Dressing the part?

Do you have holiday attire?  Do you wear more red, green, or sparkly stuff in December? 

I do.  I have a half-dozen or so long-sleeved tees with snowflakes, red birds, etc. on them.   Red shoes, sequined shoes…  And black velvet says Christmas, no? 

24075035_0916Plaid?  I am really feeling the plaid this winter in general, but sadly, I haven’t found anything new and plaid to add to my closet.  Boo!   I like this Talbot’s shirt, but I have a feeling that in person, it would make me crazy in a short order.   Wrapped shirts and dresses are supposedly universally flattering, but I spend a lot of time worrying about proper fit/coverage…  Plus, while this blouse sports the fur-girls’ signature colors…  I just don’t think I’d love it more than one wear.

If you’re local, I hope you’ll consider stopping by Mistletoe Market on Sunday, in the Boar’s Head Pavilion.  I’m hoping to get very close to finishing my holiday shopping there… and then head to the JLC’s holiday tea!

(logo property of the JLC)

(logo property of the JLC)

Do you  have any fun weekend plans?

 

 

12 comments on “Dressing the part?

  1. gmariesews says:

    Not this weekend I don’t. Decorate the house, clean, sew, host poker, dinner at TMO’s, hopefully getting some long overdue busy work done. tomorrow is ASG and I haven’t been since August – maybe I should show my face, eh?

    g

  2. Katherine says:

    I like the plaid shirt but think it would be much more festive in brighter colors. I guess I’m just a red and green holiday kind of girl. As for fit, as I’ve aged parts of me have slipped south slightly and, wonder of wonders, things (neck-wise) seem to fit better. There are advantages to growing older. Ha ha!!

  3. Marjie says:

    Black velvet and sparkly both say Christmas! I am taking Ryan out for some intense driving in town, a few on/off highway practices, then over to the road test course. He goes for his license test the Friday after Christmas, and, man, is that kid excited! Of course, there’s still a lot of shopping still to be done. It never ends, does it? Have fun this weekend.

  4. Sue says:

    In another lifetime I had a huge wardrobe and dressed really well. I had sparkly stuff for the holidays and I loved to dress up. Now I still have a couple holiday things, but dressing up is a chore and dog hair and drool don’t mix well with sparkly things.

    I need to get in gear this weekend and get things wrapped and the baking started. I hope there are no more dog emergencies to delay things.

  5. kathy b says:

    OH so soon I’ll be answering that question with a YES!! i finish weekend on Jan5th! !
    more on that later.
    I have a new velvet green lands end top. With jeans of course….really cute.
    I have a new casual light grey top with sliver lines in it. Simple casual.
    Casual is my middle name
    NExt year: dress better

  6. Mr. Puffy says:

    I LOVE that top!!! I wish I had more holiday wear and if I did it would certainly be velvet. Really that’s one reason I knit as many shawls as I do because they spiff up my rather low key wardrobe :)

    Fun plan? Not too much going on this weekend ~ but I think we will go out for a nice holiday coffee/drink tomorrow ~ including Simcha! Hope you have a wonderful weekend Chan ~

  7. Nancy says:

    I like plaid, but it doesn’t look good on me, so I avoid it.

    Weekend plans: hopefully some sewing and knitting.

  8. Karen says:

    You have sequined shoes? Oh please show me!!

  9. AlisonH says:

    Picking up Michelle from the airport from Japan! We’ll all finally be home!

  10. kathy says:

    I don’t have any holiday attire but maybe I should get some. Something red would be nice!

    I do have red shoes (penny loafers from Cole Haan). I don’t think of them as holiday wear though.

    Weekend: knit something I’m trying to finish because it’s supposed to be a Christmas gift.

  11. I finally bought a winter-themed shirt this year! I’ve wanted one forever, but fit continues to be problem with so many, cost with others….Green button down with snowmen and musical notes, and…something. Plans…Cantus performance at the Mondavi Center tonight (http://www.mondaviarts.org/events/event.cfm?event_id=1158&season=2012) and Cookie Exchange party tomorrow evening, after the baptism…whew…too much of a good thing?

  12. Amy D says:

    That top is fantastic!

    We visited Colvin Run Mill yesterday to say hello to our 49th VA family, and today we’re going to see Santa and get out tree. I don’t care that its raining … I want my Christmas tree! :-)

Leave a Reply

