Top Me Off!

Dressy Bessy courtesy of Amazon

Dressy Bessy courtesy of Amazon

I tried to come up with some cute play on Dressy Bessy, and now that I’ve gone in another direction, I remember her guy pal, Dapper Dan.  Dan rhymes with Chan, but…

Regular readers know that I love dresses because I can leave the house without over-thinking, without wardrobe stress.   But sometimes, I forget that I suffer from serious analysis paralysis and I purchase separates.  Well, that and it’s just the way of the world; I suppose that short of workout attire and jeans and tees, I could only buy/wear dresses…

Anyway.  I’m now consumed with finding the right top to pair with my new lace skirt for the League’s May Dinner, which is also the final celebration of our 80th anniversary of community service.

Loft

Loft

Here’s the inspiration look from Loft.   I don’t see me adding a belt, nor will I wear a simple tee on one of the most important nights of the League year.  And there is no earthly way I’ll be wearing a scarf so snuggly around my neck; I feel itchy and choked just thinking about it.  It also seems likely that it will be about 80 degrees that evening, so… no jacket is likely.

I’ve been eyeing a simple, solid top.   gMarie is advocating for a ditsy print, and blogless Mary insists I could wear an even bolder pattern and liven things up a bit.  Marjie suggested something in the same color family, and I do have a sheer (with matching tank) beige blouse I want to try on with said skirt, along with a cream with black trim (sleeve hems and frogs?) blouse that I could probably call vintage Talbots.  (Vintage is what… 20 years old?)

What say you?

And what will you be doing this weekend?  Clearly, I’ll be shopping, at least in my own closet…

This entry was posted in Fashion.

9 comments on “Top Me Off!

  1. Nancy says:

    I’m fashion challenged, so I’ll leave the suggestions to others with more fashion sense than me.

  2. kathy b says:

    That skirt just rocks…>I LOVE IT. and I do remember Dressy Bessy! and Dan.

    Hmmmm I love the thought of a simple silk blouse in perhaps the rust color of the jacket she is wearing….Oh Boy you are asking the wrong gal.

    Your attention to fashion detail is inspiring me CHannon. I haven’t bought a thing, but I am THINKING about purchases and even have a clothing BOARD on pinterest.

  3. AlisonH says:

    Dapper Dan! So THAT’S where the name comes from? Huh. Someone at some point stuck that name on the papa peregrine on the PG&E building in downtown San Francisco. Often just Dan or sometimes DD, but, Dapper Dan. You can’t even say that full name in the time it takes him to vanish into thin air.

  4. Marjie says:

    I had a Dapper Dan to help my oldest boys learn to button and zip and so forth! He lived in the playpen.

    I would never wear a scarf looped around my neck. I am claustrophic like nobody’s business. But I think your ideas for wearing your new lace skirt are very promising!

  5. Nichole says:

    I saw go for something brigh/colorful on top!

  6. Katherine says:

    If I had that wonderful skirt I would pair it with a silk tank in the same color and top both off with a bright (in my case red) Pashmina shawl. Just sayin’.

    I’m so looking forward to this weekend!!! Tomorrow the whole family gathers for Mother’s Day because the ER nurse and fireman will be working on Sunday. I’m thinking Sunday will surely be a sit on the patio and knit day.

    Hope your weekend is as wonderful as that skirt!!!

  7. Barbara says:

    The pictured ensemble is adorable, but the scarf and leather jacket in hot weather doesn’t do it for me. Perhaps a summerized version?

  8. Krystle says:

    I have a hard time picking out things to wear too! I didn’t know I had it so easy when I was working with the kiddos, grabbing jeans and a tee is so much easier than trying to figure out a professional ensemble every morning!

    Can’t wait to see what you end up pairing with the cute skirt! I like the idea of a colored solid..but then when I have an important event, I send pic messages to my bffs with the options and wait for their opinions! Good Luck!

  9. Sue says:

    I like the matching top with colorful accents. I gave my nephew a Dapper Dan much to my brother’s dismay. He didn’t think his son should play with dolls.

Leave a Reply

