kathy says:

    Maybe the ground smells even more interesting in the dark?

    We are using a different pet sitter for one day during Thanksgiving week due to logistics. I was filling out the forms that want to know everything. Under favorite playtime activites and toys, I said Lucy’s favorite activity is retrieving tennis balls. I also listed swimming, running, and sniffing the ground. I could have also included rolling where things like frogs have died, but I didn’t want to scare off the sitter.

  9. Blond Duck says:

    My dogs just own me!

  10. Marjie says:

    It’s dark here before 5. By Christmas, it will be dark at 4:20. It really depresses me.

Leave a Reply

