Cozy Mystery Week

DSCN0922

My favorite tea cosy

It’s Cozy Mystery Week, and y’all know I’ve fallen hard for cozies.  (Not to be confused with cosies, which are high on my list too.)  I’ve been reading a lot of cozies since gMarie introduced me to them a few years back.  Basically blogless Susan is a great sharer and keeps me with a pile of cozies to read at all times.  Thanks ladies, for being the best kind of friends, for sharing your books with me!

My favorite cozy series include the Tea Shop series, the Melanie Travis series that started my fascination with the pleasant little genre, and the wine mysteries set right here in Virginia.  If you look at my book reviews, you’ll find plenty of other cozies too.

At the moment, I’m reading the Annie’s Attic series.  The books are written by different authors, but the same main characters are present as the protagonist settles her grandmother’s estate and finds mystery after mystery… in the attic of course!

There’s not a lot of reading time right now, but this has been a good reading year for me just the same.  I’ve eclipsed my goal of reading 52 books, and next year, I’m going for 104.  It’s a stretch, but I’ve decided to count young reader books too, and I have a stack of those to kick things off in the New Year.

Do you like cozies?  If so, what are your favorites?

Do you read during the holidays?  Do you have regular holiday reads, to go with favorite Christmas music or cookies or…  ??

 

13 comments on “Cozy Mystery Week

  1. gmariesews says:

    Yes I do read cozies. They are charming and quick. I love Melanie Travis, Bennie Harper (http://www.earlenefowler.com/BenniMysteryTour.htm), The Tea Shop is wonderful and I would be there and make friends with all of them. In fact, I think I’d open a yarn shop just down the road and have knitting in the tea shop. I haven’t read “your” wine series yet, but hope to. I quite enjoyed the all to short books with the bloodhound, I would call them cozies.

    I don’t have favorite books to read during the holidays. Although I do have a collection of The Night Before Christmas books and I do try to pick books with a holiday theme. Happy Tuesday!! g

  2. Nancy says:

    My reading has slowed to a crawl. I read less than 10 books this year. My nightstand is piled with books and my Kindle is packed, but I just haven’t read that much. It’s time to settle in with a good book.

  3. Katherine says:

    I loved The Lady In The Attic! It is one of my favorite cozies. As for tea cozies–I was digging for one yesterday. I decided to drink tea all day but I couldn’t find a single cozy to keep my pot warm. I don’t know where I put them. That’s the problem with cleaning and reorganizing. And maybe a good reason not to do it!

  4. Kari says:

    I read blogs but thats about it. I should be reading some baby books but ya know. im not really a tea gal, ive tried but I sure love my coffee :)

  5. km says:

    I read a ton. Just not adult books. I just never thought of counting my “young readers”. Right now I’m starting the American Girl books with R. This is only a 2nd or 3rd grade reading level…but oh so sweet. It’s written from the dog’s perspective. I LOVED it. And there’s a sweet giggle at the end. If you can add a book to your list, add this one. http://www.amazon.com/The-BACKWARD-BIRD-DOG-PAPERBACK/dp/0671568523/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354639919&sr=8-1&keywords=the+backwards+bird+dog

  6. Susan says:

    I love reading in general, but especially cozies. Chan, the next book box is filling!!!! Don’t know that I have a favorite cozy series. I love most all of them. I don’t think there has ever been a cozy that went to the did not finish pile.

  7. kathy says:

    I read constantly, holidays or not. I finished the latest John Grisham and before that, The Twelve by Justin Cronin (2nd book in a vampire trilogy). Now I’m reading Best Food Writing 2012. I like to read about food almost as much as I like to eat it.

  8. AlisonH says:

    It’s crazy Christmas knitting season…

  9. Marjie says:

    I just finished reading two Maggie Sullivan mysteries. They were set in the 1930s, and were pretty entertaining. They really de-stressed me during Thanksgiving week (when I had to go hide periodically to keep my sanity). I do enjoy reading. I see from Susan’s response that she’s saving up another pile of them for you, so you have some good reading times coming up!

  10. kathy b says:

    I dont own/possess a tea cozy but I think they are cute.
    Im too busy knitting to read….but I read blogs!!!

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I read always! I just discovered cozies.

  12. I love cozies….LIke you, the Tea Shop Mysteries are favs, and I have also enjoyed some Scrapbooking mysteries, Knitting mysteries by various authors, and and a few Bibliophile mysteries, Coffee Shops…oh, I’ve hit nearly every area of this genre. And yes, I DO like your cosy too. It looks oddly familiar…:-)

  13. Barbara says:

    Oh, I’m reading, but really light reading. I don’t seem to be able to concentrate on much right now. (I think tea cosies are adorable!)

Leave a Reply

