1313

I love number repetitions…  11-12-13 is the other neato date this year, or am I missing some?

Happy Thorsday, little friday, Thankful Thursday and the 9th Day of Christmas.   Honestly, I’m rather over Christmas at this point.  We dropped off the last gifts last night, and I don’t know of any gifts lurking out there for me, unless you count the dress I just scored at the Lilly P sale.  

photo.JPGGretchen is sporting her newest, current favorite coat over on the girls’ blog.  But that wasn’t her only clothing gift; MJ gave her a sweet PANK “sherpa” jacket.   Sis got clothes too, but her coat from MJ was too small and while she tolerated the “cropped” sweater from the Knight long enough for me to assure it fits, the girl has a very utilitarian take on clothing, and if she isn’t VERY COLD, she doesn’t want it!

The other basset fans have already figured out why Sissy’s new sweater is cropped.  Bassets are hard to fit anyway, and when you have a very lean basset, it is next to impossible.  However, the Knight looked over a certain sweater at the store and correctly predicted that the ribbed sweater would stretch to fit Sis just the way she’ll tolerate it… not too snug but not draggy loose, and SHORT.

DSCN2503

12-2009

Longer-term readers – or big Sissy fans – might recall that the DIVA is actually fond of cowls, so bravo to the Knight for picking out something warm(er than nothing) that his girl will actually wear!  If it ever gets cold enough for her to want a sweater, I’ll definitely take a photo for you.  (It’s purple and white, of course…)

I also need a cute cape pattern.  Sue was the first to suggest that Sissy DIVA needs a cape and after a walk last night, Sue is – as always – right.  Sissy is such a strong but benevolent alpha.   Gg has been in a mood lately (terrier experts know this is no cause for concern, but merely Gg finally settling into her normal, moody, demanding, adult JRT personality), and yet again announced yesterday that she wasn’t interested in exercising (walking) with us.  There’s always a “good” reason (read: a reason I can figure out), and yesterday, it was because Dadaw was eating the really good German gummy bears when we left.

(Gg has a sweet tooth.  Yes, I know sugar is bad for dogs, and we do limit her sweet treats, but that doesn’t mean the brat won’t sit and glare at her Dadaw while he fails to share.)

Anyway, when we returned the piglet – er, Gg – to the house, I told Sis we’d walk wherever she wanted.   People who doubt that dogs understand English will guffaw when I note that at the end of our drive, Sissy looked both ways, made eye contact with me, and when I said, “Yes Sis, either way,” the girl trotted right and crossed the road.  We don’t turn right when Gg is with us because there are too many dogs on that part of our road, but Sis is very reliable when she isn’t guarding Gg.

photo.JPGThe cape-earning moment came on our return home.  We passed – on the opposite side of the street – a fenced yard where one of the largest dogs on our road holds court and rules with iron teeth over his pack.  He took the large terrier mix (but smaller than Sissy) to task as we were passing, and Sis began making her protective posture, not just to guard me, but I could tell that if I said the word, my one-eyed DIVA was going to go tell that big bully a thing or two…

I assured her that the big dog wasn’t REALLY hurting the other dog, and anyway, it wasn’t our fight, but despite the reassuring I was doing, I was the one learning; Sissy is a super hero, spreading peace, love, joy and justice.  She just needs a cape to go with her tiara(s).

Clearly, I’m thankful for the Knight who is as into these dogs as I am, but I’m truly in awe of Sissy.   We are so blessed to have her and the sweet, sassy Gretchen Greer in our lives!

What are you thankful for today?

14 comments on “1313

  1. km says:

    Of course the dogs understand English. There are so many words Holly knows. We just have problems with the words that sound similar to the ones she knows. Like yesterday I asked if she had a good time at the school (M had taken her there with the kids and bikes to ride around in the back) and she thought I said SQUIRREL! I love that she knows, “Holly, I spilled something.” And she’ll come to lick the floor.

  2. Karen says:

    Well, for my hubby who gives me just about everything I could ask for (and maybe more). Seems we are making a trip to Keezeltown Saturday to “look at” (right, who am I trying to kid) this big black Lab puppy. Also thankful for my extra special pups at home who make everyday so special in their own way. Hope Pickett & Lucy like the addition as I bet anything he comes home with us.

  3. AlisonH says:

    No bullying allowed. Good dog!

  4. gmariesews says:

    Oh I didn’t do thankfuls at all on my post. What a lovely story and I know dogs understand English – you should see Beau when tells him we’ll walk at halftime. Clearly he understands.

    Glad she was able to spread peace and love in the neighborhood. Nice that you have a big dog that rules his home and keeps the kids from being horrible.

    It’s always nice when one of the dogs won’t walk, isn’t it? g

  5. Marjie says:

    You missed 3-2-13 and 3-1-13 and 3-13-13. I’m a number nut, and see the patterns all the time. I hope Sissy gets to wear her new sweater soon!

  6. Nancy says:

    What a sweet post! I loved hearing more about Sissy’s personality, and yes, yours, too, Gretchen.

  7. kathy b says:

    Okay Gretchen’s quilted coat is the
    COOLEst pup coat I’ve ever seen. EVAH!!!!!

    IM thankful on THORSDAY that …you know…this is MY LAST NIGHT SHIFT ON SATURDAY…perhaps for a very very very long time or even evan! Whenever you posted Thankful THursday, my heart sank a bit Channon…because it meant the workend was almost here..
    and Ive come to dread the nights.

    IM SO Happy this Thankful THursday that I only have one little shift left!!

  8. Katherine says:

    Sweet Sissy!! She is pup hero of the week! I’m so glad you hear her when she talks to you. I had a neighbor tell me once that I couldn’t possibly understand what Macy wants because dogs don’t talk. I didn’t miss the chance to tell her how wrong she is! Macy looks me straight in the eyes and I “hear” what she is saying. I can’t even do that with DH! LOL! I’m so thankful for fur-people who even bother talking to lowly humans!!

    Little Gg looks so cute in her coat and Sissy will be dynamic in her cape when you find one.

  9. Well that was a lovely bit of this n that. Smiling at those who don’t think dogs understand English, or French, or Spanish, or whatever….riiiiight…

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I’m glad you had a good Christmas and New Year!

  11. Kristi says:

    Oh, dogs definitely understand. My guide dog puppy-in-training can be sound asleep at church, but as soon as he hears, “Amen,” he’s up and ready to go home!

  12. Amy says:

    I think BOTH pups need capes!

    I’m thankful for a four day weekend, and finally getting over a month of being sick!

  13. Natalie says:

    Love their jackets!! They really are such beautiful doggies! :)

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    God love her for wanting to step in and take up for the wee one. :) I’m definitely on the side that thinks they can understand us. There have been too many times that I’ve said something and gotten a very indignant “huff”, followed by a full blown pout. lol

Leave a Reply

