Make Shopping Count

Who says that the buying part of the holidays can’t save the world?  We didn’t do our part on Small Business Saturday, because the dogs and I spent a lot of time actually ON the beach, chasing birds, chatting with fishermen and just enjoying the day, and now Cyber Monday is almost over…

…but I want to be sure you know about AmazonSmile and OneCause.  Both sites allow you to shop as always, but your purchases support your favorite non-profit.  Yes, you have to click over and actually sign in, but otherwise, AmazonSmile links to your existing Amazon account and life goes on.  Prime still works and everything.  I just made a Land’s End purchase through OneCause a little while ago, and while I do like Ebates, those few dollars can combine with other JLC shoppers’ efforts to make a difference in our community.

JLC_Literacy_RGB.1Of course, if you are looking for a cause, feel free to type in Junior League of Charlottesville on either/both sites…  I can assure you that any and all funds earned from such will go straight into our fundraising accounts, and all proceeds from our fundraising efforts go straight to JLC programs, such as our new literacy programs.

I hope you’re sitting down; I also did some knitting and reading at the beach, but you’ll have to wait for another day and more time (and energy) to hear more about that.

This entry was posted in JLC.

12 comments on “Make Shopping Count

  1. gmariesews says:

    Wait – what? You knit and read? I’m shocked! I’m glad you got a chance to get away, rest and rejuvenate. You’ve had a rough year and needed a full on break. g

  2. Katherine says:

    Thank you so much for the links to AmazonSmile and OneCause!! Our family is doing the “no gifts just giving” thing again this Christmas and I will pass along the info.

    Knitting and reading–I’m green with envy because I haven’t had time for either lately and end-of-year reports are coming up. I’m so glad you had a chance to slow down and enjoy life for a bit.

  3. Nancy says:

    Knitting, reading, walking, and recharging — great ways to spend a relaxing weekend.

  4. kathy b says:

    THe beach?? Al and Zach were at Virginia beach….
    So glad you got to KNIT!!!
    LOve your suggestion for charities!

  5. Mr. Puffy says:

    What a good idea! But I have to admit the whole Black Friday and Cyber Monday pass me by without motivating me in the least. Looking forward to seeing your knitting and hearing about your reading adventures :) PS Love the picture of the girls on Thanksgiving! So

  6. Sue says:

    I didn’t know about AmazonSmile, but now I’m on board. Thanks for the info. I’ve been very bad about finishing things lately. I have a cross stitch piece done except for the beads and a knit toy that needs to be stuffed. We’re expecting a big storm this week so that should be a good time to do them.

  7. Happy, happy, happy for you! Time on the beach, knitting, and reading…I guess all you really needed was the time to do it, right?

  8. Marjie says:

    I’ve spent the week desperately hunting for the right gifts for my older kids. Major gifts bought; fillers now needed. Argh! I only have 2 weeks!!!!

    But I’m glad you got time at the beach, even though it was cold. Stay warm this weekend, Chan; I hope you don’t get the 6 degree temps we’ve been promised here.

  9. AlisonH says:

    Yay! You knitted!! Go Chan!

  10. I’m yet to do any actual shopping online. Look out when I start though!!! I think I’ll begin with food:) Speaking of food, I came across a site about Virginia Food Culture and immediately thought of you. (for when you get a chance:)

    So glad you got to unwind a bit Channon. Life is getting so crazy!!!

Leave a Reply

