Chewy Thorsday

Happy Thorsday, little friday, Thankful Thursday, League-wide meeting #2 of year and happy birthday to several friends too.  Today’s post is a little different, but I’m grateful for companies that appreciate the role of a dog-ma and carry Sissy-friendly products.
While several of our doggy bloggy pals are already familiar with Chewy.com, we had never tried it because of Sissy’s food allergies and sensitivities.  Earlier this month, they contacted ME, and offered me a generous discount to review their company.   If you’re still unfamiliar with Chewy.com, visit the fur-girls blog for a chance to win $25 off your first order.

I didn’t have time to rush right over and order the moment I got the special code, but that Sunday…  I did.  A series of surprises followed.

  1. I was NOT limited to toys and a few known-trusted brand-name treats.  In fact, I was able to search for products without grains, without chicken, etc.  I will warn you; I found ONE product in the chicken-free category that did have chicken meal or fat (can’t recall) in it.  For some pets, that might not matter, and by no means do I fault Chewy.com.  That’s why we read labels, even on products that were Sissy-safe the last time we bought them.  The pet food industry is not governed as tightly as the human food industry!
  2. They had the brand (Pure Vita) of kibble the girls had fallen in love with when a fairy dogma sent them a sample pack from out west.  Score, and a big part of our “try it for free” budget was knocked in the head.
  3. The treats that were on sale weren’t excluded from our coupon, so we were actually able to try a 15 lb. bag of kibble and 3 bags of treats.
  4. The order shipped almost immediately and was on the front porch in the Woods on Tuesday.  Wow.
DSC03249

Our haul

Some Chewy facts:

If you do decide to give Chewy a try, please consider using my referral code CHAN9251.  A $10 donation will be made to Best Friends Animal Society if you do.

Thanks Mr. Chewy for inviting us to be a part of your blogger program and giving us the chance to share the bounty with our friends.  Don’t forget to check out the give-away on the fur-girls’ blog.

10 comments on “Chewy Thorsday

  1. gmariesews says:

    I’m so glad you found something Sissy approved and already loved. They do have a very quick turn around and the donation programs are wonderful. I’ve bought from them before, so won’t be throwing my hat in the coupon ring. g

  2. Nichole says:

    Glad to see you’re finally on board with Chewy! :) They really are fantastic and carry such a wide variety of food & treats. Looks like you got some great goodies!

  3. Sue says:

    We got a few deliveries from Mr Chewy but then he raised his prices significantly and we can buy our food from our very own vet for a better price. We sure did like getting those boxes of treats delivered to the house.

  4. kathy b says:

    sigh, if only kitties chewed bones…I actually miss watching HUCKY enjoy a good bone

  5. Blond Duck says:

    Did I tell you about all the crap I had to go through finding the Babies new food when their food was recalled? I wish I’d seen chewy.com

  6. Katherine says:

    It is so wonderful to find something that agrees with our fur-babies!! When you said toys I had to pop over and do a little Christmas shopping. I was delighted! Both Macy and Max love, love, love unstuffies!! It saves them the trouble of unstuffing the toy themselves so they can get right to the joy of playing.

  7. Ruth says:

    Yay! A source for Pure-Vita for the grrls is good news…I might like home delivery, if the shipping isn’t too high…

  8. Walden121 says:

    I should look on there for some grain free stuff for Wookie!

  9. Barbara says:

    As you know, no dogs at my house anymore. But I sure know about cat allergy problems. Tracy has discovered a new cat food that seems to have worked.

  10. Kari says:

    Just stopping by to spread my love :)

Leave a Reply

