Honoring Independence

declaration_stone_thumb_295_dark_gray_bgHappy Independence Day, America!  Happy Thorsday and Thankful Thursday too.

Growing up – and still living and working – literally in sight of Monticello makes this a truly momentous day.   As I write, a very distinguished group is gathering on that mountaintop to conduct what is probably the most sought-after naturalization ceremony in the country.   They will have a hot, humid, beautiful setting for their event!

What never fails to strike me about this great document that birthed a nation is not Mr. Jefferson’s great way with words.  There is no doubt that his words are powerful and stir up great emotion still today, but I always pause to reflect upon the signatures at the bottom; those brave men signed not just this declaration, but in doing so, their own death warrants.  They very literally put their own lives on the line, and those of their families and neighbors, because freedom and liberty were that sacred to them.

The most natural next thought for me is of the men and women then and since who have put their lives on the line to keep us free, and to spread the gift of democracy to others.  I am so very grateful for our Founding Fathers courage, patriotism and vision, and I am deeply indebted to the generations of men and women who keep us free.

Liberty is the breath of life to nations. ~George Bernard Shaw

May 2010 011

2010… different outlooks?!

But it is also Thorsday, and I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that many pets don’t appreciate the way most communities celebrate the 4th.  Gretchen Greer is one of them.  I intend to exhaust her doing happy things throughout the day, and then by nightfall, we’ll be tucked in, shades drawn, watching a loud, action movie, and if we’re lucky, we’ll get through all the surrounding fireworks displays without too much stress for any of us.  It’s a bit sad, because the Knight and I both love fireworks, but we love Gg more.

If your pets don’t care for fireworks either, please share how you get through it on the girls’ blog.

What are you celebrating today?

6 comments on “Honoring Independence

  1. AlisonH says:

    I wish I’d written anything remotely like this last night while I was curled up into not-feeling-well. This is beautiful, Chan; thank you for the reminder of what we hold dear about our nation.

  2. Sue says:

    I saw some of that ceremony on the news this morning. What a wonderful setting for such an important event.

    I often think about my ancestors and what they were doing at that time. John and Samuel Adams are in my family and we know what they were thinking and doing, but one of my ggrandfathers was a farmer named Hezekiah Wilcox. He had a lot of children and a small farm, yet he went off to fight for freedom. What courage that must have taken. How many of us today would do the same knowing what could happen if our side lost?

  3. Katherine says:

    Thanks Chan for a beautiful post! Happy 4th and may God bless our country!!

    Macy has been barking at the strange noises that started around noon, but poor little Max is hiding under the bed. Both pups and I will be doing a lot of snuggling this evening. With each loud noise they will get closer to me. It promises to be a real hug fest!!

  4. kathy boyer says:

    Celebrating at our town parade….weather was perfect.
    celebrating bbq with our next door neighbors
    Just napped with Pie kitty
    and then staying home to keep the cats and the kitten calm during all the fireworks…
    I like to watch it on TV with the perfect music or at our golfcourse.

  5. gmariesews says:

    As always your post is beautiful and thought provoking. My thoughts always turn to the VeeDog Household on ‘freedom’ days. Today I’m thankful The Princess and the Boy’s safe arrival::that the girls get along::that sunshine makes Abby doodle walk more and walking makes her limp less::for the smoker::for friends who come to eat, drink and be merry:: g

  6. gypsyknits says:

    Wonderful and as gmarie said, “thought provoking.” I too, think of each man who signed this important and priceless document of freedom from tryanny and those who have sacrificed and will sacrifice so much to protect and preserve our freedom and liberty.
    God Bless the USA!

Leave a Reply

