Cozy Reading Weather

Here’s a brief rundown on what I’ve read in the past week or so.  One nice thing about a rather chilly, windy time at the beach and lots of cold rain is all the pages I can turn!  (The books aren’t listed in the order I read them, but rather, from ho-hum to page-turner.)

Ruth’s First Christmas Tree – (Kindle) Barely a novella at 29 pages, but if you’re looking for a seasonal short story, it’s pleasant enough.

Good Night Sleep Tight Don’t Let the Stalkers Bite – (Kindle) The first in the second series by Teresa Watson, I really had a hard time getting into it.  Luckily, Ms. Watson inserts a devoted dog character into her books, so for the Malamute named Duke’s sake, I kept plodding along until I discovered I wasn’t trying so much after all.  It’s full of cliches, but if you like cozies, dogs and have ever known someone that trouble just seems to find, it’s worth the read.

 

Courtesy of Amazon

Courtesy of Amazon

A Murder Hatched – (Kindle) is actually the first TWO books in Donna Andrew’s Meg Langslow series.  Meg’s parents still live in Yorktown, which isn’t too far from my Woods, and the first book is set in the little town.  The cast of characters is pretty typical of small towns around these parts; that’s one reason I’ve come to appreciate cozy mysteries.  They tend to be set in small towns and the main character has crazy friends/family and everyone minds everyone else’s business, just like here in podunk.

I’m looking forward to “seeing” more of Meg at work as a blacksmith.  Of course, Meg’s mama is about as traditional of a southern lady as they come, so Meg manages to smith and still be maid of honor three times in one summer in the first book.  If you enjoyed the characters in Steel Magnolias (or had thoughts about the people you know who might have inspired said characters), you’ll like this series.  I might have already downloaded the next book in the series.

Divergent – (Kindle) gets my highest marks for the books I’ve read.  It’s also definitely NOT cozy.  It falls into the dystopian category, and I know a few of you don’t care for that genre at all.  I’m torn between starting the second book in the series and between book #3 in the above-mentioned series, because I am quite interested in finding out what happens next to Tris/Beatrice.  It’s another rights of passage with a female main character series, but I can’t bring myself to call it young adult fiction.  Yes, like many of the popular series of late – Twilight, Hunger Games and more – the main characters are in their late teens, but the settings and themes are rather dark, and in my mind…  young adult fiction is really a polite phrase for teen lit, and this isn’t sappy, high school drama lama stuff.

Of course, I should explain that my favorite book I read in college was Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, so it’s time for me to swallow hard and admit I enjoy reading dystopian literature, especially when the protagonist is a female making tough choices and trying to find her way.

All in all, I’ve read over 1300 pages in the past 10 days or so, not including board reports and the first of the holiday letters arriving in our mailbox.  There’s almost no way I’ll make my goal of 100 books this year, even if I add a few more very short ones to the list, so I’m not even going to try to fake it.

Have you had time for any reading lately?

15 comments on “Cozy Reading Weather

  1. sue says:

    I recently finished Jodi Picoult’s newest The Storyteller. Rob calls her the disease lady, but this one wasn’t a disease. It was about a former Nazi and once again her twist at the end surprised me. I guess that’s why I like her books so much. After reading that I ordered The Boys From Brazil from the library. It took them a couple weeks to locate a copy but I’m now half way thru. Not a very seasonal subject but well written.

  2. Susan says:

    Mrs Miracle and Call Me Mrs Miracle. Very Christmas-y. Warm fuzzy reads. Then today, I read The Patchwork Murder, first in a new cozy series, from Annie’s Attic. But I finished that, so what next………………………

  3. Katherine says:

    Reading is all that I have done this weekend. I’m finishing Murder Is A Beach by Rose Pressey (don’t bother!) and starting Janet Evanovich’s new Takedown Twenty. I tried to knit for a while but it is hard to do while trying to stay warm under two afghans and two dogs. Susan’s comment about Mrs. Miracle reminded me that I have umpteen Christmas movies recorded and why haven’t I been watching them? Oh yeah–football!

  4. Nancy says:

    I’m ashamed to say I haven’t turned a page (virtually or literally) for over a month.

  5. Mary says:

    Reread a few Georgette Heyer novels, finished “The Garden of Happy Endings” by Barbara O’Neal, halfway through Adriana Trigiani’s new book and “The Spymistress” by Jennifer Chiavernini. On the commute, listening to Elizabeth Gilbert’s “The Signature of All Things.” Next up “Provence, 1970.”

    All of these are from my local library – either a real book or a 21 day download. One of the best uses of tax dollars!

  6. kathy b says:

    Oh no. Between holiday shopping, gift and vest knitting, there has been no reading time. Truth be told I d rather knit. I Love reading your reviews.

  7. Ruth says:

    Sadly, no reading except for school here. Congrats to you on the page count! “We” finished Animal Farm, Captains Courageous, and are in A Christmas Carol now….

  8. Marjie says:

    For a month, I’ve been trying to read one book. It’s a good book, but I’ve simply had too many demands upon my time. I’m glad that you had time to just play with the girls and read….so jealous!

  9. I miss reading. All I’ve been doing is running from one house to the other!

  10. Kathy says:

    Lots of reading here too. Since the beginning of November here’s my list:

    Sycamore Row by John Grisham because I can’t resist his lawyer stories.

    Wolves of Midwinter by Anne Rice because I got hooked on her new werewolf series when the first book came out last year.

    Provence, 1970 by Luke Barr because I love books about food (almost as much as I love eating food).

    Burial Rites by Hannah Kent because I read a good review in the paper and because I went on a field trip to Iceland when I was in college.

    All these were kindle editions.

  11. AlisonH says:

    After I finish all the knitting and get it off in the mail, then I can finally sit down wtih a book. Although right now that would be collapse with a book, after hours of physical labor with a Rug Doctor machine. I’m bushed.

  12. Barbara says:

    Well, I always have a book in hand. (I really should be reading my book group 1 book, but can’t seem to get into it. The League book group is smart…they read a short (this year a children’s book) one that you can practically read in another room while at the meeting.
    My daughter sent me the new kindle…very exciting! Charging as I write.

  13. Jessica says:

    I’m glad that you liked Divergent. I didn’t care for the second one as much, but I sure did enjoy the first one. Looking forward to the movie, too. I think they did a great job casting Tris…I can perfectly picture her in the role.
    I’ve been reading a lot of Meg Cabot’s adult contemporary fiction (Just finished Insatiable, and Every Boy Has One), along with the I am Number Four series. I have really enjoyed all the books I’ve been reading. Need to finish The Historian…oh, and we read The Art Forger by B.A. Shapiro for book club..it was enjoyable, but the lead character made me nuts…I just wanted to shake her!!

  14. I’ve gotten so many good book ideas from here!

  15. monnibo says:

    I loved Divergent! Insurgent picks up right where it left off, and then Allegiant throws you for a loop by narrating from both Tris and Four’s perspectives.

Leave a Reply

