Beam me…

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday and everything else.  Despite Gretchen’s fussy post (and she’s draped across my arms as I try to type now), the fur-girls have gotten at least one happy box to call their own.   The good folks at Chewy sent them a box of Beams to try, and as has been the case with everything Chewy has asked them to try… they have a new favorite.

58592,1385975223$SS172$We actually had two Sissy-friendly options on the latest list of items to review, so we chose The Honest Kitchen Beams, as the girls have never had anything like them before.  Dehydrated catfish skin strips STINK to high heaven, but watching the dogs delight in the smells and then, the chewing experience, makes it all worthwhile.

Having a nearly vegan dog is a challenge, but thankfully, Sis can do fish products when there is no corn, poultry, beef… or any of her other allergens hidden in the ingredients.  When she was first diagnosed as allergic and/or intolerant of virtually all land animals (save rabbits) and corn, our options were seriously limited.  We were buying food at the vet’s office and making her treats.  Then, we had to start having it drop-shipped by the ton to the house, and then came the most frustrating time when for whatever reason, the only rabbit kibble that fit her restrictions was no longer available.  Many of you were with us during that difficult time, and I am moved beyond words that some of you cared enough to help find Sissy-safe options.

So… imagine our joy when we find a new, safe, healthy commercial option.   Both dogs get a treat each time Sissy gets an eye drop, and it makes me quite happy when she gets excited about her treat.  Beams are drool-worthy, which with the current cold snap means I have to be really careful or I end up with cold, wet socks.  Ewww…

What neat things have arrived on your doorstep lately?

13 comments on “Beam me…

  1. Katherine says:

    Hmmmm, Beams. Worth trying! Macy and Max have become persnickety about their vet recommended dry kibble so I cooked a batch of their old home cooked food and they gobbled it up. Now they are back to refusing the kibble. I think they are trying to tell me something!

  2. gmariesews says:

    hmmm – I haven’t got anything on my porch lately and since the October ‘wreath’ is still out, umm. . . .

    Those snacks sound truly horrible. But as long as the girls love them, that’s all that really matters, right? g

  3. Nancy says:

    I had a package on my doorstep yesterday – pottery I ordered in September. I had nearly forgotten about it.

  4. A box from Canada arrived yesterday…and a different one the day before that…perhaps Santa lives in Canada?

  5. kathy b says:

    Nothing lately. I need to find better cat treats. Little Pie got FIXED yesterday. She’s out of sorts….but it was time. She is so smart and leaves the belly/stitches alone.

  6. Marjie says:

    At least your socks are not covered in frozen drool! I’m glad the girls have a new treat to enjoy! I hope you have a lovely weekend, and I hope the “wintry mix” stays north of you!

  7. AlisonH says:

    Oh, that’s wonderful! I’m so glad! (There’s a cat-and-dog joke hidden in there somewhere if only I could ferret it out.)

  8. Nichole says:

    YAY for the Honest Kitchen and for Chewy! So happy the girls have another great treat! We got a real STINKY one this time too… the dried salmon treats. We’ll get our review up hopefully this week… the Lapdogs are ready, but Mama is really behind!

  9. Sue says:

    Now this sounds like something my Porties would love. The fishier the better as far as they’re concerned. I bought a package of shrimp treats and was almost overcome when I opened the package. They didn’t last long with these fish lovers.

  10. There’s just one thing wrong with the “commercial” Channon. Where are those girls??? I would love to see them in their delight! I can honestly say I have never given much thought to the girl’s food. It makes me happy to know they are totally enjoying it though:)

    Thanks for sharing, Channon…

    In answer to that debate, as far as I know, Egg Nog was first created in England. There it was known as Egg Flip (and a few other names too) In England it was made with milk and wine. However since rum was readily available to the colonist, they replaced the wine with “Grog” (rum) (Egg and Grog equals Eggnog:)

  11. Poor baby girl. Does she like chicken? I just boil chicken for the dogs.

  12. Barbara says:

    Yuk! The smell sounds gruesome, but as long as it works, you can put up with almost anything. The only surprise on my doorstep has been the Ann Romney cookbook. (Grin)

  13. Mr. Puffy says:

    It’s odd isn’t it – dogs can eat people food but people can’t really eat dog food (or don’t want to). Maybe that says something about the dog food industry – or not LOL Just today we received a box of chocolate from a business acquaintance of Steve’s so that was kinda fun. And I ordered a Kate Davies hat kit for a Christmas present for myself soon to be arriving!

Leave a Reply

