Beach Report

Wow.  I knew the week was hectic and I didn’t have a great grasp on things, but I was truly surprised to realize this morning that Thorsday came and went and no post happened.  The girls have a bit of a post on their blog, but really, they’re just annoyed because the humans have been busy, walks haven’t happened to their satisfaction (no walks twice this week due to Sissy’s upset tummy, rain, etc.) and they don’t like ANY changes to their routine.

Untitled

We saw our first sea turtle last week, but I’m rather sure it was dead.  Still, I didn’t risk it and didn’t get close enough to confirm, because their jaws are quick and powerful.

UntitledDespite the wind, rough seas and Sissy’s issues, we still logged quite a few miles on the beach.  Gretchen in particular loves to chase birds on the water’s edge, but I haven’t been able to convince her that perhaps she shouldn’t mess with the larger gulls.  They just glare, soar and land out of her reach, but seriously… my sometimes timid, sometimes snake hunter really is a JRT at heart!

I’m very grateful for a place to retreat and recharge, but I’m most grateful for a man who will go out after midnight to buy his dog children’s chewable Pepto with the hope that she’ll get comfortable enough to let the rest of the household sleep.  I’m also thankful for the kindness of strangers… particularly the waitress at the Knight’s favorite seafood buffet who was more than willing to allow us to break the “no to-go boxes” rule to take shrimp tails to the same spoiled dog(s).

And really, I did knit (and gave away one of the cloths yesterday without taking a photo) and I did read, and I will share more about that as soon as I have a spare moment.

Is giving thanks part of your Thanksgiving traditions?

12 comments on “Beach Report

  1. gmarie says:

    Sounds like the beach was good. I’m glad you got a chance to recharge even if the big girl didn’t feel well. Amazing how that Knight of yours manages to charm the pants off everyone! my dogs love shrimp tails – they can’t be good though. g

  2. Katherine says:

    What a wonderful time for you and for the puppy babies! I will never understand the JRT passion for snakes. What is that? Macy is never happier than when she finds one in the yard and snaps at it while it snaps at her, while I can’t get her away from it fast enough.

    We do give thanks on Thanksgiving. I was surprised to see a family group on a daytime show do something similar to what we do. We go around the table and tell the person on our right why we are thankful for that person. We never seem to run out of things to say about each other, both funny and loving.

    I hope Sissy is feeling better!

  3. I’ve always loved your beach posts! :-)

  4. sue says:

    Fudge was sick for a couple days this eeek too. He ate just rice and Pepto for those days and when the others got cookies, he got Tums. He’s feeling good again now.

    My guys all love shrimp tails too. It’s a natural form of glucosamine.

  5. Nancy says:

    Glad you were able to get away and relax a bit.

    This week slipped away from me – very little productivity here. It was bitter cold, so I stayed in quite a bit and read and knit and was generally lazy.

  6. AlisonH says:

    Wow, what a beautiful, beautiful sea turtle. I hope it did live, but I’m glad you got to see it.

    Re giving thanks–absolutely.

    Re the Knight–he’s a peach.

  7. Nichole says:

    I too hope the turtle was still alive… what a beauty! Glad you got some great recharging in!

  8. kathy b says:

    The turtle shot is amazing. It is beautiful even if dead.
    The Knight….a winner as always.
    Giving thanks and prayers of thanks abound….
    thankful for our friendship Channon

  9. Ruth says:

    Must be a common theme this year, Sasha had some post Thanksgiving issues, too…and yes, we DO give thanks!

  10. Barbara says:

    Your photos are wonderful, Chan. Thanksgiving was unusual this year as my daughter didn’t arrive until 5 that day, but we had a wonderful dinner. She left yesterday finally, so things can get back to normal for a while.

  11. Amy says:

    What a wonderful thing; a winter retreat. I’m glad you’re having fun!!

    Thanksgiving – and the holidays – is all about family for me. I can’t picture it any other way.

    And I’m sorry I’ve stopped commenting lately. Time – there just isn’t enough. But I’m still lurking! :-)

  12. That Knight of yours is quite the “hero” Channon. I’m sure Sissy was most appreciative:) Love the shot of that sea turtle. I haven’t seen a sea turtle in oh so many years. They can be quite nasty though. Best you all stayed back.

    I’m really glad you had some time to recharge. It seems to be more than necessary these days. I could use a bit of recharging myself, lol…

    It doesn’t sound like your weather is as bad as I thought it was going to be. I’m glad for you. It’s very cold here and we are awaiting, Dion!

    Thanks for sharing, Channon…

Leave a Reply

