River Runs Through It

photo.JPG

For some reason, my usually even-keeled Piedmont is having weather fits.  Last week, the river along our walking trails overflowed its banks to a point I’d not seen it in the brief year we’ve been walking these trails.

The main part of the photo is our normally grassy but cut close path along the river.  The straw and debris was strewn about by the Rivanna, which you can see in the top right.  She’s still muddy, grumpy and “up”.  The Rivanna is no mighty river.  Fond as I am of her, she’s pretty puny as rivers go.  She’s generally a good 10-15 feet below the path in that spot, just to give you an idea. 

photo.JPG

That’s our happy little crossing point.  Note the split logs now in place because the nice steps are just too muddy and slick right now!  We’re very lucky that our nice neighbors maintain the trails and allow us to use them.

photo.JPG

Please note the muddy DIVA.  She was pretty darned happy about it too, and didn’t want to stop long to pose.  She was a filthy mess, but look how happy she is!  Who can argue with that?!  That’s why I bought the Gortex running shoes…  and they’re performing admirably.

I miss our walks.  The first week, I was so consumed with caring for Gretchen that I didn’t have time to miss them and needed the extra yoga to relax and stretch out those tense muscles.  Last week, I still needed and enjoyed the yoga, but now, we’re all a little stir-crazy and are ready to get back to our regular routine.  Well… Sissy and I are ready, and Gg THINKS she is, but she’s still on phase I of her restrictions, so we’re trying – in vain – to keep her quiet until this weekend.

How is Mother Nature treating you?

This entry was posted in Sissy.

10 comments on “River Runs Through It

  1. gmariesews says:

    Mother Nature is being nice to us. It was beautiful all weekend from Friday right on through yesterday – today it’s raining. Other than a really cold 10 days or so – we’ve had a very mild winter – not a lot of rain and no snow.

    Isn’t Sissy beautiful? And I don’t envy you trying to keep an active dog down. g

  2. kathy b says:

    Mother Nature doing great. Fresh snowfall daily in little amounts. manageable!
    Lucy Lou and kittens thriving. IM content.

  3. Nancy says:

    Sissy really does look happy in the photo – simply gotta’ love a girl that’s not afraid to get mud between her toes!

  4. Katherine says:

    Wow Sissy, those are some muddy paws!! You did good girl!! Macy also gauges a good time by how dirty the feet become and even get her muzzle into it. (I think I see a little muddy muzzle in the picture of Sissy).

    Mother Nature is setting me up for a big disappointment. She keeps telling me I will be able to plant my garden soon, but I am on to her. I think it’s a bait and switch game and she is going to snow all over me and my garden plans one day soon.

    Happy trails to the fur-girls!

  5. Sue says:

    We’re envious. It’s much too dry here. We do however have mud. How does that work anyway?

    Sis looks wonderful.

  6. Marjie says:

    Sissy does look happy! Hounds just love mud, I think; maybe it’s all kinds of dogs (and little boys) who love mud. Glad your neighbor is so vigilant in keeping your trail passable.

  7. Blond Duck says:

    I can’t wait to paint your babies! Owe you an e-mail…got dr news today!

  8. Kathy says:

    A muddy dog is a happy dog!

  9. Nichole says:

    I absolutely adore that pic of Sis!

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    She looks completely pleased with herself. :) T wears the Merrell Gortex hiking shoes almost exclusively. He’s got a brown pair and a black pair and swears by them.

Leave a Reply

