Pinning Fitness

While the bulk of my Pinterest pins are recipes I mean to try when I have time and energy to do more than click and save, there are a couple of boards I do actually use/try almost right away in a lot of cases.   I’m not perfectly consistent with where I put stuff, but my thought process is that Health is, well… wellness-related, although it does include some yoga/stretches for back pain, but you might also find similar under Fitnessand still more fitness-related pins can be found under Hit the trail! which is where anything related to running, walking and/or hiking can be found.

Pinterest is probably my favorite time suck – er… social media site.  I don’t have to remember to snap a photo or upload it somewhere (Instagram) and I’m not even going to touch Twitter.  I just don’t get that one, maybe because I don’t get the whole concept of brevity either.

Anyway, Pinterest is especially handy for my fitness “ooooh shiny!” moments because I can access it everywhere and anywhere.  I can pull up that playlist on the trail, in the gym… wherever I am when I realize I need it.   Same with yoga routines.  Sure, I bookmark them on my laptop, but what happens when my iPad and I are waiting for a meeting to start and I have a moment to center myself and work the kinks out before the others arrive?  Yeah.  I do these things… you don’t?!

95f047e18c85f9f9bb1cff788ac83b09

My go-to yoga pin from Women’s Health

Do you pin?

Do you have a favorite … whatever site?  Pinterest?  Instagram?  Twitter?  (And seriously, if you love Twitter, why?  Can you explain it to me?)

13 comments on “Pinning Fitness

  1. gmariesews says:

    I love Pinterest – although I mostly re-pin stuff as opposed to finding stuff and pinning it. I do use the recipe pins – in fact, I literally just got on the ‘puter to find a recipe for dinner – right now! I also use the fitness stuff. I like Instagram. Although I take super crappy photos and don’t have any editing anything on my phone and as we know, I am an iVirgin – so. But I like seeing what my friends are doing, dogs in the snow, fabric, garments, etc.

    KAM uses twitter a lot and has mentioned something about twitter chats, but I don’t get it. g

  2. Krystle says:

    Mom uses Pinterest a ton!! And I fit it in when I have an hour to sit down and do it. It becomes a little trickier when trying to be conscious of what you are sending out as a “business” and I don’t want to have double accounts for everything.

    But I do love Pinterest… they have tons of great ideas on pretty much everything. I love the idea of using it to look for good workouts!

    The twitter chats mentioned above are interior design industry chats that I do as a way of networking in the industry, and keeping track of what is going on and stay current. They are really helpful!

  3. Nancy says:

    I use Pinterest but rarely browse on Pinterest itself. If I see something on a blog that I want to remember (quote, recipe, pattern, tutorial, etc.), then it is Pinned.

    Personally, I don’t see the purpose of Twitter.

  4. Karen says:

    I love Pinterest! My favorite pins are pink, glitzy girly things, basset hound and other animal friends, fiber related and cozy, dreamy places to hide and read :)

  5. kathy b says:

    You know i PIN!!! it is a time suck, but a necessary one. SOmedays when I am too tired to knit a stitch I PIN. I get great ideas from others pins. Al puts her gift list on Pinterest and that helps

  6. Mary says:

    I’ve been stuck…but I don’t pin. :)

  7. Sue says:

    I agree about Twitter and I dislike Facebook, too. Haven’t tried Pinterest though I think I’d like it. I think I need someone to explain it to me.

  8. Hi Channon,

    Well, you know I’m on Pinterest however, it is only recently that I’ve actually realized how much I really enjoy it! I’m not sure it’s a good thing except I do find myself using my pins every now and again. The amazing creations I’ve seen on Pinterest are just awe inspiring. And I’m not just talking about food and recipes!

    Thanks so much for sharing, Chan. “See” ya on Pinterest!

  9. AlisonH says:

    That’s in the I’m afraid to look category–I might like it too much, and that’s good knitting time there.

  10. kathy says:

    Nope, no pinning, twittering, facebooking, or any of the sort for me. I’m too private and/or don’t have the time for any such thing.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    Pin interest terrifies me.

  12. gypsyknits says:

    I love pinterest. Great time-sucker and relaxing. I’m not good at organizing the pins either and then when I want to try one I have to go on the hunt. Usually find it on google and then re-pin where I just know I’ll remember…yeah riiiiight ;).
    I don’t like twitter. The whole tweet thing just turns me away.
    Now I’m getting hooked on Goodreads :).

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    Yes, Pinterest is one of my favorite time sucks. It would help if I actually used the stuff I pin instead of just saving it for “later” (more like never). LOL

Leave a Reply

