Risk vs. reward?

I’m interested in hearing your thoughts…

borrowed image

borrowed image

I love a pedicure.  Not only do I lack the painting gene, but I really enjoy sitting back in the massage chair and walking out with pretty toes. 

HOWEVER.

Some of you know I’m a little OCD, and for some reason, I’ve been really on edge and haven’t been able to bring myself to go get the pedi I need.  Then yesterday, I learned that a friend got an infection from a pedi at one of the local posh spas.  Oh, they gave her a refund, but what’s that worth after they’d already given her something so undesirable?!

Several years ago, I was blessed to have a good friend who was a licensed beautician and nail tech.  She worked in New York City, but would take care of a few of us in her home.  It was the only time I’ve ever had absolute peace of mind with my hair and nails, and I confess to abusing her talents in our hotel bathroom in Chicago on a bad hair day.  But she moved back to Jersey and that’s one heck of a commute for a great, safe pedi…

What do you do to keep your toes sandal-pretty?

 

 

This entry was posted in Fashion.

11 comments on “Risk vs. reward?

  1. I’m very fortunate to have “pretty” little feet because under no circumstances would I submit to a pedi. I know this may sound strange but I simply can not stand the feeling of nail polish whether on my fingers or my toes. I do soak my feet though and I absolutely adore Mary Kay’s Mint Bliss energizing lotion for feet and legs:)

    Have a GREAT day, Channon…

  2. Kathy says:

    I love a pedicure! I get them from about April to October because sandal, or at least flip-flop season is long here. Mostly I go to the Vietnamese ladies on the corner. Tina has given me nice pedicures for years. Sometimes I feel bad that she has to touch my feet because runners have gross feet! She’s been there through several black and/or missing nails. (Told you runners have gross feet.). Never had a bad experience.

    Much more luxurious, but also much more costly, is a pedicure at the “day spa” where I get my hair done. I occasionally indulge but the results aren’t any better than at the corner salon.

    Yes, I love my pedicures.

  3. Jessica says:

    cracking up at Kathy’s response….being married to a runner, i feel for her pedi gal! LOL!
    Chan, i am in the same boat as you. I had a FABULOUS gal in NY, and she was fanatical about hygiene. I have not found a place yet that i am happy with, and have not been since last fall. I just do the upkeep myself, and i just miss the heck out of Kelle, my gal in NY. :o(

  4. AlisonH says:

    Oh, Chan, what you don’t know. If you google Jessica Mears staph… I was the one that wheeled her into the hospital; I was supposed to come visit her there to give her knitting lessons, just call me whenever you’re ready hon I’ll be there. It had spread far enough into her leg then that she couldn’t walk, and they were going to try to surgically get rid of it.

    She’d had a pedicure…

    They found that same variant of that bug in something like 17 local salons afterwards, once the state finally started following up on it.

  5. AlisonH says:

    (34 salons. Just checked.)

  6. Nichole says:

    I’ve never had a pedi in a salon for much the same fear… and have always just done my own at home. Might not be as “pretty” but well… it saves me $$ too. I used to get manis way back (say 18 years ago) when I had gel tips, then my hands started getting really itchy from them and that was that.

  7. Nancy says:

    I refuse to get a mani or a pedi anywhere, and my nails reflect it. I’ve heard too many horror stories over the years; plus, I am too cheap (hmmm, “frugal”) to have either.

  8. Marjie says:

    I don’t pay for manicures or pedicures either. I soak in a tub.

    When my daughter was driving up last Thursday for the wedding, there was a rash in the tunnel on the turnpike, and she ended up parked on the turnpike with countless others for about an hour. She polished her toenails and fingernails, and read her book. That’s how we do pedis around here! Like Nic said, saves $$$! And saves us from potential horror, too.

  9. Katherine says:

    I don’t get pedicures for the reasons above! I had a friend who had a terrible infection from a pedicure. That was almost 20 years ago and I still can’t bring myself to get my fingernails or toenails done at a salon. It is fortunate that I like my toenails just the way they are or maybe with a little clear polish. I can’t go too wrong with clear polish and it makes the piggies shine a bit. I say if I rub cream into my feet and heels and my toenails are short and clean that is all that is needed for sandal wear.

  10. kathy boyer says:

    Channon

    I have just gone to having no polish on my toes; my sister likes to ask for just a BUFF and that is what I did last week. My nails are short and neat. I am noticing ads with women’s toenails not polished too. I love a pedi cure and I’ve never had an issue with infection. I see the technician clean the toe sink prior to filling it. I bring my own cuticle scissors for her to use and that makes me feel safe.
    I just wore a pair of dr. scholls today :) :)

  11. Sue says:

    I’ve never work polish on my toes because I think toes are ugly and I don’t want to call attention to them. I almost never wear it on my fingers because I immediately start chipping it off. A nervous habit I think. Because I’ve always had dogs and other animals I’ve always had very short nails, not worth polishing.

Leave a Reply

