Thankful Thorsday

I don’t know that I’ve ever been more thankful for a Thorsday.  Firstly, thanks to all for your kind words, moral support and more.  (If you’re lost, scroll down and read yesterday’s post.)  We’re so thankful that Gg’s injuries weren’t life-threatening, and I’m moved to that misty-eyed state that so many of you get it and know that the real damage is yet unknown, because we have no idea how much this wounded Gretchen’s JRT psyche.

I’m especially grateful for folks like Katherine and her Macy, who affirm that Gg is not some weird Jack Russell after all.   She can be timid and fearless, she can push through intense pain to attempt to join Sissy in the back yard (foiled by watchful parents though), and then tremble and appear too weak to even walk to the sofa to be scooped up for comforting, warming cuddles.  Jacks are a complex breed, and it’s what I generally love about them, but right now, I wish they believed in flight instead of FIGHT.

photo.JPGI’m unforgivably past due in thanking the very kind and dear Nancy for my goodies from her coloring contest.   This fleece infinity scarf has been a godsend in this bitter cold.  I’ve worn it for walks, I wore it all dolled up on New Year’s Eve, and it is so easy-care!  Upon further reflection, it might have inspired my craving for winter whites.

I’m also so very blessed to have the Knight, who is an incredible doggy Dadaw.  He’s done a lot of the cold and/or snowy potties with Gg, and is better than I am about taking Sis out the front door too, so she doesn’t feel left out.  He also didn’t bat an eye when I came home from Old Navy with three onesies for Gg, to help protect her wound when it stops draining and she can have a little more freedom.

DSC03250

The dynamic duo, earlier this month

Of course, with it being Thorsday, I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention Sis-ma.  After her heart-breaking howls yesterday when she was gated in our bedroom (as usual) and Gg was crated just outside that door, but within her sight, the Knight coaxed her into the crate first this morning, and both girls were happy to tuck in together for warm snuggles while we’re at work.  She doesn’t like NOT being the center of attention, but she loves Gg even more than being a DIVA.

What are you thankful for today?

6 comments on “Thankful Thorsday

  1. Nancy says:

    Just the mental image of Sissy and Gg snuggling together warms my heart. I am thankful that all is well at your house.

  2. kathy b says:

    What an awesome picture of you Channon in your comfy cowl. YOU look amazing.

    More prayers for mental and physical healing for Gg. Your Knight sounds amazing.

    Thankful for Fireman’s helping me set up Lucy Lous foster room….

  3. gmariesews says:

    I love that photo of you in the cowl – both you and the cowl are beautiful! I’m thankful that the Knight is so helpful. I’m thankful that Sis can put aside being the Diva to take care of the Wee One. And honestly – I’m thankful that GG is being stubborn and trying to run outside and jump – it means that either 1.) the meds are working or b.) she’s not in pain. g

  4. Katherine says:

    You are so pretty and I love the white cowl. Yes, you should definitely wear winter white!!

    I’m so glad Gg has Sissy to snuggle with today (and always). I know how my heart flip-flops when Macy and Max curl up together in a warm fur ball. They send “high fours” to Gg and Sissy and say to keep up the healing power of togetherness!

  5. AlisonH says:

    You look both beautiful and blessed in that cowly scarf.

    Thankful–looking out the window at a flurry of about two dozen small birds, the mourning dove coming in for an awkward landing that makes the others scatter briefly, the Bewick’s wren that is extinct in other areas but thriving in my back yard, with its incredible songlist and a voice loud enough for even me to hear just every so often–all reminders of life continuing on in all its glory.

  6. Marjie says:

    That’s a pretty scarf! Hooray for winter white! Our furnace was down for most of today (and part of last night, in sub=10 temperatures), so I’m just starting to thaw!

Leave a Reply

