Technology Fail

I have 10 photos – or multiples of about 4 photos? – that Flickr’s i-Stuff app just won’t load.   But never fear…  Flickr’s inability to play well with Verizon’s varying signal strength or whatever the problem is won’t stop me from sharing my good Wednesday mail day with you.

Courtesy of TSoV

Courtesy of TSoV

The real surprise was my paw bangle from Three Scoops of Vanilla.  I ordered it IMMEDIATELY, as soon as I saw more were available.   I had to visit said Facebook listing to get the photo, but y’all needed to see this!   I discovered Three Scoops of Vanilla when she did a fundraiser for Blind Dog Rescue Alliance and I scored my beloved browns/creams/aubergine beaded bracelet, and she has a great special every Monday, which you can find on her website or on Facebook.

Now, the surprise wasn’t that it’s gorgeous… see above… I already knew I loved her work.  The surprise was because I kinda’ forgot that I ordered it via Paypal, which means that it came to the Knight.  He opened it and laughed, “This isn’t for me.”   I had told him that he’d bought me a bracelet, but evidently, neither of us were expecting it so quickly.

Courtesy of DbK

Courtesy of DbK

The other package was just as delightful.  Krystle dyed yarn last year for a few of us doing a mystery KAL (knit-along), and she did it again this year.   You can read more about her yarn dyeing, interior designing and more if you click on her name or the photo. 

Obviously, the bottom right is PANK for me – and for Gretchen Greer.  It’s merino laceweight, and Gg has given it her seal of approval; I didn’t get it out of the box before she was kissing and loving on the yarn.   Frankly though, I’d have been delighted with any of those hues!

photo.JPGLast but not least, today’s a really important day!  It’s National Take Your Dog to Work Day, and I’d like to thank my inlaws and Shadow for arranging their vacation around said event so that the fur-girls, the Knight, Uncle and Bert (the Knight’s LONG-time assistant, pre-dating Neighbor Guy) for being good sports.   Good thing I have a wealth of stock photos of the girls at work, eh Flickr?  :(

But hold the phone…  it’s also the first day of summer which means it’s also National Wear Your Lilly Day!  Can you imagine the joy in my little preppy, dog-lovin’ heart?!  I’m wearing my Gigi cyan dress today to honor the collision of two really awesome celebrations.  Because it’s a coolish first day of summer here in podunk, and because the fur-girls are at work with me, I added cropped leggings underneath.  I’ve decided that tunics and leggings make me almost as a happy as a sheath dress… maybe even happier, because a sheath dress isn’t exactly ideal dog-ma attire, but a tunic and leggings?  I can scoop up a fretful Gg and laugh at Sissy slobber and still look a little polished. 

LP Captiva Tunic in High Beams

LP Captiva Tunic in High Beams

And since the great shot of my bangle AND my Lilly won’t upload, here’s the tunic I think the girls want me to have for my birthday.  I might go buy it later today…

Have you gotten anything exciting in the mail recently? 

Any great first weekend of summer plans?

15 comments on “Technology Fail

  1. Nichole says:

    LOVE the bracelet! I haven’t had the Flickr issue you speak of, however my Verizon cell has regularly been loosing my WiFi connect here at home (while the laptop and Nooks are working just fine) for the past week or so. It’s getting rather annoying to say the least…

  2. sue says:

    Yes we got a package yesterday. We’ll be showing it off in tomorrow’s post. Some of the fuzzy members of the family will be the models.

  3. susancyr says:

    LOVE the bracelet!!! Glad the girls got to go to work!!

  4. Katherine says:

    Love the bracelet and the tunic!! We are thinking along the same lines, I wore a dress with cropped leggings today and have the pups at work with us. Have a wonderful first day of summer! Wish ours was a bit on the coolish side! Anything exciting in the mail? I got some new shampoo to brighten the silver in my hair. That’s exciting to me, haha!!

  5. Nancy says:

    That bracelet is adorable – I would have snatched it up, too. How sweet of the Knight to think of you. .

    Summer’s start is divine here in the West – warm days, cool nights – perfectly wonderful.

  6. gracey54 says:

    actually I have—-gifts, which are always a surprise and always a blessing, I got a pair of soft Nike sandals from my sister Christine so i can get used to the thong thing, I got shirt she also picked me up because Serengettti was having a sale and she knows I love my cotton blouses, and yarn I won in a contest, some gorgeous Valley Yarns deerfield which is silk and my favorite alpaca, Tom things everyday is my birthday because there is always a package for him to bring upstairs. I do miss buying on whim though–I would love to order some teas, and Popcornopolis but thats okay I truly don’t need either!!!

  7. Marjie says:

    You know my dog always goes to work, right? It’s easy to take him, of course, to the room off the kitchen. Right now, he’s working with Ryan on the concept of “fetch” (which is alien to mastiffs).

    I do think the girls want you to have that dress for your birthday. Brutus told me so, and I’m sure all dogs can communicate telepathically.

  8. gypsyknits says:

    Nice bracelet :). Hope the girls had a great day at work.

  9. Your Dogma attire sounds perfect for a day at work with the ggrrrls. First weekend of summer is the very busy link between two weeks of camp…home with my furkids for 2 whole days! Life is good.

  10. StarSpry says:

    I love that bracelet and the tunic looks really cute! I hope you do get it for your birthday :) Yay for having the fur-girls at work today!! Krystle’s yarn looks so pretty. PANK is great, and I like the Silver Fox color, too.

  11. Kathy says:

    Last weekend, out of the blue, a friend sent me some piggy-shaped chip clips and a black leather wristlet. What a sweet surprise!

    I saw a big dog inside Anthropologie today. He was shopping with his mom. I think going shopping is more fun than going to work.

  12. AlisonH says:

    That’s a really cool bracelet. The paws that refreshes.

    Doorbell rang about ten minutes ago. Since it wasn’t going to make it in time for Father’s Day, it’s going to be a long wait till Christmas. (Richard, who picked it out and wished out loud, hard: Did you order it? Me: Do you want me to tell you before Christmas? Richard: Fair enough.)

    There was a place selling Oscar Schmidt electronic autoharps for about half the list price on special, and a really good deal on the best cases. The case just got here, the autoharp will arrive in a few days from backorder.

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    Nope, no goodies in the mail. I like the bangle, though. Yard work is on the agenda for this weekend. That and visiting the latest wee babe that arrived on Wednesday. ;)

  14. kathy boyer says:

    THat bracelet is absolutely the bees knees!!! I want one. Im heading over to the site.
    Goodies in the email: I won a pattern and an ebook!!! this week on others blogs.
    I love your birthday wish tunic……you gotta have that!

  15. km says:

    I’m reading late…but today I did get a package from zappos in the mail. New Gizeh sandles. I’m expecting another box soon too. Curriculum for the kids, but I threw in a book for me and a exercise DVD.

    Love the bracelet.

Leave a Reply

