Doggesses of the Hunt

Happy Thorsday, little friday, Thankful Thursday and more!   There’s a post on the girls’ blog about those little strips of fabric you soak in cool water and then have cool neckwear 15 minutes later, for over an hour of use. 

Untitled

My girls are hunters.  It’s in their genes.  Bassets were bred to hunt rabbits, but Sis is nuts for deer and squirrels.  Jack Russells were bred to hunt all kinds of things, and Gg takes that genetic duty quite seriously.  Lizards are probably her favorite, but she’ll hone in on birds, deer…  anything that moves, actually.   They’re not confused; Sis is focused on one squirrel, and Gg, on another.

I’m blessed to have such a supportive husband.  The dogs and I spend a fair amount of time walking, and if anything, he is their advocate and assures that if they want a walk…  I take them, rain or shine, hot or cold.  He routinely comes home with a new water “belt” or dog leash or bug spray or…  While I do wish he’d walk with us, at least he isn’t fussing about the time and money I spend walking! 

What are you thankful for today?

10 comments on “Doggesses of the Hunt

  1. kathy boyer says:

    THat is a great image of them ON POINT!

    THe KNight is a dear. Im thankful today , that my kids are DONE DONE DONE with college

  2. Katherine says:

    They are ready to ruin the lives of two squirrels!! So cute! What a great idea The Knight has come up with. In Texas we are always looking for ways to stay cool. I love my patio misters but I haven’t tried a cool belt or neckerchief.

    Today I’m thankful for my dear little hunter JRT Macy! She had her 11th birthday last week and the Vet says she is the healthiest patient he has! I’m thankful we will have her with us for a lot longer!!

  3. Kathy says:

    I see you have replies from a Kathy and a Katherine. I feel I must join these Kath women and leave a reply too!

    I’m thankful it’s Thursday and the weekend is within sight!

  4. Nichole says:

    Love that photo… and that support system of yours!

  5. Marjie says:

    Love your hunters! I have a Dogs on Thorsday for the first time in a long time! My new guy has been hunting sticks and shoes…but at least they’re not MY shoes, because mine don’t have laces for convenient carrying!

  6. Kari says:

    Have you ever looked into the swamp cooler vest made my ezy dog. We LOVE them. It use to keep Fred nice and cool so he wouldn’t over heat and have a seizure and it really helps haylie with her dark fur.

    Im thankful for:
    1. throw away diapers- I don’t know how those green people do cloth.
    2. My husbands cpap machine so I don’t have to smother him with a pillow when he is snoring
    3. coffee.
    4. a good beer with a friend
    5. ear plugs when my daughter cries at 2am cause she rolled over on her tummy and got stuck :)

  7. AlisonH says:

    Love the photo!

    Grateful that I got to see all of my kids and my grandsons, all within a week and a half. There is nothing like having a baby go from fussy to calm to blissfully asleep in your arms just because you love him and that is enough in his world.

  8. gMarie says:

    I love that gg is pointing. Super cute.

    Thankfuls: hubby’s computer to use*his willingness to take my to best buy (yesterday we had smoke and burning smell)*bus knitting*somebody taking the time to show me HOW to do something instead of just doing it for me because it was easier*walking home*supportive friends*a new dress that I wasn’t sure I loved, but which was very comfortable and easy to wear all day*sunshine. g

  9. gypsyknits says:

    Love the picture :).

    Great the Knight is happy about your walks :)

  10. Sue says:

    Rob does that too. He’ll come home with new dog beds or new treats or a cute jacket. But be careful, he has come home several times with puppies.

Leave a Reply

