Giving Thanks

Happy Thanksgiving, Thorsday, and thankful Thursday!  The girls woke up just long enough to mention a few of their blessings, and I’m delighted to be composing this post with Gg stretched out on my legs and Sissy pressed up against me while I watch the Macy’s Day Parade.

I had thought I’d write a long, pensive, thankful post, but I think instead, I’ll set about frogging two long rows on an infinity scarf (note to self: when you think, “I’m really too tired to be knitting” put down the knitting!), right after I get another cup of coffee.

DSCN2431

Chief Knight and a furry friend at the firehouse

I wish you some peaceful moments today though to ponder the blessings in your life, but please also remember those who do not have the day off to spend with their families.  Remember the firefighters, medics, doctors, nurses, dispatchers, police, cab drivers, food service personnel, etc., and most especially, our military folks on active duty.  Also pause to think about those unable to go home for the holidays because their homes were damaged or destroyed by Hurricane Sandy or some other force of nature this year.   Bravo to Macy’s for promoting the Red Cross throughout the parade!

Full disclosure…  I am affiliated with the Red Cross.  Not only to I always have a JLC pin in my purse, I have my special Red Cross pin in my notebook.

How do you give thanks?

4 comments on “Giving Thanks

  1. gmariesews says:

    Lovely post. I give thanks mostly silently in mind. I do however make it a priority to thank police officers, fire fighters and our military when ever I see them in public. Regardless of how we feel about police – without them the world would be a horrible place.

    Today I’m thankful that Abby is still able to knock the gate over and wake me up screaming at the world. I’m thankful that Beau is a scardy dog and goes to sit outside and wait. I’m thankful that this morning it’s not raining – after receiving 6+” of rain in the past week. I’m thankful that I still enjoy my husband’s company and want to spend time with him. I’m thankful for my friends. I’m thankful for the people who support my creativity – be it sewing, knitting or trying to cook. I’m thankful that we are all healthy.

    g

  2. Nancy says:

    I agree with g that this is a lovely post. Too often we take those who provide valuable service to our communities. Today is a perfect time to say a prayer on their behalf.

    I’m at my sister’s house – knitting, chatting, and soon eating the feast that she has prepared.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family and your firehouse family, too.

  3. Blond Duck says:

    I hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

  4. kathy b says:

    Awwww Thanks for the thoughts….
    The good thing is FIREmAN is tired today ~! This means i can knit away the day

Leave a comment